Dead is Alive-CHAPTER Ten

in #story6 years ago

If you are new to the series read chapters 1-9 here

abandoned_city_by_lucask336-d6b2yyv.jpg

Before:

"I'm sorry for your guy's loss, I feel your pain. She was a great woman." The officer replied and walked away.

Now:

When the cop left, we just sat on the couch, looking at each other. Saying nothing, just thinking. My sister and dad were hugging and I sat alone. She was my favorite parent and my dad knew that. That's why he probably doesn't like me that much. We have always had a few family troubles, but I feel like the one to always break up me and dad's fights was mom. He didn't ever smile or laugh at my jokes or at anything that I said, but he was always all over my sister. If its only gonna be us for the rest of our likes, be gotta learn how to get along.

Five Days Later:

The power has still yet to come on, the grocery stores can't keep the food from rotting and the hospitals are running out of power for there generators. The country it trying to evacuate the whole state of California, but they have gained little progress. The walking dead have been constantly killing innocent beings and the population of the zombies is beginning to be uncontrollable. There has been an estimated death toll of 1.5 million people in the state of California alone and that is in a period of a month. At this rate, the whole country will go down in less than a year. " Yo, we gotta get out of the big city, if a big mob of those things comes by, were trapped like rats!" I told my dad, "ya I know, how tho? You crashed the truck and my car is super shitty so how does that work?" he asked, "We just "borrow" a truck from someone and use it until this is over." I replied, "Oh ok, do you want to get arrested or something?" he demanded, "No, its just an option and it could save our lives! Like Just go over to Uncle David's house and borrow his Ram and.." I was cut off. "Fuck, he and Bridget are still in Cuba. They could be dead for all we know. The power is out so we can't call them. He is my only family left other than you and your sister, I can"t lose him!" he said "We will go over to his house. If he is there we will take him with us. If not, the truck is ours."

We waited until the next morning to go to David's house. The whole city is basically closed and there are walking dead everywhere. Who knew that it would be life-threatening to drive across the city. We all piled into my dad's car. Each of us had a gun and a knife on them just in case anything went wrong. "Ok, if anything gets in our way, shoot it. We will rule the road on the drive there," I said confidently "Let's go" dad said, he started driving. Our neighborhood was quiet. Not a single car going out or in, and no zombies are seen anywhere, but that was a different story when we approached highway 5. They were all over the place, it looked as if no one had traveled on it for days. "I think we should turn back!" Sabrina said, "No we can't now, were already in this mess." dad said. We started on our way down the perilous road.

As we drove, we realized how many of these things there really is! There were at least forty right in front of the exit! Dad sped up, and maneuvered around them, slightly clipping about five, we were on our way! the roads were clear until we reached the Hellen Heights neighborhood. There are over 750 houses and 7 condos there. It is the biggest neighborhood in the area. The road was infested with the dead, and they all were coming our way! We all panicked so dad threw the car into reverse and floored it backward. He hit two and decided to go forward again. "Let me drive, you're a lil bitch!" I yelled. I think that pissed him off cause right after, the car took off. He hit zombie after zombie until we broke through. He kept his foot down up the off ramp. "I guess you're not, hahaha!" I said. Luckly for us, David lives on the outskirts of Hellen Heights so we might not get in trouble.

We reached his house five minutes later. The zombies messed up the car pretty bad! Smoke was pouring out of the engine and it nearly died on us twice. We got out, guns in our hands and knocked on his door. There was no answer which worried us. We knocked again and still nothing, so we tried to open the door but it was locked. I stood back and kicked the door in and yelled: "David if you're here, come out. It's Lance, Bret, and Sabrina!" We got no answer, so I yelled it again and still no answer. Dad ran in and searched his whole house but all he found was his cat, dead. I saw a tear run down his face. "Get the truck keys off the rack and open the garage, you drive the truck and I and Sabrina will take my car." dad said "Ok, Ill be out in a minute." I replied

Image found on Google Images

Sort:  

Just read this chapter. I must say, you have me hooked. I'll have go back and read the first part. Young Man, I am happy to have found you. You are an amazing writer. I am an avid sci-fi fan. And now I am one if your soon to be many fans. Resteeming

Thanks for the support! Glad your hooked on the story!!

You are most welcome.

Oooh poor Kitty :( So they're splitting up hey? I smell trouble...

Great writing Eddie! I'm really enjoying this story :)

BTW, amazing artworks. Are these your drawings? You should enter some of the writing and art contests. You would do well and possibly win some more steem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61763.08
ETH 2899.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49