Personal Reflections Before the Much-Anticipated Steemfest 2steemCreated with Sketch.

in #story7 years ago (edited)

Only a few short days left for the next Steemfest. Can’t believe how time flies and the crazy journey so many of us have been on since then. I still remember the last few words of Ned’s closing speech at the first one. ”See you all at Steemfest 2.” And here we are, ready for more fun and enjoyment.

One of the coolest things about this upcoming and exciting event is that we’re gonna have the amalgamation of two generations of steemians. Many who didn’t even know what Steemit was last year will be there and sharing their unique stories with us as well as vice versa. As I’ve said in the past many a time, I’m sure something like this is a one-of-a-kind collective in the world of social media platforms. To me, that’s just mind-blowing and not to be taken lightly.

Facebook has been around 2004, Instagram since 2010. And even though a great number of friendships or even relationships have been forged through it, none of them comes close to the feeling of “comradery” and “unification of minds and talents” when it comes to Steemit. I consider every day a blessing knowing I’m a small part of that and hold that position dear to my heart.

I’m sure most of you will agree that the most incredible evolution of this platform (that I’m sure none of us saw coming so soon) is the way we are capturing every facet of user communication. Whether it be via video ( @dtube ), audio ( @dsound ) and now live streaming ( @dlive ) to name but a few. That’s just extraordinary and some could say a minor miracle. So that begs the question. Where will we be by the next (and almost inevitable) Steemfest 3?

I see the detailed refinement of awesome “plugins” we are enjoying now as well as the next giant leap forward. That made mass adoption. The technical aspects are taking care of themselves at breakneck speed, providing a fully functional and extremely advantageous foundation for users of any other social media platform to enjoy. I see a full-scale exodus in the upcoming months and especially going into the new year. A global migration to a user experience that better serves that individual’s intrinsic personal needs instead of that of a large, 3rd party faceless company. The empowerment of block-chain technology combined with fine, interconnecting vast mesh of “people” networks around the world seems a match made in heaven.

Whilst I can’t see things from everybody’s point of view, I feel the signs are glaringly obvious. We are on the cusp of exponential growth statistics when it comes to new member sign-ups to Steemit. And with the direction things are heading now, many a user may not even be aware they are using the Steem blockchain with the introduction of SMT’s thrown into the mix. These are exciting times and something we should feel privileged to be a part of so early on in this revolutionary game. I feel it's something we should all embrace giving the impact it is likely to have in the future, harnessing the potential to eventually affect every human being on the planet.

I see the entire package as a whole emitting an almost “organic” feel, to the extent where the Steem blockchain will provide the infrastructure for numerous artificial eco-system’s to exist in their own right and deliver complete transparency between each other. Sounds like something out of a sci-fi movie, I know. But that’s the age where we live in. When I was a child, the concept of digital money being used to transact goods and services was nothing more than a pipe dream and fantastical nonsense. Such is the rapid nature of technological advancement in the age we live in. Again, an unabashed honoured and pleasure to bear witness and be part of it.

2.jpg

Well, these are a few of the many thoughts swirling in my mind’s eye right now. Given magnitude by the fact that I’ll be boarding a plane in a short while to relive some of those golden memories I’ve kept with me for almost one whole year.

I look forward to meeting the many in attendance there and discovering yet more “faces and personalities behind Steemit’s digital shroud.” Let’s break the barriers down together. Bless you all and see you soon!

PAGE-DIVIDER.jpg

Hope you enjoyed this story, please look out for more on the way... (author: @ezzy)


Sort:  

I’m sure you’ll enjoy your stay in Lisbon with mind like people. Hope to attend version 3 of Steemfest myself.

Thank you, @s3rg3. Would have been really cool to meet you out there as I've heard lots of good things from @exyle. Hopefully next time. :)

Congratulations @ezzy, this post is the tenth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Hero account holder (accounts that hold between 10 and 100 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Hero account holders during this period was 206 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $2615.59. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Thanks for letting me know! :)

It's also interesting to see how many of the attendees last year don't use Steemit anymore haha! I'm sure this year's version would be even more packed with the exponential growth of users.

I'm sure that you're going to back another award in the year's ceremony. Have fun there, brother!

Hey, my bro! I caught your comment saying it was posting 5 seconds ago! How's that for timing! Well, thanks man! I wish you could have made it as I would consider it an honour to meet you in person. We would have so much to talk about! Please try to make it next time as I'm sure I will.

Bless you, my brother! Thanks for the kind words. :)

And I saw this was written 2 hours ago hahaha! I agree that we would have loads to talk about. I feel it's inevitable that our paths will diverge, but I don't think it would be at SteemFest. In fact, I don't think that I would be able to attend any SteemFest, as I don't make nearly enough to justify it. With the new crop of Steemians getting a boost with face-to-face networking, there is no more place for old minnows like me haha! I'm just trying to catch whatever small amounts of STEEM I can before I get drifted away into obscurity haha!

Have a safe trip and have fun! :D

I just found Steemit a few days ago and I'm ready to go! Do me a favor and petition them to have Steemfest 3 here in Hawaii. That way I will definitely go next year. Lisbon is a bit far for me ;) Enjoy Lisbon and I look forward to seeing your updates/recap from the event.

Oh man. Even though it's a shame you won't be able to attend this fest, the best thing is you actually found Steemit in the first place (as I still feel this platform is in it's infancy).

So focus on establishing yourself now, having a great time posting and start planning for making it to the next one. :)

I totally agree on all fronts. I am beyond ecstatic to have found steemit in this early stage and will definitely be following your advice. Hope to see you at the next one. Many thanks for your advice and steem on!

I didn't know the Steemfest could be that great, @ezzy. If there is a third one which I think there should be, I will definitely take time off from work and try to attend. It sounds like you had a great time. Tell us all about it when you return!

Hey there, @myb! Yes, it really "is" that good as I'm sure everyone who attended the last one would agree. Honestly, my advice to you is to try and make it to the next one. You won't regret it, I promise you. :)

And I'm actually able to attend this one - see you there bud! :D

Not too long to go now. See you in a short while, my bro! :)

Have fun in steemfest! I hope to meet some of you on coming years!

Sorry I can't be at this year's 'Fest... have an amazing time!! I'm jealous :)

All good, man. I'm assuming (very loosely) that the next one may be held in the States which will be closer to home for you. And I'm pretty sure I'll be there too so here's hoping our paths do cross again counting down one year from now. Hope all's well on your side, buddy. :)

have fun and enjoy your trip there.

Thanks, man. Hope to see you there at the next one. :)

See you soon! It'll be great to catch up again! <3

Here's one person I'll be over the moon to meet again! @michelle.gent! It's was a pleasure meeting you then and it will be doubly over again. So glad you and @s0u1 are keeping well. See you in a few days time. :)

We'll be in Luton on Tuesday! See you in Lisboa!

Take care and have a safe trip. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63410.49
ETH 3058.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99