Ulog: My NYSC Camping Experience

in #story6 years ago

20180423_084804.jpgWhy do we have to go through such punishment???
Why do we have to go through such stress???
Is this what we get for graduating the university/polytechnic?

It feels great to be back on steemit, I've been away from a month and it felt like a century. I must say I really do miss steemit.. Wonder where I've been all this while????
I went camping, a 3 weeks NYSC orientation camp where I'd like to call prison. Hahaha!

NYSC(National Youth Service Corps) - a scheme of 3 weeks imprisonment and 11 months of community service. Yes, that's the reward you get for becoming a graduate after struggling your way through approximately 21/22 years in the decaying Nigerian educational system.
Welcome to Nigeria!!!
20180421_073825.jpg
20180421_073836.jpg
In the prison(camp), we're meant to put on only white. (White short and a white t-shirt) except on ceremonial days. We were given numbers which we must carry with us at all times.

The experience wasn't as bad as it sounds though. It's safe to say I was only exaggerating.
It was a bittersweet experience, I made a wholesome lot of new friends, partied hard, shared a room with 29 other strangers who became close friends in such a short period. Sounds fun right? Wait till you hear the horrifying part of it.
20180421_063850.jpg

Everyday, we have to assemble on the parade ground at 5am for morning drill which means we'd have to wake up at 4:30 to one annoying trumpet sound at a time the sleep just started kicking in.


Imagine waking up to this sound everyday for 21 days 😢😢😢.
3 weeks of living with soldiers, the worst part was my room was next to the soldier's. What on earth could be worst than that???

The network coverage was so awesome that I could barely have access to the internet and to make matters worse, there was no socket, or extension boxes or any access to electricity aside from the light bulbs and ceiling fans in the hostels which means I couldn't get my phone charged in my room. We had to pay to get it recharged at the mame market.

5am - 7am: we stand on the parade ground listening to all sorts of boring announcements, meditation speeches and then morning drills and exercises (aerobics) which was the only fun part of it.

Afterwards, we go for breakfast, then return to the annoying parade ground at 9am. For some boring ass 5-hours lecture about only God knows what!!!!

Go for lunch and siesta at 2pm and back again at 4pm for some marching rehearsals and other
competition training like football, volleyball, tennis and other board games.. I love playing Scrabble so that's where you'd always find me. And sometimes we're on the man O war field doing some man O war drills
E (634).JPG
NET (261).JPG
By the way, I forgot to add we were grouped into platoons based on the code numbers given to us.

Afterwards, we go in for dinner, then the night life comes alive (my favourite). I spend most of my evening time in the famous mame market filled with almost everything you need; bars, restaurant, laundry services, video game centers and so many more as long as you have your money because things there are extra expensive20180430_204752.jpg just one of those nights drinking palm wine and guniness stout while watching the Uefa champions league. The fun ends by 9pm and light out starts 10pm.

Same routine every freaking day for 2 weeks.
And here comes the last week of the orientation camp life. I couldn't just wait to step my foot outta that place! Unfortunately, that was the most filled week of the whole camping experience.
It was filled with competitions; football, volleyball, marching parade, debates, parties with different stars coming to perform, carnival, beauty pageant, MR. Macho and finally the camp fire night which was the final night.

IMG_20180505_112444_8CS.jpg
Dressed up as the famous Eyo(Lagos masquerade) on the day of carnival

20180505_102904.jpg on the day of carnival before wearing my Eyo custume
20180507_233409.jpg
A picture with the beauty queen and a close friend Amina

And finally the camp fire night

Dancing round the fire with Amina!

At long last, we're out of prison and done with our first phase of NYSC service.
The next phase is working at a PPA(Place of Primary Assignment) for an allowance famously called ALAWEE that's close to nothing. APPROXIMATELY 50$ monthly which can't even cover for my transport fare and feeding to and fro to my PPA and back home for a month. I wonder how I'll survive this.

I can't help but wonder, what exactly is the essence of this service. What positive impact does this NYSC scheme have on the economy of Nigeria. How can it help improve the security challenges??? How can it reduce the alarming rate of unemployment and poverty in the country.!!!
I'm still yet to find an answers to these questions

By the way, I'm yet to be accepted in my PPA, I'll get to know my fate tomorrow.
Wish me Goodluck!!!
IMG-20180510-WA0015.jpeg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66367.17
ETH 3007.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71