Meet A Gen-Xer: The Guy Who Is Fascinated By Drummers

in #story6 years ago (edited)

A Glimpse: Cuong has been thinking of spending time in The Great Barrier Reef. One of the things that affects whether he'll go ahead or not is his sense of adventurousness (not as great compared to when he was a teen). 






 
As a person who enjoys finding possible connections within my contacts, I've started this series as a way of making introductions happen    faster (the more minds brainstorming....the more effective the    result...right?).  



 


 Each person featured in the series would be answering 36 questions. And yes, a number of them are from the famed '36 questions' that  allow two people to have a deeper connection (by getting to know one another via a set of questions) in a short amount of time.    
 



 As for the questions, they do change from time to time. Whether it be because the person wanted to skip a question (or two) or I get a 'light-bulb moment' that another question would be more interesting it its place.  



Q#1: You're flying business class and the flight is about 15 hours. Given the choice of anyone in the world, whom would you want seated next to you?

A#1: Definitely with my wife. We’ve been together for over 2 decades. Our lives are hectic with kids so we haven’t had the chance to sit and actually be with each other. To fly business class would also be a nice treat. 



Q#2: If you were to give a TED talk, what would it be about?

A#2: It would be about my self-taught art techniques and how I grow to love it more as I grow older and value the experience of the process. 


Q#3: Before making a telephone call, do you ever rehearse what you are going to say? Why?A#3: I don’t rehearse what I’m going to say ahead of a phone call. The conversation is more genuine that way.



Q#4: What would constitute a “perfect” day for you?

A#4: I can actually picture myself sitting in comfortable chair laying down. The backdrop would be a large piece of land with luscious trees and green. I would be looking out at endless sand and I could just catch a bit of a glimpse a bit of the sea. I'll be watching my kids playing in the sand and next to me is my better half. With the gentle breeze and not a worry in the world, that would be an awesome day!



Q#5: When did you last sing to yourself? To someone else?

A#5: In my car yesterday as I am driving home from work. I am the best singer in my car, by myself.  


Q#6: If you were able to live to the age of 90 and retain either the mind or body of a 30-year-old for the last 60 years of your life, which would you want?

A#6: This I would have to go for the mind of a 30-year-old…I’d trade off the body for the mind of an experienced, mature, wiser of a 60-year-old person. That if I don’t have any health problems… if health is involved then I would have to change it around. Can’t deal with the aches and pains….lol  


Q#7: Do you have a secret hunch about how you will die?

A#7:  That I’d  probably die from lack of sleep.   



Q#8: Name three things you'd like to have in common when you next meet someone.

A#8:Probably top of a lot of most people’s list - Humor – so you don’t look like an idiot laughing by yourself. Food would up there as well… It’s all about making it easy to decide. That’s about it… makes it a little interesting to have everything else different.  


Q#9: For what in your life do you feel most grateful?

A#9: In every stage of my life I feel “I hope I can”In elementary to high school and to college I feel this way. I am grateful for the fact that I did that…  But I am most grateful for my family and the love that I’ve experienced. 


Q#10: If you could change anything about the way you were raised, what would it be?

A#10:I am not sure if this is the same for other culture but growing up we were told about many little things that scared the s---t outta you. Things like if you swallow the seed, a plant would grow out of your butt, or if you keep making that face it’s going to be stuck that way forever. 


Q#11: If you were to tell your life story as quickly as possible, how would it go? (4 minute limit)

A#11:Immigrant from Vietnam, I live in California, USA for the most part of my life (from elementary to high school and on to college. All in CA.) I am the youngest boy of eight children in my family… met my wife in high school (high school sweethearts) we have 3 children. I majored in Mechanical Drafting and Industrial Design. Been doodling off and on all my life. Just in recent years, that I find I am doing it more and more because it’s so therapeutic and I’m able to share my art with the world.  



Q#12: If you could wake up tomorrow having gained any one quality or ability, what would it be?A#12: It would be the ability to compose and play music with various instruments. It’s amazing how music artist are able to do what they do. The coordination of a drummer’s feet and hands and how to read musical notes fast like that of a pianist.



Q#13: If you could find out the truth about yourself, your life, the future or anything else, what would you want to know?

A#13: Not sure if there’s any more truth about my life, but it would be interesting to be able to see the real story about extra terrestrial and if it’s really real.



