Have you ever blown a tire without a spare tire? 🙄🤷‍♂️ Here’s My story today..steemCreated with Sketch.

in #story6 years ago (edited)

BDC54A1D-A141-4344-8374-645EC15D531C.jpeg

So today I was driving around my city because I drive for Lyft and Uber every now and then. So after about my third ride I took this lady all the way south to Fort Lauderdale and then my tire blows. Luckily it happened just as I dropped her off at her destination so it didn’t slow up her day.

After I drove around the corner I started to hear a little rumble in my tire so I got out and looked at it and noticed that it was starting to tear apart. I search for the closest tire place that I knew was reliable and they were about 9 miles away. So I thought to myself, “9 miles shouldn’t be a problem. I got this.”
As I make my way towards “Carshoez”, The tire begins to get worse and worse every foot by foot. The thumping was getting louder and harder by the moment... I was in deep shit. Next thing I know a young kid in a torn up Honda pulls up to the side of me (mind you Im in a sweet brand new Volvo S60 R-Design) and he rolls down his window and asked, “do you need help.” I looked at him and said, “Ehhh, I think I’ll be OK the spot is right around the corner.” Then he said, “no I will help you!” So I agreed and let him follow behind me Incase things got worse... and it did.

I pulled off to the side of the road and we both hopped out of our cars to check out the tire. We could see it was ripping apart more and I was starting to ride on my rim. Next thing I know this kid is on the phone calling AAA calling me a tow truck and he said he was going to pay for it to help me out. I told him no bro don’t pay for that I’ll make it there. There is no need to pay $80 for the tow truck. So after he spoke with them it was going to be about 1 1/2 hours in so they could reach me and I was only 5 miles away from the destination at that point. So we agreed to continue to drive at 10 mph to see if we can make it there without any more damage caused to the tire.

As a made a turn with only 2 miles left there was a tire shop that I pulled into but not the one I need it because they didn’t have any of my tires size available. Then the kid sincerely apologizes and said he wishes he could help me so much more and said he’ll stay by my side until I get this figured out. He said if he can help someone thats what keeps him happy. He said he doesn’t have a lot of money and he doesn’t come from much either but said all he can do now is just help people whenever he can.

Then he told me he was going to court in a couple weeks and he might be going away for some time, I asked him why and he didn’t explain. But in my eyes I didn’t know and I didn’t care because of selfless act to do whatever he could to help me have a better day. He explained more and more about how five tow trucks drove past my car when I was thumping up and down driving 10 mph and not one tow truck took their time to stop and help, except this young kid who had nothing to offer besides his presence. And to be honest it really made me feel better that someone was there. Next thing I know the people at the tire place who didn’t have my tire size come out and say, “hey look we will put a different tire size on your tire at no cost just to get you to where you need to go so you can get your new tires... I gave them $20 cause that’s all I had. And now I finally made it to my destination and am getting four brand new tires put on my car as I write this.

The reason why I shared this with you guys is because, we need a lot more people like that young kid who did a selfless act make someone else’s day better. That’s something we all can learn something from the people who have nothing. That is all. God bless!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62795.05
ETH 2941.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55