Unproven Chapter Seventy Five "Hangover of the Soul"

in #story6 years ago (edited)


If you're loved by someone, you're never rejected, decide what to be and GO BE IT
-The Avett brothers


unprovensteemitcover2.jpeg


Recommend Reading Introduction to Unproven

DEFINITELY READ Prologue

Chapter One Chapter Two Chapter Three

Chapter Four Chapter Five Chapter Six

Chapter Seven Chapter Eight Chapter Nine

Chapter Ten Chapter Eleven Chapter Twelve

Chapter Thirteen Chapter Fourteen Chapter Fifteen

Chapter Sixteen Chapter Seventeen Chapter Eighteen

Chapter Nineteen Chapter Twenty Chapter Twenty One

Chapter Twenty Two Chapter Twenty Three Chapter Twenty Four

Chapter Twenty Five Chapter Twenty Six Chapter Twenty Seven

Chapter Twenty Eight Chapter Twenty Nine Chapter Thirty

Chapter Thirty One Chapter Thirty Two Chapter Thirty Three

Chapter Thirty Four Chapter Thirty Five Chapter Thirty Six

Chapter Thirty Seven Chapter Thirty EightChapter Thirty Nine

Chapter Forty Chapter Forty One Chapter Forty Two

Chapter Forty Three Chapter Forty Four Chapter Forty Five

Chapter Forty Six Chapter Forty Seven Chapter Forty Eight

Chapter Forty Nine Chapter Fifty Chapter Fifty One

Chapter Fifty Two Chapter Fifty Three Chapter Fifty Four

Chapter Fifty Five Chapter Fifty Six Chapter Fifty Seven

Chapter Fifty Eight Chapter Fifty Nine Chapter Sixty

Chapter Sixty One Chapter Sixty Two Chapter Sixty Three

Chapter Sixty Four Chapter Sixty Five Chapter Sixty Six

Chapter Sixty Seven Chapter Sixty Eight Chapter Sixty Nine

Chapter Seventy Chapter Seventy Chapter Seventy Two

Chapter Seventy Three Chapter Seventy Four



Chapter Seventy Five


Within seconds of waking the next morning, Ary wished she hadn't. Oddly it wasn't because of a hangover, although she did have a bit of a headache. No, it was because of the bed she woke up in. The bed. The first night with Grayson bed. The bed that began it all. She closed her eyes but quickly found that it didn't help, it just made the images of him clearer. She should get up. Up and out of here, down to the kitchen where there was absolutely no association to him whatsoever.

But she didn't. Instead she lay there and replayed every moment from that night and the following morning. When she was finished she stared at the ceiling so filled with conflicting emotions she didn't know if she wanted to cry or scream. Why did I ever approach him? Why couldn't I have let him live in my daydreams? Then eventually I would have met a nice guy, and the only thing I'd have to compare him to was a figment of my imagination. And I would realize there was no comparison, that the figment wasn't real. So I could still fall for someone else.

She turned onto her stomach and buried her head in the pillow. "I would be so good for you," she whispered, hot tears spilling from her eyes and getting soaked up in the pillow. "I would show you a world where love and loyalty, friendship and true happiness really do exist."

"Eh hem, am I interrupting something?"

Ary froze, breathing hard into the pillow. The amusement in Andie's voice was sure to disappear once she saw her tear-stained face. Damn it, this was a private moment.

"Yoo hoo, are you talking in your sleep? Or are you promising the pillow that you're never going to drink again."

Ary sighed and rubbed her face on the cotton material before lifting her head up slightly without looking back. "Don't feel well," she said in her best hung over mumble, "Come back later."

"Are you going to puke?"

She shook her head once before dropping it back on the pillow.

"Okayyyy, but if you change your mind about that, there's a trashcan next to the dresser...Here I'll move it for you."

She listened to Andie crossing the room and the sound of the basket being plopped on the right side of the bed.

"Okay then," Andie declared, "I am off to visit with those who didn't go quite as overboard. Come downstairs when you feel up to it and I'll make you some coffee."

Ary grunted, and relief washed over her as she heard the door close. Dodged that bullet, she thought with a ghost of a smile. She scooted to the side of the bed to grab her purse and noticed two Tylenol and a bottle of water sitting next to it. She'd forgotten how thoughtful Andie could be, almost motherly. She swallowed the pills and drank half the bottle, then lay back down. No more Grayson wallowing. You need to give it a rest, it's not going to change anything.

She sat back up and threw her legs over the side of the bed and left the room like she should have done in the first place. But instead of heading downstairs she went into the bathroom. Andie might be a little suspicious if she recovered that fast, she'd at least have to kill some time until the meds started working.

When she saw her reflection she decided it would not be difficult to kill some time. She looked like hell. Her face was all blotchy, her hair a tangled mess, and there was something pink and sticky on her chin. In the shower for her.

Twenty minutes later she descended the stairs feeling ninety percent human again. When she got to the edge of the living room she saw a face from the night before and stopped cold. Tyler. Oh shit. Tyler whom Andie was trying to set her up with. She vaguely remembered the conversation, something about him being hot and her singing matchmaker. What was not quite as vague was the part where she'd danced with him, danced like she'd been auditioning for the role of Baby in that movie with Patrick Swayze. In her defense she'd been outrageously drunk and it could have been anyone that she'd rubbed herself all over. But it hadn't been just anyone, it had been this one. This very fine looking one who had just noticed her and was now gracing her with a dazzling smile.

