The servant girl

in #story4 years ago

Morgana stares out of her chamber windows. Seeing Arthur and Merlin leave the camelot gates just to fight Morgause and her army made her worried. Morgause had much less army members than the camelot. If they were to fight, Morgause would sure to lose and Morgana’s been trying to convince her sister not to do so until they gain enough allies. Knowing her sister’s nature, she would not let a chance slip to kill Arthur. Merlin was listening from outside her chambers, hidden in the cupboard.

Then Morgana’s sinister thoughts were disrupted by Guinivere, who was standing in her chambers. She’s finished her chores and rewashed her dresses, she looks concerned at home Morgana was looking so apprehended. Morgana began by acting nice like she actually used to be and then became nasty once Gwen refused to leave for she was worried for her mental health.

Morgana (kindly): uh…...Gwen!!

Gwen: Morgana??!! I’ve heard of how much you slept last night……...and honestly I cannot be happier for you. I’ve prayed many times for your health, asking God to give you rest and he did.

Morgana (fake): and I am so blessed to have a friend as loyal and caring as you are, Gwen! However, your duties have been completed, you can go now.

Gwen: are you alright?

Morgana (sarcastically): why wouldn’t I be. I am so lucky to be living with such a wonderful king. Now…….that would be all!!

Gwen, however, did not get the message the right way. She stood in the doorway keep on asking her mistress if she was alright.

Gwen: are you alright, Morgana?

Morgana (impatient): that would be all, Gwen!!!

Gwen: are you sure you’re alright? Because if you’re worried about Arthur and his safety, I want you to know that he is alright. He is safe and you have to have faith in him. If it is about the dream………...you’re………………

Morgana (maliciously): sometimes I do wonder what role you play.

Gwen (confused): what do…...what do you mean??!! You mean……..my role as being your personal friend?

Morgana (nastily): no, your role as a servant!!! When I ask you to do something, you do it! I am the king’s ward and you’re just my servant!!

Gwen looks as if she just got slapped in the face. She stood there frozen for a second and then tears began to come out of her eyes. She tried not to let her mistress see that she was crying. So she just smiled and walked off. Merlin could hear her sobbing when she walked out of Morgana’s chamber. He immediately ran into her, asking her if she was alright.
Gwen: I’ve never seen Morgana like this before. I know she’s worried for Arthur……….but why would she???

Merlin (wisely): I think we have more to do than that. Perhaps………...have you ever considered if Morgana is still who you think she is?

Gwen: what………...what do you mean??

Merlin: I think she may not be everything you like to think she is. At least………..not now anyways. Guinivere, I want you to tell me everything that is going on, honestly. Please don’t ask me why.

Gwen (mesmerized): speaking about her. I’ve noticed that lately she’s been more hideous than before. I know she’s always hated the king from the start………..but she just said to me that she loved him. Morgana’s been spending more time in her chamber than before, asking me politely every time if I would leave her alone. I’ve known her for years………..she would never keep something away from me.

Merlin thought for a minute, how to explain this matter to Gwen clearly. She along with Arthur and Uther may be the only people who can’t see Morgana’s true side. Merlin knew telling Arthur and the king about it would not be an option, so instead he decided to tell Gwen. For he knew that she trusted him, maybe even more than she trusts Morgana.

Merlin (whispering): since Morgana’s returned……….Gaius and I have noticed a lot of suspicious behaviour of hers. Like sneaking out at night……….lying to the king that she was finding her missing horse. And Gaius and I know for sure it was her who killed the knight who tried to kill Morgause.Don’t you see………..she’s not who she says she is anymore. She’s changed, Gwen. She is…………..no longer the Morgana you knew.

Gwen (tears): I…...I suppose I can try to talk to her. Make her see sense that…………

Merlin (emphasize): there is no use. Listen to me, Gwen. She is not the same as you thought of her to be…….she’s changed since being away. You must never talk to her about this matter or she’ll have you end up in the same place as the knight.

Morgana’s fake apology
The next morning, knowing her duties, Gwen walked anxiously into Morgana’s chamber. As she saw Morgana sitting on the hairdressing table like usual with her long, dark hair down and in a nice gown, she smiled fakely. Knowing Morgana is now a malicious devil, she needs to keep her personal life away from her as much as possible.

Morgana: hey, Gwen!

Gwen (fakely): hey…..anything to wash for me? I am going to tidy your bed.
Morgana (caring): are you ok, Gwen?

Gwen: yeah….I am fine.

Morgana: no you’re not. I can tell when you’re not fine, Gwen. I yelled at you, didn't I…………..I am really sorry.

There was no reply. Gwen was really struggling not to cry, knowing her apology was fake and that she did not want to show Morgana her tears anymore. So she thought it would be best if she did her work as fast as possible. After she cleaned the sheet as well as placed the food on the table and took away her dirty clothing, Gwen noticed Morgana was standing at the doorway. She tried to get past her as politely as possible, however she blocked her.

Morgana (kindly): hey……...I just want to say that you’re doing great. Thank you for placing my sheets so beautifully today.

Gwen (struggling not to cry): thank you, my lady!

As she tries her best to hide her cries and walk out of the chamber. Morgana blocked her, which caused her to become distressed. How could she ever show Morgana the truth, of just what a sinister and evil person she has been to her and the rest of the kingdom. Of how she lied to her and betrayed all of Camelot. Gwen knew that Morgana was faking, that all her kind words were nothing but empty vessels. That she has a deeper intention of hurting her and the rest of the kingdom than to be nice to a servant.

Morgana: are you crying?

Gwen (choking): um…….I’m fine……..it’s all good.

Morgana: come here.

Morgana pulled Gwen into a hug. She tries her best to get out of the hug as much as possible, however she was kind of afraid of Morgana. So she pretends that she is feeling better with Morgana’s arms wrapped around her. She smiled fakely as she withdrew.

Morgana (remorsefully, fake): Gwen. I just want to say what a kind and loyal friend you are. You have always been so kind to me……….like a sister to me. And what I said last night was unforgivable.

Gwen (pretend): thank you, your majesty.

Morgana: you know you can call me Morgana.

Gwen: thank you for your words, Morgana.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61383.17
ETH 2915.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61