The Pervasiveness Of Loss

in #story5 years ago (edited)

As we age there’s one thing we all must learn to come to terms with...loss.

I’m well into middle age now and loss, or more accurately fear of loss, circles high above me like a flock (or a kettle, according to Google) of vultures. Inevitably life plucks away the people, things, and eventually the freedoms we treasure one-by-one. This isn't something I really like to dwell on but every now and then I can't help but think about it.

All we really have is the present moment, right?

I found a story on social media today that I had never read before. It slapped me across the face and woke me in a beautiful, almost Buddhist, way. It exemplified a wise way to think of loss as we walk our journey on this Earth.

As so often is the case on social media the story was bastardized and misrepresented. After all, social media is just like the modern equivalent of “the telephone game”. Some of you younger readers may have never heard of the telephone game but the gist of it is this...each time a story or fact gets passed from one person to another it’s changed slightly or diluted in some way. These days this bastardization happens to all of the information we consume to the point that it's difficult to discern truth from fiction.

I got the impression that the person sharing this story about Kafka assumed that the event actually happened. In reality the story of Kafka's encounter with the little girl came from a work of fiction, author Paul Auster’s book, The Brooklyn Follies on page 153 to be exact.

In this case, the fact this event never actually happened doesn’t detract from the story’s gravity and value. It does, however, speak to the talent of the author and is a good reminder of the true power of the written word, whether it be fiction or nonfiction. It also speaks to the value of looking at life events through a different lens.

The story goes like this…


Franz Kafka encountered a little girl in the park where he went walking daily. She was crying. She had lost her doll and was desolate.

Kafka offered to help her look for the doll and arranged to meet her the next day at the same spot.

Unable to find the doll he composed a letter from the doll and read it to her when they met.

'Please do not mourn me, I have gone on a trip to see the world. I will write you of my adventures.'

This was the beginning of many letters. When he and the little girl met he read her from these carefully composed letters the imagined adventures of the beloved doll. The little girl was comforted.

When the meetings came to an end Kafka presented her with a doll. She obviously looked different from the original doll. An attached letter explained 'My travels have changed me.'

Many years later, the now grown girl found a letter stuffed into an unnoticed crevice in the cherished replacement doll

It read: 'Everything that you love, you will eventually lose, but in the end, love will return in a different form.'

~Kafka and the Doll, The Pervasiveness of Loss


How beautiful is that?!

"Everything that you love, you will eventually lose, but in the end, love will return in a different form."

Take a deep breath. Let that sink in. Ponder it as you go about your day.

I hope you've enjoyed this post. Have a wonderful Sunday!

Eric


alt text

alt text

*I am an American novelist, poet, traveler, and crypto-enthusiast. If you’ve enjoyed my work please sign up for my author newsletter at my website. Newsletter subscribers will receive exclusive updates and special offers and your information will never be sold or shared.

Alarm Clock Dawn, one of the first full length novels published on the blockchain, and the book that started it all for me can be found HERE. Or Click Here to read it for free on the Steemit blockchain

My book on meditation, The Perfect Pause, is priced at $12.99 (paperback) and $4.99 (eBook). Buy the paperback and receive the eBook for free!

Let’s Keep In Touch

www.ericvancewalton.net

alt text

alt text alt textalt text alt text alt text

Sort:  

Oh my, I knew this story and yet I still have eyes filled with years. What a touching and true story. You're right, it does wake you up <3 Thank you for sharing it.

It really speaks to the power of being empathetic, kind and thinking about things differently. So glad you enjoyed it!

It definitely does <3 Thank you for sharing it :) I'd totally forgotten it!

You're welcome!

I love this story 🙏🏽

Posted using Partiko iOS

I'm glad you enjoyed it! Thanks!

This is beautiful, sir. Love always return in a different form, especially when we feel we couldn't move on. What a comfort for the little girl from that man. We all hurt differently, but when we see someone who can make our pain bearable, then the world will become a better place.

Thank you for sharing this, sir. A lot of messages embedded in this story.

I'm glad you enjoyed it! For me, it was a near perfect example of the power of words. At 48 years old I see the truth in it as well. I hope you've had a good weekend!

That is very deep sir! Power of words. So accurate.

Beautiful story, @ericvancewalton. There are stories in life that leave their mark because of the love that has sustained them. A good reflection for a sad and melancholy Sunday. To live each day as if it were the last and to treasure moments for remembrance. Thank you for sharing.

Thanks for reading and for your comment!

@erivcancewalton thank you
You brought tears to my eyes, so heartfelt.
!tip

You're quite welcome, my friend! I hope all is good in your world!

Thanks Eric. I am going for the ride of life and seeking peace within for now. LOL

What a beautiful story and what a beautiful final reflection. Your text arrives today, when a great friend has left me with empty arms and a wrinkled heart. It is as if all the colors and music had gone with him. Maybe, in the end, life takes people away from us, but it gives us memories to keep moving forward. Hugs for you!

Thank you and please accept my condolences for the loss of your friend @nancybriti!

Hello Eric, how are you doing? I was very inspired to read your story about Kafka and the little girl who lost her doll. Indeed it has become a natural thing, if we are ready to love, we must be ready to lose. Because nothing is eternal in this world. we aren't expected to love too much because what we love sometimes makes us suffer. Or don't hate too much because sometimes it is what we hate that will make us happy. Enjoy your day, sir.

I'm well, @elianaelisma and I hope you are too! Wow..."if we are ready to love, we must be ready to lose." That says it all really. Loss is truly the price we pay for love, I guess. In the end it's a bargain. Take care of yourself!

Beautiful story . Franz Kafka is a nice person & great human being in the story.

Heart touching story .

@ericvancewalton, In life let's not wait for the Replacements because it's not about the Replacements it's about the same emotional Placememts but in new Situations and Environment. Stay blessed brother and thank you so much for sharing this moving writing piece.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 64172.03
ETH 3144.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85