SMOKING VAL

in #story6 years ago

The room smelled of burnt beans. The smoke was thick and sick looking; a dim grey, waxing darker as the seconds dawdled. I was standing by the door. She was hurrying to the stove to turn it off. I could barely make out anything behind the heavy folds of pallid white smoke. I saw her disappear into the fog and return moments later, the back of her right hand welded to her mouth as she coughed, stirring a soreness in my own throat. My coughs came out sporadically, almost in mechanical response. Her eyes were a flaming red and they looked at me almost contemptuously.

"Seriously?" She asked between coughs. "You left the beans to burn?"

I was struggling to keep myself under control; watching my plans shatter to pieces. I didn't have much money so I'd decided to cook. I'd cooked a meagre but tasty rice, and the beans was the last thing on the menu. She was really looking forward to it.

"Babe, its okay" she told me hours later.

"But I fucked up" I'd said.

"Yes" she replied. "But I love you for trying"

And that made my val; along with the kiss that followed...

smoke-69124__340.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62432.37
ETH 3003.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78