Q#14: Is there something that you’ve dreamed of doing for a long time? Why haven’t you done it?A#14: I left it out because I wasn’t sure of it but here it is… no near an impossible dream. I always wanted to scuba dive in Great Barrier Reef of Australia.  As I realized that I can enjoy the on screen footage of the beauty I may just sit behind the screen and enjoy it that way. Plus I am not that brave and fearless as I thought I was as teenager. But who knows maybe one of these day when I may just do it. That and depends on the size of my wallet. LOL

   



Q#15: What is the greatest accomplishment of your life?

A#15: I feel that my greatest accomplishment is the fact that I am able to have a wonderful family of my own.  Yeah, so I am here and it’s the greatest! 



Q#16: What do you value most in a friendship?

A#16: Trust. That I can trust that they have my back as I will always have theirs. When a friend is in need, no questions asked.



Q#17: What is your most treasured memory?

A#17: It would have to be when I witnessed the birth of my kids. It literally brought tears to my eyes.



Q#18: What is your most terrible memory?

A#18: When I first got my hand on a bb-gun, I think I was in fifth grade. I used it and shot a bird. I still remembered that scene till now. So when this question came up that’s the first thing I thought of . 



Q#19: If you knew that in one year you would die suddenly, would you change anything about the way you are now living? Why?

A#19: Of course I would change some things. For instance, more time would be spent with my family and friends.. Make the best of everything and anything I do from this point on. Make sure that my family will be okay when I’m gone. Absorb all the laughter and smiles from them as much as I can.




Q#20: What film or TV show makes you feel really hopeful each time you watch it (that you can get through anything life throws at you)?

A#20: In recent years I had an interest more and more in the history of the world and the wars that occurred. In particular: the war in Vietnam. There is a series on Netflix, named “The Vietnam War”. The suffering due to the impact of that war on not just the civilians but also the soldiers of both sides just makes you think. The children and families of war and what they endured are just horrific. It just makes you think what can be worst that trying to survive every second of your life. 




Q#21: What roles do love and affection play in your life?

A#21:I feel that it a major role at least for me and my family. I think it keeps all of us grounded and together. I see family that grew apart when this is missing in their life. So with love and affection comes supports and understanding as well which keeps the family intact 



Q#22: Why Do you do the things that you do? 

A#22: I don’t really like to listen to explanations when people ask me for favors. It’s not that I don’t care… when I agreed to, it kind of bugs me when people try to explain why they need my help. There’s no need imo…. 



Q#23: How close and warm is your family? Do you feel your childhood was happier than most other people’s? 

A#23:I do feel that my family are close. My parents are super awesome, we are not spoiled but we are happy and I feel that I have a lot growing up. I do feel fortunate the kind of childhood that I had.



Q#24: If you suddenly had $20,000 to spend on someone.. How would you spend it? (And...it can be for multiple people...you just can't spend it on yourself)

A#24: Supper easy! Most of it goes to school equipment for the kids, what is left goes to bills to relieve that stress on my wife and myself. LOL.




Q#25: What is the one improvement on yourself you know you can do now that you have been putting off? 

A#25: That would be prioritizing and organizing. I try to juggle too many things at once and most of the time not much gets done.   



Q#26: Complete this sentence: “I wish I had someone with whom I could share …”

A#26:My debts with… lol because I really don’t want to put a burden on anyone with it… maybe an invisible person.  




Q#27: What's the most important thing your close friends know about you?

A#27: That I am old school and respect the elders greatly.   




Q#28: What are the three things that frustrate you about other people? (Are there things that frustrate you before that they don’t now? Are there things about people in general that frustrate you before and now…or you’re not bothered?)

A#28: -Using “ISH” at the end of a word,(why!!!?)-Reply with an “I KNOW” after asking you something that they don’t know, (then why did you asked?)-And long explanations. (Then it will sound like an excuse)I used to get really frustrated with not having things in a routine such as eating a complete meal for diner (not just simple quick meal) or sleep at the right time etc. But I am not that way anymore with life being so hectic you kind of let it go. In general I just ignore those things that people use to bothered me with, just let it go and move on.



Q#29: What's an embarrassing moment in your life that you were able to get over? (Is there something that you still have yet to get over?)

A#29:I used to have this scar on my knee and was (for some reason) embarrassed for a long time when I have to wear shorts.

