Do whales make you late for work?

in #story6 years ago (edited)

Waking up at anchor has an inherent simplistic beauty to it. Granted some mornings are calmer than others. This serene photo taken with my iphone is from Albert Head two years ago.

morning.jpg

I'd anchored overnight and was due back in Victoria for 10am to open up my paddleboard rental company SUP Victoria. After a cup of joe I started going about tidying up and getting ready to raise the anchor. While I was washing dishes I heard the unmistakable sound of a blow. Immediate excitement consumed me - I had company!

I boot scooted up on to the deck saw one Orca off my port-side bow. The rest of the transient pod was not far away - about 100m or so.

orca1.jpg

orca2.jpg

Wanting to adhere to the rules and regulations that help protect the whales, I called my business partner Jon.

Hey Jon, I'm sorry but I'm going to be late this morning. There's a bit of a traffic jam out here on the water. There's a pod of transient Orca's. I'm gonna wait for them to pass before I start the engine.

I should say that along with being my business partner, Jon also happens to be my cousin. He is very aware of my notoriously late nature, you could say we both suffer from the same time struggle. Jon was very gracious about it.

Well That's a whale of a tale! Take your time and enjoy. See you soon.

In the end I was only an hour late. The encounter was brief, but pretty darn special if you ask me.

Thanks for the support Steemit!!

For more photos check out my instagram page https://www.instagram.com/hayles.sails/

Sort:  

I did run a bit late for a Bitcoin cash trade the other day for similar reasons, a dolphin playing happily around my boat, at Oslo, Norway.

1st post to an epic threat ! ^^

Thanks! Very much. I'm still getting the hang of this Steemit thing - few posts are up. Give em a gander and let me know what you think!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=hayles
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=whales-made-me-late-for-work


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Nice whales photography.

Thank you! I was really impressed with the quality of the shots from my iphone.

Welcome
Absolutely right your phone's quality of shot is amazing!!
Take CARE

I really enjoying reading your writing! Thank you for taking the time to share with those of us that are living vicariously thru you! ;-)

That's a great excuse for being late in my opinion. It must have been quite the experience to get this close to an orca!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 67227.10
ETH 3137.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76