Anna

in #story6 years ago (edited)

Anna is the eldest among her siblings. They are from what the society would categorize as a "poor family". Her father supports the family by working as a fisherman. After being out all night, it would be a happy day for everyone if he's able to bring back a bucket full of fish, enough to feed their even more growing family for a day. On the other hand, while looking after the children, their mother, who is currently pregnant with the 6th child, takes care of the crops she has grown on the tiny piece of land at the back of their frail hut.

()

Image Source

At a very young age, Anna understands how poor and helpless her family is. She hates the situation and finds it unfair for their family to be chosen to suffer such a pityful fate. Everyday she would endure the long walks to get to school on time.In fact, she is a brilliant student and is an achiever in her class. She never wants to miss a single day in school. She loves the fact that she never has to worry about feeding their dog, or cooking while bathing her siblings. It was the only way she could escape reality .

" Riiiing! " The school bell rang as the clock hits 3 PM. " Goodbye everyone ! I will see you all on Monday. " the teacher said. The kids were saying their goodbyes while running towards their way out.
Anna, isn't as excited as the other kids. Going home means having to face the never ending chores and praying that her father would catch enough fish to eat for tonight.


Image Source

As Anna was walking slowly, the rain started pouring. "Oh No! Please dont rain! " she cried. " " My only notebook will be wet and I won't be able to buy another one. Just please Mr. Sky , dont rain just this once" she pleaded. As quickly as she could, she tried to find anything in the woods which could cover her notebook. Unfortunately, there was nothing around her except for an enormous leaf which she immediately wrapped around her notebook . Just as she finished, the rain started to fall quite heavily. She didn't want to stop so Anna continued walking while embracing her leaf-wrapped notebook. She didnt mind being soaked in rain for as long as her notebook was safe. She continued walking until she almost reached their home.

Eventually, the rain stopped but Anna started crying. " I dont know what else is worse than our life right now!" she said while sobbing. " No ,matter how hard we try we will never be able to live a better life." I just dont want this anymore!!" , these were here last words before she passed out.

Little did Anna know that she was being watched by someone. For a very long time this someone has been with her. It was sort of like a guardian.

" My poor little Anna! I know you are tired but there is so much in life than these ugly thing which your heart chooses to see" said the guardian. " Now, rest and let me see how I can help." . The guardian placed her hand over Anna's head and sprinkles of magic dust appeared.

"Anna, wake up!" these are the words continuously repeated in her head and awakened her from sleep.
"Have I been sleeping for a long time now?" she asked herself. Anna got up from the ground and started wandering.
"I guess I overslept since my clothes are all dried up now." she mumbled. " Oh, I almost forgot , its time to cook the rice before father arrives!" she exclaimed while starting to run.

"Where are you going Anna?", a voice asked.
" Who are you? " Anna replied.

With a blink of an eye, the guardian suddenly appeared in front of her.
Her appearance was followed by a dazzling light which made the girl cover her eyes using her arms as if protecting herself from something dangerous.

"I am your guardian and I have been watching you all this time. " the guardian said with a smile.
" I heard you and this is why I brought you here- to end what you call suffering " the guardian explained.
"But I have to go home now, mother is waiting and father will be home soon. I should ..." . The Guardian did not let her finish what she was about to say ...
" There is no need to do any of that anymore. This place requires you to do nothing that doesnt please you. " said the Guardian.

The place where Anna and the Guardian were talking is the exact same place where Anna's family lives. Everything is exactly the same , the view is even better but all that she hates were eliminated. No more dog to feed, no more chores to juggle and no siblings to bathe and take care of. With her eyes still wandering, she saw a house not far away from where she is standing and rushed to it. The house was sturdy compared to their small hut. It was clean and spacious. Upon opening the door, a table filled with food welcomed her. It was a table of every food she dreamt of having.

food.jpg

Image Source

"Help yourself. " smiled the Guardian.
"Everything here is all yours my dear Anna" the Guardian further explained.

Anna, using her hands, took one leg of the perfectly roasted turkey placed at the center of the table and took a big bite. The other hand, she used to grab the soft and fresh from oven bread on the other side. She continued eating trying all the food there is on the table. She knew she could eat more but she suddenly stopped.
" All these are undeniably delicous but Im not sure why I feel like I dont want to continue eating anymore." she said with confusion.
"Whats wrong ?" asked the Guardian.
" Nothing, I just remembered the day my siblings endlessly ran after me when they knew I brought them bread and happily shared it amongst them. The feeling of seeing them happy was priceless." shared Anna.

bed.jpg

Image Source

Anna left the table and continued walking towards the half opened door which caught her attention. Inside the room is a huge bed with feather-filled pillows. She has long wanted a bed like this so Anna ran towards the bed and rested. She stretched and waved her arms and legs back and forth feeling how soft and comfortable the bed was. After a while , she stopped playing and stared at the ceiling. A memory again flashed. It was when her mother would tuck them in at night to prepare them to sleep while her father tells the story until all of them falls asleep. This comforted her and knew that it was only their parents who could make all of them fall asleep faster.

