Thumbs Up and Other Stories

in #story7 years ago

Thumbs Up and Other Stories

I remembered an incident that happened a while ago. The meeting of the same subject of interest today made me remember it.

After the day's activities were over, I went home. An uncle called that I should help his friend book a hotel. I thought it is odd why the friend is unable to do that. But when he told me that the friend is a handicap, it explained the odd demand for help.

If you have visited Nigeria or grew up here, you would agree with me that most establishments here do not have any provisions for the disabled. Not that they are callous or something, it just doesn't fit into the larger scheme of things they should be bothered to provide.


Souce



This condition reminds me of my grandmother's saying which goes this way, "They are yet to offer seats to those standing and new visitors keeps arriving."

Many public places are not wheelchair accessible, from banks to hotels, to eateries, etc. You may probably need help to move in or out of them. An incident just yesterday further buttressed this, we went to the mall and a healthy man in his early 20s parked at the disabled spot on the mall. His reason is simple, it's the shortest distance to the mall's entrance. Yes, dummy, it's done that way to make it easy for that disabled person that comes to the mall! I felt like shouting this to his hearing, but of course, I did not. I just gave him a death stare. If looks can kill, I could just have committed murder that day.

I quietly walked up to the mall's security and told him what the guy did. He said he would talk to him. I walked in, but sure enough, the car was still there when we came out!

Back to my story, finally, I was able to book accommodation in a somewhat hidden hotel. Most hotels were then overbooked due to it being a weekend, and the president was visiting the next day. I went to pick him up in a chartered cab. Helped him move in while the security guys looked away as if to say it's my problem, not theirs to get him up the stairs as there was no ramp.

I got him in and got him settled in, as I was stepping out of his room ready to go downstairs to watch a match which I've missed about half of while helping my uncle's friend, I heard a familiar laugh. I turned around and notice my classmate's dad with his wife. I walked faster to say hi.

When I got to where he would notice me, the lady with him was not his wife but he was then halfway through the door to his room. I mumbled a fast greeting and hurried even faster to the downstairs to watch the football match. I was somewhat surprised as the man looked every bit a man you would go to for advice if you are in trouble or something. He was every bit the perfect family man. But that lady could just as well be the business partner or something I reasoned.

I soon forgot what I have seen and got lost in the football game. Almost at the end of the match, a waitress brought some cool wine with suya to the table where I was sitting. My stomach rumbled, and I remembered I was hungry. Some guys have all the luck I pondered as I eyed the chilled wine and suya. The waitress left and returned later to ask me if I don't like the wine. Wow. I told her I didn't order for any; she laughed and said my Dad did. I was about to protest when I raised my head and my Dad's classmate gave me a thumbs up sign. I would be damned! I thought. I raised my glass to him in acknowledgement and gratitude and proceeded to drink the wine and enjoy the suya.



Source

Well, that was a start of a good weekend. I later left the hotel and went home and soon forgot everything until yesterday when I saw the same man with his wife in the mall. He gave me another thumbs up sign. I gave him one too and the friend I was with asked me what that was for; I told him I really do not know.

I can only ask the readers if they understood what the thumbs up sign is for.

Authored by: @greenrun

Join Adsactly with us on Discord
https://discordapp.com/invite/6jAXNuu
A = Autonomus
D = Decentralized
S = Society
C = Cooperatively
T = to
L = Leverage
Y = You

image

Sort:  

Most people are despicable of people with physical disabilities, they seem to forget that all the advantages and disadvantages of humans is the destiny of the omnipotent, unfortunately again there are still many public facilities that are not compatible for people with disabilities and the officers also consider helping the disabled is not their obligations.
Hopefully in the future we will all realize this mistake, let hand out, we help those who are disabled, because they are also human, like us too.

Betul , karna kita pasti akan saling membutuhkan pertolongan orang lain........

betol-betol.....jangan lupa difollow ya......

You just summarised my thoughts here. Thanks for doing that.

There are so many interesting posts in steemit. Read well.

hehe well here the thumbs up sign meant many words without saying any.. it was the sign of understanding each time ;) an understanding hard to depict in words :D

Thanks for clearing that up <3

Great post

Cool story bro, stay positive and be well.

Thanks a lot. Happy steeming.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66086.94
ETH 3029.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70