In every way possible

in #story6 years ago

My daughter returned from school a few days ago in a not so pleasant mood. I tried asking her what was wrong but she wouldn't say anything.
At night before bed while I was reading a book to her, she stopped me and said:"Mummy why am I not fair like my friends?"At first her question hit me like lightening. I felt hurt. I wasn't sure what tosay or how to answer her question.
She is all of 4-years-old.
Why would she feel like that?But then I realised it is now than later in life that I explain to her the beauty that lies in diversity.
I took her down to our garden and showed her two flowers. One was purple and the other white and I asked her which one she liked more and why.
She said she liked both."Just because both are beautiful mummy.""And that is exactly why God made us different Aayat," I said."God made us all different so we can learn to find beauty in these differences. If everything was white or black or brown... how would we ever appreciate the true meaning of beauty?"I am not sure if she understood the full extent of what I was saying but allI know is that she slept well that night, only to wake up next morning and water all the plants in our garden... each one of them!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70191.58
ETH 3817.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78