FLASH FICTION: Friendly Fire

in #story5 years ago

images - 2019-08-05T234203.409.jpeg
As I sat by the evening fire, the smoke from my cigarette rising into the heavens, my mind flashed back to the night when, as a little boy, I set our house ablaze.

Three days before the incident, I was in the kitchen to fetch my teacup when my eyes fell on a matchbox that was lying idly on the floor.

Looking to my left and to my right and realizing that nobody was in sight, I picked up the matchbox and embarked on an experiment, one that would destroy everything I once called home.

I waited patiently for a perfect opportunity that eventually came. When my parents had left for work, I brought out my matchbox and decided to test its potency.

I started from my old notebook and textbooks. And when everything was exhausted by the friendly fire, I set our curtains ablaze.

Before I realized the implications of what I have done, it was too late. Everywhere had been engulfed by a cloud of black smoke that raided our home and spared nothing - including my toys.

SUPPORT CORNER

Kindly follow the peerless vocabulary lessons presented by @majes.tytyty, and get rewarded with upvotes for your participation.

          Vocab-Ability – "Introduction to Vocab-Ability"  

Are you a minnow and you're already thinking of giving up on Steemit? Please don't quit. Kindly follow @Steemitcentral and use the steemitcentral tag in your posts to get some upvotes.

IMG-20180606-WA0005.jpg


I am @gandhibaba, the young man who goes about carrying his magical pen, not his gun, in his pockets.

Gandhi banner (925px, 25fps).gif

Gif courtesy of @artzanolino


Thanks for visiting my blog. I appreciate your precious time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09