Social Anxiety - An Inconvenient Handicap

in #story6 years ago

I would just like to start by saying that every aspect of feedback that i receive on Steemit gives me this nice warm satisfying feeling which alters my state of mind and ultimately sways my perception and enhances my introspection. Whether it be in the form of an up-vote, a comment, or watching that little counter at the bottom of my post slowly increase as i wrestle with the notion that potentially dozens of people (and probably some robots) had somehow stumbled across and read what i had typed.

You may be able to tell from the strange, dark, and sometimes contrasting posts on my Steemit that i am what i could personally best describe as a period of rapid mental growth. At the current age of 23, a few weeks from graduating with a degree in Psychology, a course which i spent the last 5 years of my life distracting myself with even though it wasn't far into the course when I realized that this was not for me. It wasn't that i didn't like Psychology, in fact i loved it, the problem was that i could never visualize myself working in the field in its typical fashion.

There is probably great deal of reasons why Psychology in its current format did not seem particularly desirable to me as a means of attaining monetary success. I have come to realize that the greatest of reasons stems from the overwhelming social discomfort that i experience on a regular basis and why it makes any obstacle related to social interaction appear as enormous in comparison to one perceiving that obstacle without the handicap that is Social Anxiety.

I'd like to write more about my own messed up mind, if for whatever reason you'd also like to read more stuff like this please let me know as all comments and suggestions are craaazily encouraging and very warmly received. Also, if you prefer longer pieces (like my supernatural story) or even poems( i got of one of them posted too), I dont mind writing and posting more stuff like that either. Hope you found some enjoyment out of my little ramble, till next time!

MD

Sort:  

As a longtime sufferer of social anxiety I can relate to this a lot, the key thing is to remember there are many others who are just like, stay strong :-)

Upvoted and Followed :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62699.43
ETH 2963.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61