OJIMA: Last Scene (A One-Act Play)

in #story6 years ago

image

Link to previous scenes on my Blog


##
***SCENE 4***

*Light on stage. At the village square, the village men and women, Elder Okoh, Elder Iverem and Elder Teremu including Bem the Father of Ojima, Ojima herself and Ekondu.*

ELDER TEREMU: Council of Elders, I greet you.

ALL: We greet you too.

ELDER TEREMU: I believe we all know why we are here. But I will like Ekondu to voice it out once more (Ekondu comes forward).

EKONDU: My Elder, I greet you. For some time, my wife Ojima was neglecting her duties to me, I will have to report to her father before she gives in to my request. Week ago, I made love to my wife and now am having serious issues, I cry whenever I want to urinate and also urinate blood, I believe she has done something to me, she wants to kill me just because I asked her to give kolanut to my friend who came visiting. (He sits down and Elder Teremu spoke first facing Ojima).

ELDER TEREMU: Ojima, you heard what your husband said so what do you have to say about it and… (Interrupted by Elder Iverem).

ELDER IVEREM: She has nothing to say, she is a witch and must face the consequences of casting such a spell on her husband or don’t you remember how Elder Okoh’s wife committed the same abomination in…

ELDER OKOH:: That’s enough, I won’t have you insult my household

BEM: Elders, please enough, we’re here to iron out issues and bring stories that are not relevant anymore.

OJIMA: (In tears). My Elders, am innocent I’m not a witch, I’m even suffering too. Ever since Omale and I slept together this illness befall on me too.

ELDER TEREMU: I give you two weeks to restore Ekondu back his normal self or else you will face the consequences. [Exits all]



Lights in. Ojima went to the village hospital and narrated what happened to Nurse Iholu.

NURSE IHOLU: You mean your husband asked you to sleep with his friend as kola-nut? Ha, what kind of a tradition is that? Was it the reason you asked me that question the? (Ojima nods her head). Ooh no, but you should have opened up to me na, anyways I will help you.

OJIMA: (Surprised). Are you sure you can help me?

NURSE IHOLU: Of course, you have gonorrhea I will administer injections and some drugs to you.

OJIMA: Thank you, I’m really grateful.

NURSE IHOLU: And I will have to meet with your husband too.

OJIMA: Hmm okay. (Exit all).



Lights in. Ekondu’ compound, Ekondu is seen sitting on a stool and just staring at a particular position. Nurse Iholu went straight to him and clapped to his face to bring him back.
NURSE IHOLU: Ekondu, are you okay? You look troubled.

EKONDU: Why won’t I be troubled when Ojima has planned to kill me.

NURSE IHOLU: (Laughs). No don’t say that, what you’re suffering from is gonorrhea.

EKONDU: And what is that?

NURSE IHOLU: It’s a sexually transmitted disease and with what your wife told me, I think she contacted it from your friend, Omale.

EKONDU: You mean, you can cure me?

NURSE IHOLU: Sure

EKONDU: Hmm okay I will take your word for that.

[Immediately, she opened her box, brought out some injections and drugs and gives them to Ekondu and prescribes to him. She promises to check on him. Exit]



Three days later, Nurse Iholu came back to check on Ekondu as she promised and met him drinking palm wine.

NURSE IHOLU: Ekondu!, I can see you’re having a good time.

EKONDU: May the gods be praised, Nurse I’m feeling a lot better, thank you very much.

NURSE IHOLU: Now I hope you will agree with me that your wife is not a witch, look find her and apologize to her because you have wronged her.

EKONDU: I will do that with immediate effect and please on more thing, I think I will have to share my testimony with the elders and also will like you to educate the people about this STD and how to put an end to this false labels we are placing on our wives.

NURSE IHOLU: You are right and I wouldn’t mind doing that for the people, plase look for Ojima (Exit nurse).

EKONDU: Ojima my love, will she forgive me? Well, I have no choice I will go and apologiza [Lights out].



Light in Bem Compound, Ojima is sitting on a stool crying and immediately she sees Ekondu, she stands up to go inside and Ekondu held her back and knelt down.

EKONDU: Ojima my love, I’m sorry for everything I put you through.

OJIMA: You are sorry indeed, please leave my father’s compound.

EKONDU: Please I have realized my mistakes and I promise it will never repeat itself again. Please, you know I love you.

OJIMA: (In tears). I love you too (they both embrace each other and left for their own home and when when they got home Ekondu asked Ojima to forgive him once again)

EKONDU: Ojima, I have learnt my lesson, never again will I ever give my wife as Kolanut, damn the tradition.

OJIMA: (with smile) Thank you my husband, let me go and prepare something for you to eat. (Immediately she left, Ekondu brought out a stool and was about to sit when he heard the voice of his friend, Omale. He comes close).

OMALE: Oh my good friend, I am just returning from my journey so I decided to stop by and say hello, you know the last time I visited, you treated me very well so I would not mind having such treatment again, especially the kola nut.

EKONDU: Oh You enjoyed yourself? I see, you are welcome. This time around you will have it in abundance and I will make sure my wife gives you everything.

OMALE: My friend, you are a man. You sure know how to keep to the traditions of our people (meanwhile, Ojima was peeping at them from the window and she was wondering what her husband was up to after apologizing few moments ago) so I guess Ojima is inside, let me go and say hello to her.

Immediately Ekondu gave Omale a hard blow on the face and Omalae fell flat on the ground pretending to be dead)

EKONDU: Wait for me I will deal with you today (Immediately Ekondu ran inside the house, Ojima dashes out from inside the room and was calling for help.

OJIMA: My husband, you have killed him o, Omale please don’t die here (Omale on the other is still pretending to be dead but when he sees Ekondu coming out with a big matchet, he stands up and runs for his life.

EKONDU: No, why are you running, I thought you were dead, I would have used this matchet to cut you into pieces. Idiot! You want to come back for more, let me see you here again.

THE END




GLOSSARY

Ekondu – Belongs to God
Ojima – Honour/Respect
Bem – Peace
Iverem – Blessings & Favours
Teremun – Father’s acceptance
Ihotu – Love
Omale – A renowned Teacher

THANKS FOR READING

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by aauthespian from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60625.76
ETH 2898.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62