Surprising My Dad For His 79th Birthday

in #story5 years ago (edited)

Verlo Victor Walton. This is the man who, when I was a small child, walked me through the neighborhood on his shoulders at night when I was too sick to sleep. The guy who taught me how to play catch, and work on my bike, tie a necktie, and shine my shoes (and many other things.) He's always been a selfless father and a true original.

Yesterday my Dad turned 79 years old. My wife and I flew to Columbus, Ohio from Minnesota to surprise him. He didn't have a clue that we were coming. My Mother was an accomplice so I called when we were just minutes away to wish him a happy birthday and told him that I just got a UPS tracking notification that his present was left on the porch.

Following is a short video of us surprising him. Thankfully my wife captured the moment, I didn't know she was filming at the time.

We've all had a trying week here on Steemit but it's situations like this that allow you to hit the reset button. Life is so short that it's important to keep everything in proper perspective.

I hope you all have a wonderful weekend!

Eric


alt text

alt text

*I am an American novelist, poet, traveler, and crypto-enthusiast. If you’ve enjoyed my work please sign up for my author newsletter at my website. Newsletter subscribers will receive exclusive updates and special offers and your information will never be sold or shared.

Alarm Clock Dawn, one of the first full length novels published on the blockchain, and the book that started it all for me can be found HERE. Or Click Here to read it for free on the Steemit blockchain

Sort:  

That's all I need...

Hearing him say that brought a huge smile to my face.

Happy birthday to your father. Have a great time!

Thanks @nanzo-scoop! His reaction made it all worth it. It was a miracle that we could keep this secret in the weeks leading up to the trip. Hope you're having a great weekend!

Great event, my friend and I congratulate your father on his birthday and wish him all the best! It seems your father in the video did not expect your unexpected appearance, and for him it was a surprise. Well done! Thanks Eric

Yes, we somehow managed to keep it secret. Thank you, @serkagan!

Ah you certainly gave your Dad the best 79th birthday gift ever, lovely that your wife captured it all, a real special moment!

It was a great day. We have a few more days with them so we're going to try to make the most of it despite the rain and gloomy weather, which Ohio should have a trademark on. : )

Awww this really made me smile. What a sweet surprise and you seem so happy, Eric. <3 And your dad seems fun, I love his reaction - it's priceless.
Happy birthday to him and have a wonderful weekend with your loved ones!!

Thanks, @honeydue! He was diagnosed with Alzheimer's a few years ago so these trips are extra special. He has good days and bad but he's been great these past few days.

Yeah...That's surprising. Where's party images or video? Hope you'll upload it. Anyway many blessings to your father for his birthday.

Thanks! We took him out to dinner for his birthday but didn't get any video of it, unfortunately. We were all too busy eating. : )

Good surprise . Spend more time with your father. Happy birthday to him.

and told him that I just got a UPS tracking notification that his present was left on the porch.

Looks like you gave him the best package. The look on your dad’s face was priceless, Eric.

It's an amazing feeling to have the freedom to be able to do this kind of thing. We took him to a spa for a float tank session yesterday and he really enjoyed that.

Happy birthday to dear uncle . Stay healthy

So sweet!!
“That’s all I need.”
Says it all.
Love that you always put relationships first Eric! Such an amazing way to be in the world.

Thanks, man! It's always so great to visit them. It's sometimes hard to believe I've been away from here for almost 25 years.

This is great hug between father and son .
Wish you a happy birthday dear uncle .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95