LIGHTHOUSE STORIES - DEEP END OF DARKNESS (PART TWO)

in #story6 years ago

This is a second of my two-part real life story. Actually, this could be the best fiction story I ever wrote, if that was a story. But, it was not. It happened.
In case you are easily influenced please do not continue reading this.
A few people already accused me to mentally dread them to the edge of insanity, but I really didn't need to press any buttons. We all have the same level of alertness, otherwise, a humankind would be extinct.

In the first part I described some basic settings, and this is what happens the next.

Finally, I accompanied my cousins as that was the last time in a season my eldest cousin would go swimming. As they were deep down there I heard something. It sounded like a deep sonic boom, my heart jumped and my ears clogged immediately.

I asked my cousins did they hear it, but they just replied that I am making it up again.
I was too deep, my ears clogged halfway down, one of them answered.
I swam out on the beach and decided to keep away. While everybody swam, eat, had fun I was contemplating what that might be.

Next day more relatives came and decided we should have a group dip at the same place.
The shore is extremely shallow, sandy and offers a really nice swimming experience.
Too bad I didn't enjoy a second of it.

At one point my whole body started to fill with terror and I dived under the surface and start monitoring seabed around us.

The water was calm and clear and I could see far away.

Far in the distance, I noticed something really strange. We don't have any algae that can grow that way, we had no traps set in that place or anchor either.

It looked like a long stick rising off the seabed on which was attached one of those ornaments from the old ships and this one was in a shape of a huge ram's head with horns and everything. The sea current runs down the seabed and that thing should be either tilted or wobbling in water. But it wasn't. It was motionless.
Considering the distance, it was big and there was no way to miss it at close range.

I swam back on the rocky part of a seabed and told my uncle and an older cousin that there is a thing strapped on a chain under the water. They said ok and decided not to pay any attention.
Umm, it looks like a huge head of a ram attached to a chain!!
Now, that got their attention much faster. No crap they said and swam further to check it up.
There is nothing here! I heard them soon yelling back at me. You maybe saw some fish or a seaweed.

Oh how nice. If I was a walking joke before, now I was a comedy of ridiculousness. Of course, they told everybody. My fear of the stuff was legendary, but how they mock me was cutting edge pathetic.

OK, fine, whatever. Relatives left but one of our cousins stayed with us a bit longer.
Of course, he found it quite entertaining to annoy me with my so-called fear. No, it is not called the fear, it is called a common reason. It keeps you from not getting eaten, you twat.

He was persistent, so I said I will go with him to dive in the sand hole.

I think he was actually jealous of his brother and that he wanted to prove he can find a vase himself. Little he knew how afraid I actually was and how well I prepared in case of the worst outcome.

I made sure that all I wear on me is dark and dimmer toned, including my swimming gear. Instead of a sunblock, I used the olive oil.

In contrast to me, my cousin was wearing bright swimwear like all the others and his flippers were not black like mine.

We swam up on the edge of a sand hole, but the first thing I notice is how ... deeper it was. I mean it looked more like a sinkhole than a hole we have visited so many times. We presumed that a sand dredger repeated a visit, still, it couldn't be so big or so deep.

We hardly dived halfway on the hole's sidewall, when my cousin started to drown right next to me and started to dive out in panic, splashing around.

Without looking what it could be I start swimming upwards but then I remembered in a split of a second that I am a very slow swimmer and if I waste my time swimming straight up I will definitely be the one who is the last - and the one who dies.

So, instead, I dived under him and soon I was swimming in front of my cousin who was trying to reach the near shallows in panic.

I know you think what I have done must be so cruel, putting another person between myself and a danger, but I am talking about the children who were barely stepping into teen years. I was terrified and it happened in a second.

At the moment I gain pretty big advantage my curiosity stopped me to turn and look behind me and I saw a wall of something going our way.

That was enough for me to swim as fast as I could and soon me and my cousin both reached the shallows unharmed.

I dived out right next to him and we continue racing out on the beach.

After we were safe on a beach, I asked him what he saw, but only after a few sentences, I realized that he is making up the story as he was describing a huge fish.

My cousin had a complete personality overhauling almost over the night, woke up all twitchy and some years after he ended up developing a paranoia from deep water. And almost everything else. He was unable to swim further than 2 meters away from the shore on any occasion and under any circumstances.

Of course, the next morning after the incident I woke up to my family like a yellow coward ( again) and he, as expected, didn't. Because, in my case, it has to be a lack of character and a possible emotional problem, but in his case, it had to be a shark.

That attitude towards me was extremely insulting because it was coming back at me from my instantaneous closest family, who - nevertheless - still were using that location for summer joys and swimming.

They assumed that whatever it is, is not what I saw, it might be a formation of a sea slime or any sort of a garbage packed together like my father suggested. The mess, water, and panic to save myself by any cost necessary obscured my vision and I misunderstood what I saw... That was their logical explanation.

If you ever read my story the 'Silent Water' you will notice that one scene is so well described that it has to be real. Like it really happened.
The scene is that one when the main character straps herself onto an anchor and drops into a sinkhole.
Well, the fact why I know how it feels is because I did it.

When my closes kin started calling me chicken I decided to make the craziest move ever. I decided to find out what happened at that place even if that means that I might never return. Why to live a life if a life becomes a night terror, when you can fight it, if a fight is possible. Who wants to end up like my cousin, to be afraid of everything...

I knew my capabilities and my family was close, but it wouldn't really matter anyway. A sand hole was too deep for me to dive down on my own so I used a rusty piece of iron that was heavy enough to sink me in seconds.

Whatever they told me... I didn't find any logic while dropping down there. A sinkhole was deeper than I expected, and even when the light was fading I felt that bottom is nowhere close, the pressure was too big so I just let go the anchor.

Exactly the same like in my story, I swam out to find an empty house, because from that moment on nothing was the same and there was no point explaining anything to anyone. The only person who deserves to see it, to know it, is the one who is crazy enough to do it himself. A courage is not an absence of a fear, it is so much more. It is that another face in the deep end of darkness where nobody hears the screams. Does it really matter if a true danger is there with you, or you are just sensory deprived fighting yourself?

After a few days there was only the sand on that place and a crystal clear see-thought water was showing a bottom covered in nothing but a promise of a great summer vacation spot...

I dropped all my fear on the bottom of that sinkhole, and after that... what did I saw?
Well... What would be a story without an awesome cliffhanger?

I DEDICATE THIS TRUE STORY TO NOBODY.


Thank you for reading and visiting my blog!




Supporting: #steemrepair #isleofwrite #balkanblockchain #thesteemengine #adsactly #preppersonline #ocd-resteem #steemstem #steemians @creativecrypto @sndbox #poetsunited


VOTE @mahdiyari FOR WITNESS.

Sort:  

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 15 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 54 SBD worth and should receive 115 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

I guess @trufflepig has off days as well.....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85