Admirers On The Train: A Short Story

in #story6 years ago (edited)

The first moment I ever saw her step onto the train I sensed her alluring aura and felt my gaze drawn to her graceful beauty.

Each time I see her, she gets on at the same train station and onto the same train car-- that's why I began doing the same. We've traveled our daily commutes in the same train car for the past few weeks now, and I find myself anticipating and looking forward to seeing her there. It's not as if I am stalking her, it's only that I've been intrigued by her loveliness since the first moment I saw her.

Once again she steps through the open doors and into the train car I am in and I feel the pull of her grace and loveliness.
The doors rapidly close behind her and she situates herself facing me a few seats away. I don't understand why I feel my pulse quicken by her presence whenever it shouldn't since I encounter many attractive women in my day to day life.
Yet I can hardly seem to keep my gaze away from the delicate features of her face and the cascading waves of her blonde hair as she looks out the window.

I am only a few stops away from where I need to get off, and each time after seeing her again I wish I didn't have to.
I've thought on how our age difference cannot be that much--me a man in my early thirties and her looking to be in her late twenties-- and I often cannot help but entertain the thought of actually getting to know her outside of a daily commute train ride.
The train lurches slightly in its movement and she turns away from the window to look around. Her gaze falls on me and I realize I have been looking her way without realizing it.
At the same time that I feel an urge to turn my gaze away out of slight embarrassment I also do not want to look away from her beauty at all.
Then she slowly smiles and I feel my pulse skip and quicken. I then avert my gaze and swallow hard.
Why I am I feeling this way? She's a complete stranger and yet I have felt so caught up in my attraction for her, unlike any other woman I've encountered.
In a way, I feel almost agitated and angry with myself; if I truly am feeling this way simply from her presence, why do I never take action?

The train arrives at the next stop and my breathing feels unsteady and I feel a burning inside of my chest.
One more stop before I get off.
I stand up and walk in her direction, while the train stands still, stopping a few feet in front of her and reaching out to grab the metal bar for balance.
Then I command myself to have the courage to look across the few feet between us at her.
"Hi," I feel the words already sticking in my throat, but I force them to keep coming out, "We've never officially met, but I've noticed you on the train before and I think you are lovely."
For a moment that feels so long I can't believe the words have left my mouth, but the way she smiles back at me as she sways with the movement of the train causes me to feel a rush of adrenaline from speaking to her.
"I've noticed you too," her voice is smooth and sweeter than I imagined, and she gazes up at me with curious and smiling eyes.

The train slows to a stop once again. "Is this your stop?" The questions she asks is not one I want to hear because I want to stay with her longer.
"Yes, it is," the doors slide open and I feel pulse racing from the conversation, "I hope to see you again soon."
The evening sunlight pours in through the doors and catches her golden hair in it's light, and I try to force myself to walk off.
But she walks towards the doors first.
"I've always wanted to stop here and explore," she turns back to look at me with a small smile on her face as she walks out.
With a small smile of my own, I follow her.

This is my first time ever sharing a small snippet of one of my short stories on Steemit!
Along with music, traveling, art, and learning new things I love to write
💗
I may share the Part 2 of the story that I've shared today, it's just all a new experience sharing some of my writings and stories with everyone here so I'm still making that decision!

Thanks for reading!
Sarah Nicole ❤

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Wait! I was into the story. Yes, please post the rest of it. I’m curious to find out if they end up together or not

Posted using Partiko iOS

Haha, thanks Ken!
I think I will share Part 2 soon when I find the time to 😏

Hello @lifetipsbysn, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68874.67
ETH 3743.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72