LIFE OF A TREE

in #story6 years ago

9.jpg
image credit

I'm mossed all over my trunk. But still I've so many branches to offer the tired travellers a comfortable and cool shade at noon. My friends across the world, and I give humanity some of the vital amenities that make life possible on Earth - oxygen, foods, medicines atc. We serve them without expectations and sacrifice our everything to support them.
I was born from a seed and remained low in the ground for some days. Then I opened my eyes and was greeted by the Sun during spring - that time of the year when the air is fresh, delicately romantic and a pleasure to breathe. The word seemed very beautiful, I was never tired of looking at sunny nature. I stood on my feet. I played hide and seek with Sunrays and moon beams. What joy and merriment! Merriment is the sunny side of any existence. Isn't it? Gradually, I attained maturity, and rooted deep in the ground.
I stood as a silent witness of varied spectacles. It was an afternoon, some children played under the careful protection of my big arms. I saw a funeral procession passing by me, they were praying for the external bliss of the departed soul, tears were rolling down the cheeks of the men in the procession. Wailings of women were heart-rending. I sighed. I meditated and realised that the cycle of birth and death, going the ages, is a plan of God. I'm also a theist. I also desire to live with God after death, where I'll find eternal peace. I also saw so many wedding processions, processions of pilgrims passing by me or taking rest for sometimes, I felt interested interested in worldly affairs. In dark nights,dacoits and gangsters assembled beneath my branches. I listened intently to their hushed voice. They resolved to murder a man and decamp with a booty. I shuddered with fear. But I had no power to resist them or to disrupt their cruel plan.
On the first day of the year, a fair is held in an open place around me. It continues for a fortnight. A huge crowd of people come here from distant places. Some are so very insensitive, they inflict deep wounds on my gnarled body, they drive big nails to pitch tents. I silently cry in pain. Still I never protest, and I try and render much help to all . Birds build their nests on my branches, the chirping of birds gladdens my heart.
I've grown very old and lost my youthful vigour and strength. One day some cruel people chopped off a good many number of my branches. But I couldn't say anything and continued to bleed profusely from the wounds. However, I've seen a great deal of men and their manners, they've enriched my knowledge. Everybody around me respects me for my wisdom and I'm afraid of none but violent storms. I've been withstanding their mighty onslaughts for many years. But now, I think my days are numbered. I'll accept death with a spirit of calm resignation to God who once brought me in this world. Like the human beings I'm also mortal. Thus, I shouldn't lament, rather I feel glad, remembering my glorious past.images (48).jpeg

Sort:  

Saw your unfollow ... maybe ask Why? Thank you

indeed a very beautiful peace of writing. loving it... Thanks @facttechz for a goos piece of writing

Nice point of view description @facttechz...

Congratulations @facttechz! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hey @Facttechz, That was very beautiful. I couldn't help but imagined the tree being alive and was able to speak his thought and convey the grief... Sad and beautiful at the same time.

A nice read, you are a good writer.

What a beautiful narration!
But this tree might have been the cause of life to many more young ones. Looks like trees dunno much about their own offsprings or ain't attached to them than watching & thinking about humans all the time!

Its my first time that I came across a story of a "theist" tree. Fair enough, every being has its own philosophy ...including trees. You're a good story teller. Keep writing!

Thanks, friend. Trees are important. 😎

Congratulations @facttechz! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @facttechz: this post has been upvoted by @minnowhelpme!!
This is a free upvote bot, part of the project called @steemrepo , made for you by the witness @yanosh01.
Thanks for being here!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61361.03
ETH 2932.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67