My Family Series 1

in #story5 years ago

I will be writing the "My family" series from now and I'll start with the first in the series.

As I was arguing with Doyin, my wife of 15 years about who can dance better, Donald walked in. Donald is our first son and he'll be 13 by the 25th of October. I've always found his name funny though but since Doyin has made it clear that's what she wants, it stucked. I'd rather call him Oluwaseun anyway. “What are you two arguing about today?” he asked as he walked in. “Oh my baby, don't mind your daddy, he's here wishing he can match my dancing skills” Doyin quickly said. Not the type to lose out in such contest, I added “Honestly, your mum's trying but you know yourself that she can't match my skill at all” “Of course I can” “No you can't” we continued arguing “Alright guys” Donald finally added after watching us argue for some time “ how about you do a contest right now” “Yes! I'm in" We both chorused in agreement to Donald's proposition.
After tiring ourselves to the humour of our son, we stopped dancing and asked who he thinks the best dancer is, Donald looked at us for long with a sheepish smile on his face and asked instead “How did you guys meet and get married?” Doyin and I exchanged smiling glances and sat down on either side of Donald. Doyin then said “your father will be the one to narrate that story to you my dear.


In my final year in the university, I was the president of a media group. What we do is source for news, conduct interviews and so on. It was on one of these outing while going to interview some students in an hostel about a recent happening that I met this beautiful Lady. She was a resident of the hostel, I couldn't tear my eyes off her so I talked to her and we exchanged contact. We caught on nicely and became very close friends. After my University, I started my Media firm and I was on a news trip one day when I boarded the same bus with a beautiful lady. She was 5’6 with a golden brown skin and you could say she had a generous topping off caramel. She was having on a gown with wide arms and she looked just perfect.

On our way, she commented about my headphone (Boy, even I knew the headphone was sleek) and I couldn't help but sustain the conversation all through the journey. Her name was Doyin, she was a youth corper in Ibadan and she also stayed close to me in Lagos, my firm in Lagos was doing good and I was already gaining little ground already in Ibadan. It felt like a perfectly planned meeting from on high. It was a perfect arrangement. We hanged out a couple of times during which I discovered she had a boyfriend. Well, do I expect such a beautiful babe to be single? Definitely not. This wouldn't end our friendship because even then I was in a relationship with the beautiful lady I met back in school. With time, I got to meet her boyfriend and she met my girlfriend as well and we became some sort of big family-friends.
Doyin finished her NYSC and started working at an hospital in Ibadan. By then I'd had even more luck with success and my Media firm had gotten a nationwide recognition. I was comfortable and ready to get married and there the problem started.
After series of sleepless nights of thoughts of my future, I came to a conclusion so I called Doyin and told her I want to propose to my girlfriend and I needed her to help with a perfect romantic indoor setting for me to ask her out. She did a great job on the setting and when she was done with the set up, I went down on my knees and asked her to marry me. “Oh my dear, I was dumbfounded and couldn't believe what just happened” Doyin joined in “I just stood there for close to two minutes staring at him and thinking about what's happening. I looked into his eyes and saw he was dead serious and I didn't know when I said YES! The words just came out”
Donald then asked “Wow, you guys are something! What then happened to Dad's girlfriend and Mom's boyfriend?” “Well, they married each other… you can call it a partner swap” I said and we all laughed then I added “well, to atone for our sins, your mother named you after her boyfriend and your sister after my girlfriend and I still find your name funny” We all laughed again!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65935.31
ETH 3015.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75