Porch bed swing

in #story6 years ago (edited)


Porch Bed Swing

Hello steemit friends, I wanted to share with you the porch bed swing that my better half and I made recently. 

I had a crib mattress that was collecting dust and I decided to recycle it.  It was an inexpensive project and it did not take a long time to make. The first thing we did was measure the mattress to find the dimensions we needed to make the swing.    The base of the swing we used 2x6 for the front and the back of the swing and 2x4s for the sides. We used 2x4 for slats on the base, and we cut a piece of plywood for extra support to hold the mattress. 

   

 The sides and the back of the swing we used 1x4's. We made them two inches apart from each other. 

We then sandwiched the 1x4s to the top and bottom sides of the swing giving it a more finishing look.

I used all american stain on the swing.  I did not use chains because I was going for a more old fashion look so I purchased manila rope and made sure it would hold the weight to 2 grown adults. The store where I purchased the rope was this website http://www.knotandrope.com they were very reasonable on their prices.  The rope ended up being cheaper than the chain.  When we hung the swing, we used four  6" eyelet bolts.  We used four eyelet bolts with washers to put on the sides of the swing to tie the rope to. 

The finishing touches of the bed swing was the pillows.  I purchased a round pillow at the thrift store and recovered it.   I made the pillows for the back of the swing.  I used a crib sheet for the mattress.  It was a challenge finding the color I wanted.  I ended up finding it at walmart.

The outdoor bed swings can cost up to 1,200 dollars.  Just with a little work you can make your own for a fraction of the price. There are so many plans online on how to make a porch bed swing.  I just found the design I liked and we just built our swing the way we wanted it to be.  The swing is something I have dreamed of having on my porch every since I have moved into my house.  I love having the bed swing to be able to go on the front porch ,feel the cool breeze,  just relax, and read a book.  


Thank you for reading my post.  I hope you enjoyed it.  


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60805.28
ETH 2912.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59