" I'll let you enjoy your time my dear Anna, just call me if you need anything" said the Guardian and immediately disappeared.

table.jpg

Image Source

Bothered by this memory. She stood up and went to the table beside the bed. There lies piles of colorful books, pens and notebooks. This is her dream. With pure excitement , she grabbed the notebook and tried out different colors of pen. She also read books one after the other. Anna was happy. It was as if she was having the time she had long dreamt of. Everything was perfect until she saw her favorite book. Her siblings loved listening to her tell the story of her favorite book. When she is busy, they would all try to hug her and stop her from working until she tells them the story all over again. This memory led her to start crying.

" Are you there my Guardian?" she slowly asked.
" I have everything I hoped to have but I am not at all happy. I have all the food there is but no one to share it with . I have the most comfortable bed one could ever have but I feel cold for being alone and not having anyone beside me. I have wonderful books to read but have no one to share my stories to . Nothing matters without my family. We may be poor and own nothing but having them definitely makes it everything bearable and worth it. "
Please take me home, I wanna be with my family. " she Anna.

" As you wish my dear", the Guardian again sprinkled her magic dust in response to Anna's wish.

_"Anna are you okay? Please wake up my daughter" cried her mother.
** "Im so sorry , its all my fault. Please just wake up my love . "** her mother continued while being surrounded by other siblings who were also crying.
"Mother, I am okay . Please stop crying" responded Anna, as if she awakened from a long sleep.
"What happened to you Anna" her worried father asked . " I found you there lying on the ground , you scared all of us" he continued.
" I dont know father, maybe I was too tired , Im sorry , please stop worrying I am ok now." Anna confidently replied with tears on her face.

Her siblings ran toward her, filled her with kisses and hugs while their mother and father happily laughed while watching them.


Image Source

" My work here is done!" said the Guardian, happily disappearing using her magic dust.

=============================================================================

If you find this helpful and worthy of your time please upvote and resteem this post .
What are you waiting for let's create a change by sharing our #gratefulvibes story!
@iamdeth

Cast your vote and support @surpassinggoogle , my witness and inspiration to continue learning and growing.

To vote visit,
https://steemit.com/~witnesses
Type "steemgigs" as a witness in the search box then vote as shown below:

re127f3gcm.jpg

IMG_7303.jpg

Sort:  

sooo soo touching sis:)
pls gawa ka pa ang ganda nya super!!
talented ka, basahin ko eto sa anak ko pag uwi ko hehe

Love it sis!

salamat sa appreciation sis =) ... sana magustuhan ng anakis mo =)

A very nice story, you are indeed a family-loving person, i was inspired once by your what is your one wish, which is a 24 hrs. time w/ your family. Keep it up!!!@iamdeth 😍😍😍

thanks @randyray ! =) Our families are gifts from God which all of us should learn to cherish and love more than anything else ...

Ate, this is powerful story.
Would you do a verse two?

Thank you @mrposyble. I would love to ... I hope I'll be able to come up with something soon. Gusto ko matuwa kayo ulet habang nagbabasa ... =) salamat sa pagtitiwala =) .

Great story! The moral taught us the value of contentment which is the real ingredient for a true happiness.

@drahries thanks for dropping by and reading my story =) . Hope you enjoy your journey as a steemian =)

Wow! Deth akala ko tapos ka na sa hugot den eto ngayon hugot ulit. Hahaha. Ang ganda ng kwento. Pang wansapanatym. 😀

eto ata epekto te kapag batang wansapanataym hahaha

Relate much deth. 😀😀😀

Congratulations! Your post has been chosen for the SteemPH UAE : Daily Featured Posts | 21 May 2018.

Congratulations @iamdeth, your post have been featured at Best of PH Daily Featured Posts.
You may check the post here.


About @BestOfPH

We are a curation initiative that is driven to promote Filipino authors who are producing quality and share-worthy contents on Steemit.

Follow our trail and vote for curated Pinoy authors. If you are a SteemAuto user, @bestofph is an available trail to follow.

If you want to be part of the community, join us on Discord

Very powerful story. Would there be a part 2?

Thank you soooo much sis @bloghound. This comment makes me kilig hahah. Gustuhin ko man , im not sure kung kakayanin ko pa,,but I will try sis.. salamat sa tiwala and kind words. =)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60826.65
ETH 2907.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54