You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Spinoza - Theology and Politics and John Locke - Liberalism and Democracy

in #story6 years ago
A major contribution to political theory is also the Spinoza 's teaching on the Freedom of Man in a natural and civil state (as a citizen of the state). He first defines freedom as a conscious necessity, including the nature of the country's (and its laws) The state can not regulate everything if it does not want to take away what man makes him. It can regulate his actions, but not his thinking.

Also, he delineates the relationship between master and slave, which serves as base to Hegel's negative dialectics.

I would't say his treatise proposed a similar understanding of State as Hobbes, though.

Spinoza is one of my favourite philosophers, I think his work is a very intricate, complex (and incredibly beautiful) philosophical system and he's influenced authors I also like, such as Hegel and Nietzsche. I love the fact that all my favourite philosophers are somehow connected: Spinoza was an avid reader of Machiavelli and Giordano Bruno.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 67352.29
ETH 3501.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.22