I face a constant struggle with creativity.

in #story6 years ago

It's not about posting here, on "The Platform", it's about every day life. It's about an every day task I have to pull off. If you have no kids this post is not for you but if you have some it could be helpful. I admit that I am not a bookworm or a comic book lover but I love to tell and make up stories. My audience is like a monster that is always hungry and wants more and more. It's tough, it really is. Especially if you had a rough day. On those days I fall asleep within first two sentences and my kids wake my every two sentences. It's not that I'm humble bragging about what a good storyteller I am but my kids love my stories and for them, no one can tell them like I can. Its a combination of a good story and lovely bass of my voice.

Are the classic storey's lame?

For my kids they are. Snowwhite and Rapunzel are out of the questions. Plus it has to be pitch black, kids demands. So reading any other story is a no-no. So I have what I have and try to make the best of it. They like everything from dragons to monsters that live in the sewers. Talking animals and aliens, as long it is interesting and exciting. How I do it is just combining two fo them, and you can't get wrong. Only if you are a bad storyteller.

Two is one, one is none.

For example The world famous private detective in a monster universe. I combined an old pc game Grim Fandango and the movie Monsters Inc. My kids love monsters and detective stories. So the main character of this series is Privat Detective Grim. He is a skeleton placed in 1920. era, a time with no mobile phones, drones or solar panels. Where the monster kids polish nice leather shoes and others are screaming extra just to sell the latest newsletter. France oldtimer cars and phons with a real dealer. It gets hard sometimes to describe all kind of monsters and their problems. Or to make up a case that Grim is investigating. Grim also smokers cigars like good old detective Columbo. Just the ordinary polite skeleton from the Mega Monster city.

Gerald the Witcher

Yes, I tell my kids about the adventures of the Witcher Gerald. In the most censored way possible. They love that old monster slayer and all of his friends. In a world full of monster, magic and mystery. I read six of seven Witcher books and played all the games. So it's easy to make up a good bedtime story. All of the books are well written, about medieval lifestyle and habits. Thes parts I leave out because I want my kids to fall asleep. Well, rape and massacres are not the best stuff for the bad time. Without these elements, it is still an interesting story. Dwarfs, elves, sorceresses, kings and princesses.

Always hungry for more

The bad thing is if you start to repeat your self. My kids don't like to hear the same story twice. New material has to be served, the demand is high. The supply is getting low. It is like a never-ending battle of creativity. It would be easier if my kids had a weaker memory but it is not the case here. I am now stuck with Tin. It's a combination of Oliver Twist and The Legend of Zelda. A Hunter's kid that becomes a homeless boy. His dad got eaten by a bear while he was teaching him how to hunt. He knows his way around the forest and helps a little ferry and saves her life. Together Tin, the hunter's boy, and the magical fairy found a map full of magical treasures.

The Rabbit Who Wants to Fall Asleep

This book is a must read believe me. So, like the title says the little rabbit wants to sleep. The actual story is nothing special, but it is well written. The author of the book is Carl-Johan Forssen Ehrlin. This Swedish author has a background in psychology that helped make this book. So the author claims that your kids will fall asleep on the second page of his book. I had the same tought as you, no way! But I was wrong and his clams came true. It's the way it is written and it is a good guide on how to tell future stories for your kids.

Who knows maybe one day I will publish a book ''Bed time stories'' by AL K Toni.

Don't let the bed bugs but you!

Sort:  

Every night I have to tell a story about Superwings. And every night I have to make up new stuff.
You know that Superwings sometimes go to Arrendale to visit Elsa and Anna?

Try to mix some new stuff like Ana and Elsa's relatives the teenage ninja muten turtles from New York.

The struggle is real!

Just remember these days will go by like a blink of an eye. She will be 20 and you will be thinking where did all that time go. Trust me, I know. My daughter just turned 20.

I am aware of that and enjoying every minute with them.

Looks like your child is going to have a great childhood.
:-)
I will try to find "The Rabbit Who Wants to Fall Asleep" and read before sleep.
Our "drug" for not sleeping and stay focused is our greatest YouTuber Casey Neistat, after one video I just came back to my computer and work harder :-)

Don't stop uploading and see you in next posts.

I'll do my best to keep up with the demand. Check @big.mama out tomorrow, she is doing a review of "The Rabbit Who Wants to Fall Asleep". Thanks for reading.

Tommorow night will check it out :-)

Casy is a nice guy. I put my self to sleep with Phillip DeFranco.

I always have the honor to follow up on your account. I would be happy to see my post I hope you like it

It is questionable if you read my post, it is not how it's done here. A smarter comment would do but no thanks.

wow very excellent

Lovely post. Truth was that i kind of got discouraged when I started reading the post cause of where you stated if you had no kids the post was not for you but I kind of read it all the way.
It quite fascinating to see how much work you've put into creativity, sourcing for books, and how you read them with the idea that the kids hate to hear the same story twice is one hell of a job.
Could not realate but I look forward to having kids

My love beby😘😘😘😘😘😘

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 70287.75
ETH 3955.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66