She forced herself to walk forward and act natural.

"Look who's up! I thought for sure you'd sleep the day away," Andie said.

"Yeah, well some kind soul left me Tylenol and water, and coupled with a shower I am feeling a wee bit better."

Andie smiled and patted the cushion next to her. "Sit, I'll make coffee."

The place she'd patted just so happened to be right next to Tyler. "Um, no, I'll help you."

Andie made a face, "It doesn't take two to make coffee."

"I know, but I feel like standing."

Andie gave her a knowing look as they headed to the kitchen.

"What?" She asked as they walked up next to the counter.

"You were afraid to sit next to him."

Ary flushed, "Not afraid, just not comfortable with it."

"You were pretty comfortable being close to him last night," Andie stated as she started the coffeemaker.

"Yeah, well last night I was fantastically drunk...What are you doing Andie?"

"What do you mean, I'm making coffee," she answered innocently.

"You know what I mean, how do you know him anyway?"

"He's Grant's cousin, didn't I mention that?"

"Well you might have, but most of the night is a blur. So you know him really well?"

Andie lifted a shoulder, "I've met him a few times."

Ary folded her arms across her chest. "You've met him a few times. And you think it's a good idea to set me up with him? He could be worse than Grayson."

Andie snorted. "First of all Grant vouched for him, and I trust Grant. Second of all, there is absolutely no such thing as worse than Grayson."

"Andie..."

She put her hand up, "I know, I know, I'm sorry. I can't seem to help myself sometimes. But you brought him up. So let's leave Grayson out of this."

Ary sighed, "That's not exactly possible. We only broke up a week ago, it's a little soon for me to leave him out of anything where my love life is concerned. It wouldn't even be fair to Tyler, he couldn't be anything more than a rebound at this point."

"And what's wrong with that?"

"Are you serious?" Ary asked incredulously.

Andie finished stirring the coffee and handed it to her, then mimicked Ary's pose, folding her arms across her chest. "Yes, actually I am. Tyler is a freshman in college who is handsome, charming, fun, and funny. He's a good guy, this I'm told by Grant, but I don't think he's in the market for a wife. I'm not trying to get you hitched Ary, I just think it would be healthy for you to go on some dates. Have some fun. Let yourself see that there are plenty of fish in the sea, as corny as that saying is. Just hang out with him, and if nothing comes of it, no big deal. Or maybe you'll enjoy his company and at the very least he'll be a distraction. And before you argue, you do need a distraction. I gave you an out upstairs, I could see you didn't want me to share in your moment of grief. But I'm not a fool, I know that room had to have brought up painful memories. I wouldn't have put you in it, but everywhere else was taken."

Ary bit her lip.

Andie sighed and walked up to her, putting a hand on her shoulder. "Please Ary. I'm not telling you to sleep with the guy. But please be open to having a little fun."

Ary nodded reluctantly, taking a sip of her coffee.

"Good! Then finish that coffee and let me take you to your house so you can change into your bathing suit, we're going to the beach."

Ary nodded once more. "Where's Dori and Sonya? Still sleeping?"

"No, they went home, I think they have plans for today."

Ary's eyebrow raised. "So it's just going to be me, you, Grant and Tyler?"

"A double date, like we always used to dream about remember?"

Ary smiled despite herself, remembering very well. "Okay, double date it is, but don't get your hopes up."

"I wouldn't dream of it."


As it turned out, this particular double date was one of the longest in history. After hours spent at the beach, they went to the sidewalk festival, and it was after one am before they returned to Andie's. She crashed there again, on the couch this time, and was awoken Sunday morning by a heap of clothes dropped on her head and Andie’s admonition to get ready for a day out on a yacht, courtesy of Grant's grandfather.

A couple of hours later Ary stood on the platform of the deck, holding the rail and looking out at the bay.

"It's beautiful isn't it?" Tyler asked, walking up beside her.

She turned slightly and smiled, "Yes it is."

"I love the water. The open ocean is my favorite but as long as it's bigger than a pond I'm happy."

"I get that.”

They stood in silence for a few moments, admiring the view before Tyler cleared his throat. "Look, I know about your recent breakup. That's why I don't want you to feel any pressure when I ask you what I'm about to."

She looked up at him somewhat warily.

"Mumford and Sons is playing in town next Friday and I have tickets. I've heard how much you love them, so I wanted to know if you'd like to go."

She blinked. Mumford and Sons? Seriously? There were few people's company she would not endure for a chance to see them live. "Um, sure. I'd love to go."

"Great! It'll be a blast."

She smiled.

"Well I'm about to go make myself a mimosa...You interested?"

Her smile widened, "Hell yeah, mimosa me up."


proofunproven1.pdfsoftcover-1.jpg



Generously created for me by @son-of-satire

Have you filled your witness votes?
Check out these passionate and competent souls:@ocd-witness, @teamsteem, @steemgigs, @ausbitbank, @roelandp and @dragosroua; then go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses
If you don't see their name, simply write it in the empty box at the bottom of the page.

To better understand what a witness does read @dragosroua's post Witnesses: What they are and why you should care

Sort:  

glad she is getting out and about , but someone is going to get hurt ...

Rebound fun!

Slowly but surely, she's living again!

It's cool of Andie to make an effort, but I would think she would go about it in a different way. I get that she's using Tyler as a rebound for Ary, but she should've just focused on getting Ary back on track. Any effort is good though!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94