Neoxian's Super Awesome Fantasy Steem Monster Writing Contest: Light meets Darkness.

in #story6 years ago (edited)


“Tip tap top..." Is that the sound of drops of water?
“Tip tap top..." It's driving me insane not to get some decent sleep because of that sound.
“Tip tap top..." Alright. The third one it's the last one I can stand. Time for me to get up.

I open my eyes, the first thing I see is the darkness being sweep away by the sunlight. The morning is taking its part of the day. I put my clothes on, and stretch myself just like my mama taught me. Oh, how I miss those days when I woke up to a kiss on my forehead and a cup of tea with some bread.

*flashback starts* “She's not normal! And you know it... You didn't even told me she had this weird thing. And don't even try to tell me she's my daughter and I have to accept it. We're gonna get killed if someone knows she's some sort of witch." Said my father, as my mother was standing in front of him shedding tears. “She's not a witch! She's just a baby, she doesn't know how to control her power. A fairy starting her way to the world, of course she doesn't know how to control some of her power." She said trying to defend me. I was listening carefully while I was in bed pretending I was sleeping but, no... I wasn't.

I knew what was coming next. My father said “Find a way for her to quit to those powers or... Just get rid of her completely. It's not okay to see your child's hands shining like it had thousand of fireflies on them." It was time for me to run away from home. From everything I've ever known. Away from my mama.
From the first time I put my feet on the forest I knew it was my place, kinda. I had to get used to some things, since I was a child; but now, that today I'm turning 18 years old, I have the opportunity to decide if I want to keep my powers or to quit on them… Just like my mother did, because she was in love with my father. The one who broke her heart telling her to let her little girl go away.

I was expecting for my 18 birthday since my mom told me I could come back home if I reject my powers. It may sound easy to leave something you're not used to see in everyone else but you, but actually no. “Being a fairy isn’t just make some cute magic with your hands,” I said to myself while I was trying to find a way to come back to my old town, and visit my family, after 13 years.

Suddenly, outta of nowhere I hear a melodious voice, mumbling some soft music. I was so used to the deadly silence of the forest, and hearing those sounds scare me to the point I was looking around me like a crazy… And the change started. My transformation was starting, turning me into my fairy figure.
When I was a kid, I used to notice I had some birth marks on my face, or that's what I thought it was. The day I turn 10 years old everything in my body changed, the marks wasn't only a part of my face… The colors got more brigther and more stronger. Everything turned into a whole new me; it was my fairy form expressing and telling me to let her out. Taking over me.
Over the time I manage to hide my fairy form a little bit more but when I needed to use my powers in a completely way, I had to transform into my magical form.

It didn't hurt. It never hurted me to change into my fairy form… Until now. Why I was feeling like I was getting teared apart? Like something was burning me down my throat. I couldn't breathe in a normal way. I was feeling tired, I couldn't fight against the whatever it was killing me. I fell into the cold, hard ground; my muscles were hurting really bad, I was gasping for air, and for the first time in years I wanted to cry, I wanted my mom near me once again. Then, after a few seconds, I was feeling better, stronger than before, like anything of what just happen a few moments ago didn't hurt me in any way. What was happening? I said to myself “It might be the 18 years old transformation, I guess” I was so wrong.

On my way back home, I saw a big tree, It had a hole on one side and I didn't know why I felt so atracted to it. I was blaming my 18 birthday for every weird thing that was happening.
My hand went straight to the hole and I felt something hard, not like a rock, softer than that, I immediatly pull my hand out since it was feeling itchy; so I used my powers and pull the objects out of the hole, it was some sort of cards. I was staring at them levitating in the air as I was figuring out if I should or shouldn't touch them again.
The cards surrounded me, still levitating but I notice it wasn't because of me, they were moving by themself. A piece of paper appeared on the floor, and the cards reunited with it on the ground too. I readed the paper out loud “Hello, my young fairy! If you have found this paper with 8 cards then you must be some sort of fairy, maybe a light fairy! These cards are a little help for you into the magical world. The name of them are Steem Monster cards! You can win more if you use them correctly into the magical battles. You just have to place the cards onto your guide book and place your hands near them. Give it a try! You might like…”

I remembered the book my mom gave me before I leave our house. She said it was important for me to keep it close and read it every time I saw a change in me or a change in my powers, it was a fairy guide book. Feeling unsure about what to do with the cards and the book, I tried anyway what it said the paper… And thought about one card especifically, why that one? I don’t know but I felt like it was that one.
Out of nowhere a cold, strong wind hit my body and inmmediatly I heard a squeak… A dragon squeak. I stood there with my hands shaking, not knowing what to do. I built a protective halo around me, in case the dragon tried to atack me but it didn’t, it was in the other way, it’s eyes were inviting me to get on top of it’s back. Nothing was making sense for me at all! So, I did it risking my life without a care. I took my stuff and went away with my new friend, without knowing where we were going.

