Somewhere In Between - Part XI

in #story7 years ago (edited)

nature-2576204_1280.jpg

I realized I still had myself tightly wrapped around Cody and pulled away, just then realizing the expression on his face. It was as if he couldn't think to be happy the man was gone or be terrified he was left with me. I didn't blame him... I seemed like a freak right now.

I wasn't sure what to do. I would explain.. But I had nothing to explain.. "I'm... sorry." I said, running out of the room.

Cody followed me and grabbed my hand. "For?" He said quietly, finding his voice. I stopped. "I..." I paused and looked at him. "Don't know..." He shook his head. "I'm sorry for being a bit freaked out, but how else to you expect me to react to that?"

He had a point. "And, you know" He continued, "It's pretty obvious you yourself don't have any idea about what's going on." I smiled. "You haven't even known me for a whole day and yet you can read me better than most people."

"That's an insult." He said giving me a serious look. And then he hugged me. Not knowing what else to do, I hugged him back. He held me really tight and waited a while before speaking.

"Jessica, you could've died tonight." He said still holding me very tight. "Do you know how much you scared me?" I wasn't sure what to say, and tried parting but he didn't let me go. "I don't care what you did as long as you're not hurt."

There was an awkward pause. "But really, don't ever do that.. for anyone.. I don't care that I've known you for less than a day because from when I first heard your voice, I knew how you were.." He paused again. "I sound pretty creepy right now, but I mean what I say."

He held me for another minute or so before letting me go. As much as I thought that was creepy, it really was sweet. I decided not to comment on that.

He looked back at the shattered window. "You should go do whatever you do on that." He smiled. I walked up to it and pressed my finger upon the window and all the broken glass put itself back in place as if nothing has ever happened.

"Let's not tell anyone any of this happened?" I asked, flumping down on my bed. "Let's not." Cody repeated. I glanced at the time, 8:54pm. "Oh shit, you have to go!" I said leading Cody out of my room. And that's when I heard my mom's car pull up in the driveway.

"Oh no." I said leading him back in my room.

"What now?" He asked.

"I don't kno---" I cut myself off and walked over to the window and opened it. I heard the car door shut which meant she was on her way to the front door.

"Go, go, go!" I said helping Cody out my window.

"It's a real good thing we're not on the second floor." Cody said, smirking at me. "Isn't it?" I said sarcastically. "That's why some stalker man broke through my window and almost killed me!"

"Maybe not such a good comment." He said. I lightly laughed. He waved. I waved back, watching him walk away. Hell of a night tonight was...

(Image on the cover taken from Pixabay)

Sort:  

Congratulations @lightvision! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61258.08
ETH 2873.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56