How to learn from failure or how to (F)lawlessly (A)scend (I)n (L)ife - My Story

in #story7 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemit peeps,


I've had a few amazing conversations recently about failure and it all comes down to our perceived FEAR that it's keeping us from taking ACTION.

Failure is a matter of perspective, plain and simple.

failure-quote-stop-trying-1024x1024.jpg

As I always like to challenge myself, I recently entered to a speed pitch night for TEDxBrum - the topic for this year's event is PERSPECTIVES. I have to tell you that I've never done public speaking before, so I wanted to share what I've learnt.

The story before: After a busy week, as I'm working on a few projects at the moment, on Monday (the day of the pitch) I get a reminder for the event. I started thinking that I wasn't ready, that I haven't prepared, that it's better to just not go, there will be other opportunities in the future. The awesome thing, since I started meditating, is that I can now change my thoughts. So I've put this speech together and practiced it before the event.

It goes like this:


Choices

Have you ever experienced happiness, joy, love or connection?
Have you ever experienced struggle, sadness, fear or pain?

We all have good and bad days.

What if I told you that we have the POWER to CHOOSE what and how we FEEL?

When we start feeling low frequency emotions (as I don't believe in negative or positive) like struggle, fear or pain it only simply means that there's an UPGRADE available for us in that area of life. Pain is a blessing, suffering is optional.

We will always have a choice to either re-ACT or observe our thoughts, feelings and emotions to find out the WHY so that we look for solutions in order to take ACTION.

In any given moment, you have the power to SHIFT your awareness by one degree and you will find a different PERSPECTIVE.

Our natural state is of LIGHT, PLAY, LOVE and CONNECTION. Just look at new-borns, they don't know pain and struggle. - we LEARN these behaviours and emotional patterns from those around us.

It is time to Unlearn and Relearn new ways of *BEING, to let go of the OLD and embrace the NEW.

The Power of Choice is YOURS


The pitch didn't go as I imagined, but I am always committed to take more action and to get where I want to be. I loved the fact that I went ahead and actually made it to the event. Just by being there, it was a success. My learnings after the pitch:

  1. You will never be READY - all you have to do is to your best with what you've got
  2. Allocate enough time to prepare and practice
  3. The audience is there to listen to your ideas, not to judge you
  4. All you have to do is to take action
  5. Be Yourself

I'd love to know what is your next challenge? What are you committed to UPGRADE?

Love & Light,
Joanna

Join the #WEALTHChallenge 1 Sept --> more info here: https://goo.gl/Fu1mgF


Follow my journey on:
Instagram and Twitter: @JoannaAxinte
www.joannaaxinte.com
www.findfreelancr.com
wwww.futurize.io

Sort:  

Hey Joanna! My next challenges are as follows: 1) 16th September steemit meet up. 2) 17th September - 7th October uk university steemit promotion tour #steemit-roadshow 3) organise my brothers stag do! 4) event management bliss 5) futurize. Will we see blogs about these last two on steemit?

Hi Matt, this is brilliant - let me know if I can help with steemit promotion around Birmingham universities. I can put you in touch with the guild president at UCB.

I will post about the two events later this weekend :) have a lovely evening

Wow! Joanna, this would be amazing!! @stephenkendal, check this out!! is there a potential presentation event on the cards here? We plan to be at uni birmingham and aston on monday 25th sept. but we can be flexible on those dates if need be! (by the way there will be a free tshirt if you can find a way to come help us promote steemit hen we are in Birmingham!!

In today's ever-evolving technological world, it's essential to stay ahead of your competitors to keep up with your business activity. DevOps Services are something that may bring certain benefits with streamlined features https://quema.co/our-services, particularly when choosing the right strategy and implementing it properly with a focus on your unique needs.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69771.68
ETH 3782.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.46