Source

And then… Everything turned into a nightmare. The clouds were dark, the dragon was squeaking really hard like crying, thunders and lightnings appeared and we started to fall down. A raspy voice started to laugh, and I was feeling dizzy, maybe because we were falling. seconds later I felt water surrounding me.
A young woman in dark clothes was smilling under water while I was getting deeper and deeper into the lake. I didn’t ask for help, I didn’t fight against the pressure of the water, I knew if I did it, the nature would win, just like it did in the morning when the drops of water woke me up to start my day.

I woke up inside of a red, warm room, but really warm. My Steem Monsters cards were in front of my face levitating once again inviting me to choose one; and I knew… I knew I was in a magical battle.
“Are you ready? Huh? You think you can win this?” Said with a sarcastic laugh the woman in black, standing on the other side of the room. I was staring at my cards and with decision I pick one. A smirk appeared in her face, I felt the sweat going down my back.

A big and mad Ogre made his way in front of me, waiting for me to tell him what to do next. The woman spoke once again “You will get defeat in seconds, my darling… You see, I’m giving you the chance to defend yourself. Why? Because you were so little when your soul was sold to me that I decided to give you a chance to save yourself, little light fairy.” My jaw was wide open when I heard the last sentence; I had too many questions.

Source

“LET THE BATTLE BEGIN!” Announce a strong voice. I froze for a few seconds and think to myself “She’s a witch… A dark witch.”

She choose a gigantic black dragon, but the creature looked more like a demon. My ogre tried so hard to break it’s neck, to fight against the dragon really hard… Meanwhile, my heart was beating so fast that I felt it was going to get out of my chest; and it happened, the black dragon was annoyed by the ogre, and throw him to the other side of the room. “Stop playing games and destroy him, now!” said the witch.

Source

I was feeling useless there and I yelled desperatly “NO, stop it. You want me, not him… Stop it and fight against me, just you and me.” The witch smiled “You don’t know anything. None of your parents took the time to explain you what they did to you. You already belong to me, I was trying to not make things so hard for you, but whatever. A fight between me and you is nothing for me.”

Suddenly we were at the forest again, and the voice singing and mumbling melodies was again hitting my ears, loud and hard. I saw a figure moving throught the trees, looking like my mom. Why was my mom holding a baby? “I can’t. I can’t give you my little girl” said my mom to someone a I could barely see from the holes of one tree.
My brain just clicked right away, the baby was me. “It’s the Price you have to pay to live the life you want with your love one. You already made the pact with me a long time ago and this is the part of your deal. She turns 18, she’s mine. Her powers are strong, her soul is more pure, the perfect combination for me. Silly fairy, falling in love with humans, giving your powers away for love and now giving a part of you, your daugther for the same mistake.” And the witch laughed like a crazy while she place her hand in front of my baby face. It was the end of the flashback. And the end of me.

I felt how she took my soul out of my body from behind, my hands were so bright, flashing lights like crazy, my knees started to flick and I fell to te ground with my eyes wide open, my back hit the soft grass and all was black. Just black.

Hello, my friends! I hope you like this fantasy story I made for @Neoxian's constest. I really love this type of contest, it makes people to create good content for the community. Thanks to @Neoxian and @steemmonsters for this cool iniciative. With hope there's another contest like this soon. Greetings!

Disclaimer: All the pictures belong to me, except those who has their respective source. The pictures were taken with a Nikon camera.
By the way, big thanks to my sister @eliarenas for being my model in the picture and my mom @eliangel for helping me with every detail of the process; and last but not least, thanks to my dad @cjao20 for telling to participate in the contest, this was a new writing experience for me since this is the first time I write about fantasy things.

Sort:  

Hello, @gellyarenas, I congratulate you, beautiful story, excellent photographs, I hope you win, greetings

Thank you so much!

Wow! @gellyarenas, tremendous story, very coherent and interesting; since, it catches you from beginning to end ... In addition, I congratulate you for all the work developed around this story, it is a quality work!

Thank you so, so much! I made the story with so much passion and love.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by gellyarenas from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I congratulate you, fascinating story, very well achieved the desired atmosphere, greetings @gellyarenas

Thank you so much! I tried my best to take some good pictures.

Thank you for checking my entry! Greetings.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62772.18
ETH 3032.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67