Two-Sided: Chapter I

in #story6 years ago

Fake right, go left. Spin. Keep the ball. Keep it close. Dribble. Breakaway, shoot...

"GOAL!" The announcer yelled over the loudspeaker. "There goes our star, Mara Hogue, for another goal. Michigan just can't seem to stop her."

"That's our girl." Duncan said beside me.

"She needs to be more aggressive." Devin said to him.

She's playing like she needs to. I thought but it wasn't worth saying because Mara's twin brothers, though caring, didn't understand the beautiful game. Or how beautifully Mara played it. They were both offensive lineman for Ohio State, the same school Mara played for. The best linemen the school had ever seen. The quarterback this season was just okay, but because no defense could get through the twins, the team was undefeated. So everything to them needed to be more aggressive.

But Mara, when she played soccer, was a fucking vision. I had always thought so since she first kicked my ass when we were ten.

I looked at her run down the field toward her teammates to celebrate another goal. Her copper red hair tied tight in a ponytail streaked like a flash across the green field. Her freckled face lit up, smiling and flushed from sprinting, her hazel eyes bright from excitement.

"You miss playing?" My brother Matt asked from my left side mistaking the longing on my face.

"Yeah." I simply stated in return.

We had continued to play soccer together through middle school. She could always out maneuver me even though I ran faster. We had to separate in high school; you know, the whole boy/girl thing, but practiced together when we could.

"At least there's only a couple games left for the season. Then she'll be free to play the indoor league with you through the winter."

"And intramural during the spring before she has to start conditioning for next season."

Mara was on the sidelines now, taking a break from her last effort. She looked up in the stands. Tonight was a rare night when her brothers didn't have a game and my brother was back in town. I knew who she was looking for.

She spotted me first, smiled, then waved. Then she found Matt, blushed, and looked down. We both waved back.

I knew why she was blushing. It still broke my heart thirteen years later. I had my first love and heartbreak when I was ten. When I fell for Mara and realized she fell in love with Matt.

"Tyler, I'm getting married." Matt said quietly.

I turned to look at Matt, stunned. He didn't look at me and continued to stare at Mara. It was as evident to Matt as it was to me that Mara loved him. Only Matt thought it was just a crush. If she had half the love for Matt that I did for her, then I knew it was more than a simple crush.

"Don't tell her until next month." I said turning back to look at Mara. She was laughing at something a teammate had just said. Her full, lush mouth in a wide smile. My heart already ached for the hurt to come, for her to feel. The same way I had been feeling for so long.

"I know. I won't mess up your plans for her birthday.  Although, this could be the push she needs to finally see you as more than a friend slash competitor." The only person who didn't know I was in love with Mara was Mara. And Mara didn't realize everyone knew she loved Matt.

"She can be so frustratingly oblivious!" I yelled pulling at my hair, making my Mohawk stick up even more, and getting some odd looks thrown my way.

Matt chuckled lightly with that annoying half grin he used. "But that's what you like about her. She’s focused on a goal. That goal is just happens to be soccer."

And you. I added in my head.

"Well, you better start acting like your normal goofball self or she'll notice something is up." Matt continued.

"Right. You ready?"

"As ready as I'll ever be.” He shook his head. “I'm too old for this shit, man."

"Yup, you are definitely old. But it’s for Mara." I answered and smiled at her. She was facing the field watching the last part of the game.

"Right."

I turned to Duncan and Devin. "Ready?" I asked them. They had the same red hair and wide mouth as Mara’s but that’s where the similarities ended. They were big and broad where Mara was petite but athletic.

"Hell yeah!" Devin replied

"Mara!" Duncan yelled. And we all took off our shirts.

Image Source

Sort:  

This post has received gratitude of 5.14 % from @appreciator thanks to: @lightvision.

Congratulations @lightvision! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61745.50
ETH 2898.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61