Sometimes The Angel Is Walking In Your Shoes

in #story5 years ago (edited)

I was five years old and panic-stricken. I was separated from my parents for the first time, laying on a hospital gurney in some cold and sterile waiting area for my turn in the operating room. Through tear-filled eyes I noticed I wasn't alone, there was a man lying there on a gurney beside me. In the hazy memory he resembled a young Cat Stevens.

This man reached through the bars of his own bed to pat my hand and asked me what my name was. He told me his name, of which I forget, and shared that he was a poet. I didn't have a clue what that was. He asked if he could recite some of his poems to me. A great sense of peace washed over me the moment he began reciting his poetry.

This small act of kindness calmed my racing heart and made everything feel as if everything was going to be okay. It was the first time I realized the true power of words. This kind soul gave me only five minutes of his time but these five minutes were immensely valuable. So valuable, that the lesson has survived inside of me now for over forty years.

Small deeds can have a disproportionately large impact, they can transform lives, and create lasting change. Could this experience be partially responsible for setting me on the trajectory to become a writer and poet? Maybe or maybe not. It's interesting to think about.

“It's not enough to have lived. We should be determined to live for something. May I suggest that it be creating joy for others, sharing what we have for the betterment of personkind, bringing hope to the lost and love to the lonely.”― Leo Buscaglia


I have many other examples in my life that I can share. There was Mrs. Bowl, my very first teacher, who could have made me repeat kindergarten for being out sick so many days but she didn't. Mr. Morgan, my seventh grade teacher who took an extremely skinny, shy, and awkward pre-teen boy and over the course of the school year transformed him into a much more confident young man.

There was also that one teenage boy in the group of twelve who chased me down for blocks in our inner city neighborhood on a dark Friday night in the mid-1980's with every intention of beating me up and/or robbing me. By then I had been in enough of these situations to understand what the outcome would be if they caught me and they were gaining on me fast. I sorted out all of the options in my head and chose the only one I had left, I stopped under a streetlamp, turned to face them as they ran towards me, and plunged my hand inside my jacket as if I had a gun (I know, stupid). The group stopped instantly. Suddenly this boy said to the others in his group, "Wait, I know him! It's cool, he goes to our school." He didn't have to say anything, but he did. A few of the boys kept pacing back and forth, high on adrenaline and testosterone, itching to take part in a beat down. But the moment had passed, all because of the words that one boy had the courage to utter.

"Acting on these urges takes a certain kind of courage that rarely feels comfortable. The choice is entirely up to us. The beauty is each moment presents us with new opportunities to test our wings."


Each of us are presented with tremendous opportunities. I call them angelic moments. These are tiny blips in time in which a very small act can make a big impact.

We still have free will so it's up to us to choose to step outside of our comfort zone, or not.

We can risk being ostracized by “the herd” for voicing an unpopular opinion that we truly believe in, or not.

We can have the patience to lend an ear and offer words of support or decide we're too busy and don't have the time.

Acting on these urges takes a certain kind of courage that rarely feels comfortable. The choice is entirely up to us. The beauty is each moment presents us with new opportunities to test our wings.

We simply can't help everyone but if you feel a strong urge to do or say something in a given moment, take heed. If you feel something tugging at your heart, pay extra close attention to that feeling.

Act. Don't over think. Act. It could make a huge difference in the life of someone who needs it.

The truth is angels are more common than we think. They walk among us. Sometimes they're wealthy and dressed to the nines and other times they’re homeless and wearing filthy clothes. Oftentimes these angels offer sweet words of praise but sometimes they swear at us like sailors.

Yes, sometimes the angel is even walking in your shoes.

With Gratitude,

~Eric Vance Walton~

(Gif sourced from Giphy.com)


alt text

alt text

*I am an American novelist, poet, traveler, and crypto-enthusiast. If you’ve enjoyed my work please sign up for my author newsletter at my website. Newsletter subscribers will receive exclusive updates and special offers and your information will never be sold or shared.

Alarm Clock Dawn, one of the first full length novels published on the blockchain, and the book that started it all for me can be found HERE. Or Click Here to read it for free on the Steemit blockchain

My book on meditation, The Perfect Pause, is priced at $12.99 (paperback) and $4.99 (eBook). Buy the paperback and receive the eBook for free!

Let’s Keep In Touch

www.ericvancewalton.net

alt text

alt text alt textalt text alt text alt text

Sort:  

We simply can't help everyone but if you feel a strong urge to do or say something in a given moment, take heed. If you feel something tugging at your heart, pay extra close attention to that feeling.

And yes sometimes it can feel extraordinarily uncomfortable ~ However, we would never know the outcome of whatever words or gestures we make, unless we make them. Even then we may never know the consequences of our words or gestures.

But I live in trust that given from a genuine caring, when something inside urges me to do so, the effect will always be beneficial. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

Hello Eric, how are you doing? I really enjoyed reading your writing. Angels are always there beside us. According to my religion Islam,
Angels and demons are always beside us. Angels will whisper us to do good and Satan whispers us to do bad thing. This life often happens that we never expected such as your meeting with someone who told you to read poetry and unexpectedly 40 years later you have become a famous writer. Thank you for your inspirational writing, sir. Have a nice day.

All is well Eliana! Just getting readjusted after the trip to Montreal. I'm glad you enjoyed this piece! I hope you're having a great week.

What a beautiful publication! And what a beautiful opening story. Just as you believe that angels are among us, and just like you, I have also lived experiences in which life has shown me that it is worth believing. Like the time when I cried heartbrokenly because of a bad test, and he came up to me Azabache, a beautiful stray dog who licked my hands and my hair, and never left me again. Love comes from the most incredible and least thought out beings. Hugs for you.

Thank you Nancy! The unconditional love dogs give just can't be beat, they can teach us a lot. The little moments like you describe make life worth living.

A touching and interesting message. It makes you think about something high and clean. Thank you very much.

Thank you for reading!

This is the best of your publication. I must confess, this write up is also creating an impact upon me. Thank you and thank you I can say at the moment. I am happy to read a blog of this kind in Steem blockchain. We really need publisher like you in this decentralized ecosystem. I am resteeming it and will read it again and again. Beautiful English words were chosen by you. Thank you again sir.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for the kind words @groynes! I'm glad you enjoyed it. I appreciate the resteem as well!

Absolutely beautiful story @ericvancewalton, I've come across many angels in my life, even here on Steemit, one of them is walking in your shoes ;)
But how very true that a few words can comfort, lighten a somber moment, inspire, encourage and a myriad more!
I really enjoyed reading this.

Thank you so much, @lizelle! Steemit has granted many blessings, for sure. I'm so grateful to have met you and so many others from around the world. I haven't written a piece like this for years and it felt good to do it again. I hope you're having a great week!

We need more feel-good stories like this @ericvancewalton!

I may have a few more up my sleeve. ; )

What beautiful anecdotes, that is the reality, we are surrounded by angels that God puts in our path when we least expect it. They surprise us and often give us great lessons, especially love lessons.

Hmmm. This is really touching. Like you said, it is not only about living but living for something

Thank you so much for this beautiful post - resteeming

I really appreciate the resteem. Thank you!

@ericvancewalton, In this post I felt that Peaceful essence brother and i agree with you that Angels are common but Egoistic Minds hold their own versions and pictures in their minds that's why many miss the point of that peace. Stay blessed brother.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95