Warning: DO NOT LOOK AT THE MOON

in #story6 years ago (edited)

image

"BEEP! BEEP! BEEP"!

The sound cut through the night, sharply, like a knife. I groan rolling over to my right, facing the nightstand, with my head still foggy with sleep. I open my eyes just enough to make out the sillouhette of my lamp and fumbled for its offending, pulling it down gently. My hand finally found its way to my phone and I immediately tilted the screen towards me while my thumb search for the power button. The bright light from the phone's screen sends lancing pain into my eyeballs as I tried to read. An official looking alert glared at me saying, "DO NOT LOOK AT THE MOON," as if scolding me for an act that had never crossed my mind. I clicked the message and it only said that, nothing else and no reason why. I rolled my eyes, "Why would I want look at the moon? I was asleep for goodness sake!" I murmured, annoyed at the fact that I woke up only to find a message that could have been some sort of prank for all I care. Just as I had moved to set the phone down, it let out another beep. I opened it and a white textbox appeared saying: "It's a beautiful night tonight! Go out and see for yourself!"

"What the--"

The phone sent out a series of beeping and vibrations as the screen showed notification after notification from close friends and people that I had never heard of. The sleep finally lifted from my eyes as my brows furrowed in confusion. I quickly opened yahoo to check for trending news headlines and apparently...

ONCE IN A LIFETIME ASTROLOGICAL EVENT!

Said one headline..

MILLIONS OF PEOPLE FLOCK OUTSIDE TO LOOK AT THE MOON IN ALL ITS GLORY.

Said another..

I sat up while staring it my phone, torn between the alert message and the texts from my friends. The alert message obviously said not to but so many were looking at it, messaging and tweeting to other people about it so-- it's not doing any harm to them is it?
I stood up from my bed, curiousity finally winning out, and grabbed my camera. I walked outside in my pajamas, the brisk night air brushing up over my shoulders in reassurance. I looked up to where presumably the moon was and my breath caught up mid-scream in my chest as my eyes stared wide in horror as they traveled helplessly over huge, menacing black ships.

"Invasion-!"

The words struggled its way up my throat but died pitifully on my lips as green light bathed me in calm. My face tansformed into a happy, almost giddy smile as I pulled out my phone and began to type:

"The moon is so beautiful tonight, guys! Go check it outside!"

Then I hit send.


The inspiration for this was actually from a writing prompt I found on pinterest >///<.

Photocredit: https://www.express.co.uk/news/science/938226/Blue-Moon-2018-when-is-Easter-blue-moon-full-moon-March

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61955.50
ETH 2904.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71