Tales from a little corner on south-east Europe, where everybody’s dream is to become rich! - Part 3

in #story6 years ago (edited)

Amazed yet? The first two parts were only the tip of the iceberg. We have other problems too. Well, maybe not problems, me and my people like to address them as "deeds misunderstood".

Every now and then in Kosovo, you will be likely to hear a story that will give you the greatest feeling and at the exact same time live you hopeless for the rest of your life. We are best at telling half truths. I mean, don't get me wrong, we are best at many things, it's just happens that we are good at things that might not be considered as beneficial to the community. And it is very likely that one of the things we do good is despise each other. Even though the majority is the same, poor; there are people in this life who by the sole notion of luck, happen to be born in a more developed city, or in a rich family. For as long as a I have been alive, I have seen living in a place as a part of our lives, which will help you somehow develop a character but non the less, also a link in great chain called community, as I consider that every citizen has a role to play in a group. But somehow, some people in my country, think they are entitled to either a gold medal or a medal of honor, just because they happen to be living in a particular area in Kosovo.
louis-vuitton-garbage-bags copy.jpg

I, myself happen to have a very diverse life; if that's what I can call it. I grew up in a neighborhood where everyone pretty much had the same living style. We all had money for food and other utilities, none of us had the chance to ever travel anywhere, except Albania, which is right in the border and its the kind same place, but it has a sea and a beach. Fast forward, college happened. And I went to a very expensive college for the standard of my country. Like I told in my introduction story, I won a full scholarship there. For the first time I encountered Louis Vuitton shoes or a Prada purse. And let me tell you, that kind of life, seemed nice at first; but not for long. I thought it must be nice to have your own car or plan a trip to Switzerland in a matter of minutes. And that is absolutely nothing wrong with that, but just don't act like that is normal here. Because it's not. But the culmination of all this "normal" acts where when I for the first time overheard someone say they could not live any different lifestyle than traveling and purchasing expensive stuff and that they wouldn't understand people who don't go to eat at a restaurant at least once a week. Really? You could not? I have witnessed my father borrow 5 euros to buy bread, eggs and milk. You can, just pray you don't not have to. I took an example of my university, but it's kind of the same everywhere around here. Listen, even though I am not able to buy the new Porsche, I know how much it costs. There is no need to tell me the price every second day.

And what makes it worse, it's that there are places who have we as a society have decided that you should have a certain level of life to be there. There was a case in a cafe in Prishtina a few years ago, where a security guy was shot by a "wanting-to-be-a-costumer-of-the-cafe-but-not-civilized-enough-to-be-around-rich-people" man, which really put to spotlight these kind of segregation we have in our communities. The story took over by storm. They wouldn't let him sit and have a drink, he got angry and shot him. If there is a scheduled meeting of hypocrisy and fanaticism, I think there's the spot.

See, all this segregation thing, came to a very bad end, but still some people in this country think that they could not live without. Ye, right!

to be continued!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71181.66
ETH 3647.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75