Two-Sided: Chapter III (b)

in #story6 years ago




"Hey Ty. Trying to hide over here for a while?" Devin asked when I made it to the bar.

"Yeah. How'd you guess?"

"Well, Casey isn't exactly being subtle about it." Duncan said from his other side. "But I don't mind helping you out." He said and turned to Casey and waved at her. She had apparently been following me with her eyes to the bar. She scoffed at Duncan and turned back to talk to Mara.

Casey, not Cassie; I made a mental note; said something to Mara looking angry. Mara just shrugged at her and said something back. Cassie/Casey looked at me with a weird expression. She turned back to Mara, said something, picked up her coat and left.

I could only sigh in relief. Honestly. I had barely looked at her. All I could remember was brown hair? Maybe?

"Damn it. Why can't Mara ever help her brother out?" Duncan said. "She was hot. It was completely wasted on you, Ty."

"I know."

"Good thing I just bought us a round of jaeger bombs then." Devin said turning away from the bar and walking back to the table.

"Whoo! O-H!" Duncan yelled.

"I-O" the bar yelled back.

"Casey had to leave." Mara said as we got back. "I know you're really upset about it."

"Completely broken up that Cassie didn't want to stay." I answered her.

"Casey." She glowered

"Whatever."

"I told her not to take it personally. You're just a manwhore anyway. How many this month?"

Only one if you would. For the rest of my life. I held my hand over my heart and acted wounded. "How can she speak to her best friend this way?" I asked around the table, feigning innocence.

"Because she's right." Matt answered

"You are a manwhore." Adam chimed in.

“You’re one to talk.” I threw back at Adam

"And I salute you both!"

"We should all be so lucky!"

The last two were said by the twins, of course.

"In salute to the man I aspire to be, I provide all of you with jager bombs.” Devin announced as the server brought over the shots and started passing them out.

"And another beer for me." Mara told the server. "And when's the food going to get here? I'm starving! I did just win a soccer match, in case anyone forgot."

"Yeah, yeah. What happened to soccer being a team sport?" I asked

"I’m not saying I did it alone. I'm just saying, I'm hungry." The server came back with two more beers for Mara and me.

"You may have won your soccer match, but you'll never win against me chugging beer."

"Matt, would you count us down?" Mara asked.

"I don't miss these days." Matt said shaking his head.

"Yeah you do. Just count, old man." I said.

Matt counted and we were off. I beat her again, but just barely.

When Mara finished she let out a large burp.  

"That's our baby sis." Duncan said

"Now let's see how you do after one of these." Devin handed her the shot.

"Better than you." She answered. "You know I can drink you under the table."

"You can't drink me under the table.” I whispered in her ear. She started to flush the way she usually does with Matt. Odd.

She seemed to recompose herself, and the flush started to fade. "True. You're the only guy who can out drink me. So let’s see what you got tonight."

We all said a quick cheers for Ohio and threw back our shots.


Image Source

Sort:  

This post has received a 7.33 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @lightvision. Send at least 1 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Congratulations @lightvision, this post is the eighth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Newbie account holder (accounts that hold between 0.01 and 0.1 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by newbie account holders during this period was 2987 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $1161.97. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64060.81
ETH 3129.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17