A Strange Encounter With Charity...

in #story8 years ago

Sometimes a conversation with a friend is like 3D glasses in a movie. A movie with hardly any worthwhile 3D scene. Pointless, stupid and stretched out. Now that I think of it, most meetings are like that.

I was having such moment on a street of Mumbai.

For the record, I am obese and I look too old for my age. It has some disadvantages. Alright I read your mind, it has many disadvantages.

One of them is, people consider that I have extra money. And, I am open to spend. Both are not true.

A stranger appeared near us. A straight line connecting me and my friend was transforming to a triangle. I tried to ignore. But my peripheral vision pulled my gaze towards this new character.

He asked about a place called Kurla.

I informed him that it is far and he can take a bus from the opposite bus stop.

He asked if I can suggest him a place where he can work and earn some money. He was stuck in a 'tricky situation'.

... Damn, this afternoon was going to be long.

In my mind I was sure that I had to get rid of him. I am selfish, there... I admit it.

Still my curious sense had to know. I asked him what happened. He said

I belong to a small village in Uttar Pradesh. I was promised that I will get a job and a place to live in Mumbai. When I arrived at Kurla Station in the morning, the man who promised never showed up.

Why can't I believe him?

Since then I am roaming. I have no money to have food. What I need is 350 rupees to buy a ticket back to my home place

Damn, I was sold. My hand automatically entered the pocket to feel if I have money. The place where this event took place is near my home. I had not carried my wallet. What I had was a bill of 50 rupees. I had no intention to part away with that sum.

I don't want money for free. I am willing to work for someone. I can wash utensils; I can do some simple jobs. If you have any such job I can work for you.

Wo, wo wo. Now, that's a difficult one. My mind was weighing options. His sincerity touched me. If I had extra money I would have given it to him. I handed that one bill of 50 rupees to this needy person.

He left.

My mind started reasoning. If he did not have money, how did he reach till here? I mean that station is pretty far from here. Does a general railway ticket cost that much? I was confused.

I discussed it with my friend. He had doubts too. I was fooled. My ego which considers me an intelligent person was harmed. What a pity.

I decided to end the meeting with friend. I turned to the direction where the trickster had gone. I have to follow him. Sherlock mode on.

I noticed that he stopped at a shop. He was discussing something with the shop owner. I tried to appear a part of the nearby crowd. I should not be spotted.

After a while this master beggar carried on with his journey. I approached the shop. I asked the owner about his discussion with this strange person.

He confirmed that he was asking for a job.

Aaah! The sigh of relief. I was not fooled. The person was genuine. Or was he? I could not be sure of that. One side of my point of view still considered some foul play in this encounter. The other part gave him straight “not guilty”.

I started towards my home. The master crusader saved another day.

Sort:  

Congratulations @dev! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @dev! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Semi Finals - Day 2


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @dev! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 64693.66
ETH 2975.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70