International Womens Day

in #story5 years ago (edited)

Today is international women's day so first and foremost, I wish all women the happiest of the happiest, best of the best. This is an excerpt from the 9,221 word essay which Acclaimed Nigerian author, Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie posted on facebook in the form a letter to a friend, Ijeawele, who recently became a mother.

This ignited my thought process quite a lot and I began to think about what feminism actually is. It dawned on me that a lot of people use it as an excuse to not seek equality, but rather an upper footing in a power dynamic. I would consider bad feminism to be where women use the equality argument to try gain dominance over men, in extreme cases, punish them for an oppressive past.

Good feminism should be about making women free to make un-coerced choices. Whether that be about her career, her body, or any thing like that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 56858.44
ETH 2919.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60