Trip report: Wandering through a magical forest

in #story6 years ago (edited)

It is January, we have 13 degrees Celsius and it feels like November.

So i went on a hike from my Hometown through the forest to an Abandoned Monastery. As i mentioned in my previous posts, my home town and surroundings have an extended and interesting history.

From the times of the Celtics and Romans to now, people lived in this magical place that lies on hundreds of small hills around the Dravinja Valley.

If you walk these forests and take your time to listen you get a different feeling, you feel something in the air. Something happened here.

I tried to capture this vibe in my photos, so that you can feel it too.

These trees have seen soldiers from the second world war, when Germans came to Slovenia, Partisans lurked them to the forest and many lost their lives. A couple years ago me and my father found around 100 empty bullets from these times.

In the 12th century Monks found their place here and built a huge Monastery under the Mountain Konjiška Gora called Žička Kartuzija. There are many scary stories from this place, from raping to killings of babies, everything that happened in the medieval times happened here too.

I saw the tower of the Monastery in the forest.

Konjiška Gora became a hiking spot for the people here, on weekends it feels like a huge park. So you have to know places where are no people and it still feels forgotten.

Some Fun Facts:

This Wineyard is more than 400 years old and was cultivated by the monks living in the Monastery.

The Castle of Slovenske Konjice was for around 200 years under the governance of the Monks of Žička Kartuzija.

Here you can see the Map:

https://goo.gl/maps/VcfZg9GCvXr

I hope you liked my Trip Report. I will post more photos and an extended story of the Žička Kartuzija Monastery. Many more trip reports will follow.

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing ..
I think that it was inspiring to you

This is amazingly beautiful! I love walking through magical forests and feel the calmness of these places.

Thank you!🙌 I hope i could deliver that feeling to you as i have felt it. There is nothing better than a long walk in a calm forest. 🙂

I swear that feels like playing the witcher again.

Hauntingly beautiful scenery. I especially love the forest shot you had in the beginning with the rolling of the terrain; it's fucking difficult to get that kind of depth in your photos

Keep posting please!

Heh,that was my intention! Thank you! The first photo was made with an wide angle lense, this is why it has such a depth. I am happy that i could bring this feeling in my photos. Will post more content in the near future. 🙂

Your report is amazing, you make me want to go on a vacation and spend up to three weeks here.. You made Mother Nature look more beautiful. Thank you for this post.

hehe thank you! I think 2 weeks would be enough, its a small country 😜. I just posted something new, about the Monastery, maybe you will like it. When the weather will be better, i will post more nature and landscape photos.

!originalworks

I enjoyed each of the photo you posted. I love the beauty of nature. Thanks also for sharing infos about these places. The shot were great too. You captured it great in an artistic angle. Great article. Two thumbs up. cheers! :)

Thank you! That means a lot for me :). I tried my best, i want to show what i feel in my photos. In the following days i will try to hike to some remote places and share it with all of you. Have a nice day! 🙂

cool. will await for it. Have a good one :)

@adamicelli This a great narration of your photos. Did you use a drone for a couple of the shots? Keep the good work up!

Thank you very much! Yes i used a mavic pro for the Monastery shooting, the light was fading away so i had to be quick. Honestly i am not happy with my drone shots,but i had a 15km walk behind me and the same back, so i had to shoot it anyway. Will post more content in the near future. There are many more places to show you all :)

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #landscapephotography, the weekly selection will be released on Wednesday.

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 12:09:22
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 84.05/100.00
Total Photos: 16
Total comments: 3
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Congratulations @adamicelli, this post is the second most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a User account holder (accounts that hold between 0.1 and 1.0 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by User account holders during this period was 4154 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $12304.57. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69796.92
ETH 3521.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.70