"A Line Cook's Nightmare" and "Going Full Predator" - My Fall 2017 Film School Reel

in #story6 years ago (edited)

Screenshot 2018-01-03 17.40.44.png

Hi ya'll, I've just finished the fall 2017 semester of film school over here at MCTC in Minneapolis, MN. It’s my first semester in the program too. It’s been a whacky time being back in school after graduating from another university more than 7 years ago, but I’d like to share with you the production projects that I made. Project 1 was an exercise, but the second projects were produced based off of scripts that I wrote while in my screenwriting class. I hope you enjoy!

Project 1

This is a project that is meant to show how film can convey a lengthy series of events in a short amount of time, due to the magic of editing! Let me tell you, that getting people to agree to be on camera and subject themselves to your command as a director is NOT EASY. So for my first project I caught my room mates in the act of rearranging the house. The little 3 year old Theo steals the show!

Project 2 - Full Predator

Project 2 was my first shot at a narrative. I was walking down the trail near the Mississippi River one day in Fall and had a strange experience coming around a bend where someone broke the horizon at the same time on the other side of the trail, which was strange or some reason… and it made me think of a stand off, like in Westerns. This resulted in the idea of a chase… The name comes from the critique discussion we had in my screenwriting class of the script. The transformation of the main character, Shelby, was described by on of the my classmates as “Going full predator,” like the Arnold Schwartzenager movie.

Final - Ticket Time - A Line Cook's Nightmare

I work as a line cook. I’ve had line cook nightmares for years and decided that I would adapt them into a story. This was filmed with two cooks from my first line cook job, at Tao Natural Foods Café in Minneapolis.

During the filming of this final project, before I was able to shoot the last days material, someone broke into my car and stole a bunch of the gear I was using! I WAS CRUSHED!!! Suffice it to say, the project was only partially finished. I was able to edit it together so that the story comes across, but I’m missing critical components!!!! Maybe one day I’ll finish it, but I’ve been lamenting the incident ever since and reconsidering my feelings about film entirely as a result. I love stories and the medium of film. I’ll keep you updated about how these things change. The next semester begins in 5 days, and I plan to go the first week to see how I feel, which is exactly how I began the previous semester! Whacky world everybody. Stay steemy.

Sort:  

This post has received gratitude of 0.16 % from @appreciator thanks to: @wolfcat.

Yippeee! It was fun to watch the magic in action :) Excited for more projects to be revealed!

Awesome work amigo! Excited to see more from you in the future! :)

Cool! I follow you. +vote

Congratulations @mbbarr! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66367.17
ETH 3007.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71