But that was super long ago.. Now a days… I tend to just go with it --- embarrassing or not. 



Q#30: When did you last cry in front of another person? By yourself?

A#30:Probably last week… I am not sure if it was 'a cry' but I get teary eyes a lot when movies or shows or anything that hits close to home… dealing with life, family, animals etc…




Q#31: What do your friends like about you best?

A#31:I guess the generosity and willingness to help.



Q#32: What, if anything, is too serious to be joked about?

A#32:I think among friends it should be okay to joke about anything as long as we all can laugh about it. But if it offend one person then that would be it.  




 Q#33: If you were to die this evening with no opportunity to communicate with anyone, what would you most regret not having told someone? Why haven’t you told them yet?

A#33: No regret of not having to say anything to anyone. Just sad to even think about not being able to be around longer.  



Q#34: Your house, containing everything you own, catches fire. After saving your loved ones and pets, you have time to safely make a final dash to save any one item. What would it be? Why?A#34: That would be my hard drive. Not because of the work but all the memories that is in it. I am still one of those that are not cloud based person yet. I should though.



Q#35: Of all the people in your family, whose death would you find most disturbing? Why?

A#35: My mom. I am one of those that find it hard to see love ones in hospital trying to hang on.. I was by my mom when she was struggling to breathe on her last day and it was supper hard.   




Q#36: What’s your theme song?

A#36: Not too sure.. this is actually a hard one… never thought about it.   





Cuong is an illustrator who lives in Rosemead and doesn't have an issue whatsoever in watching drummers work in the studio for hours. Of course this means if you're a drummer you should send him an invite to your next recording session.




Note: I've only used Cuong's first name for privacy. If there is a part of this post that you would like to pick his brain about, let me know and I will arrange an introduction (To date he is open to people reaching out).   
 




Photo by Bill Green



  --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 





Would you like to do the next one? You just let me know your best email address  and I’ll send you the question template to fill in. Your mini-bio would be your anonymised name (You can pick…or let me pick for you --- that is if you would appreciate an introduction, but just prefer I  do it privately.  However, if you are open to link to your site, Twitter/Instagram feed...then I will keep your name and link to  those feeds!), age, city and some quick facts about you (2-3 sentences)  that you have not yet revealed while answering the questions.    
 




 As I am a big supporter of privacy, you have the option of giving an approximation of your age or the generation you belong to (example: 'Young Millenial').   



 If you've already completed the exercise, you are more than  welcome to link to your post (whether or not it is  on Steemit) as a comment (just hit the reply button in-line with the social sharing links)!    




Also...If you think I should switch any of the questions  with something else...go for it. Feedback is welcome here.        




 
 

Previous posts from this series:     



 For upvoting, I had heard from Steve Clark, that it is better to upvote posts that are less than 7 days old. So if you would like to be sure I get rewarded, head here to see newer posts.        



 After reading this post (specifically item one), I've decided to include links for verification so any of the witnesses can confirm that I am me! :)   #1 - Here's a tweet linking to one of my Steemit posts #2 - Here's a page on my site with a Tweet from my handle embeded #3 - Here's my Thrive Feed(that links to my site, which links to my Twitter feed...which links to my Steemit feed...)   



Posts Index:        

  • Stories from The Moth
  • Viewer Timestamp Commentaries
  • The Pun Collection (Pizza or Diner)
  • Cinematic Shots
  • Meet A - Individuals answer 36 questions for you to get more of a glimpse about them. 
  • The Poster Collection - If 1,000 people came up to me to ask to put anything I wanted ton their walls...these are among the ones you'll find. 
  • The Trailer Collection     - even if I rarely watch them, I still find films I end up watching     browsing through distributor and production YouTube Channels. 
  • Writer References -   I am constantly stretching myself as a writer and even if a   writing exercise doesn't end up for the public's consumption, I feel   like it still contributes in every way. (Here's another screenplay entry)
  • Entries that should have been published elsewhere. Thinking about it this and this could have been more of a fit for my Thrive feed.



Search Terms: Gen-X / Connection /  The Experimental Generation of Interpersonal Closeness: A Procedure and Some Preliminary Findings  /  interpersonal closeness / Arthur Aron /  Getting To Know You / Spouse / Parent / Leveling Up / Offline Backup / Debt Journey

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65935.31
ETH 3015.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75