Deadlier Than The Male – Exclusive for Steemit – the introduction of Shapeshifters into my storiessteemCreated with Sketch.

in #story8 years ago (edited)

Phillipe, Nichasin and Christoph were sent home as soon as they had buried Sebastian. Anton and Hazel walked in the woods for a while, with Hazel weeping on occasion. Once she stood and howled in bitter despondence. Anton was for once, at a loss. He stood and watched and when she sank to the ground, he crouched to put his arm around her; it was all he could do.

“That was only my first wasn’t it?” Hazel asked him.

“Yes, the first of many.”

“It hurt Anton, it hurt so badly! I felt him as he went. He was filled with relief; he soared. I am grateful for that much at least. But my heart is wounded. Will it always be this way?”

“Hazel, I am sorry, but I don’t know the answer to your questions. I wish I did, I want very much to help you, but all I can do is be here and listen to you. I can tell you why this happened to him though; do you think that would help you?”

“Yes I want to know everything please.”

So Anton told her. They found a grassy river bank lit by the new sun, they watched the birds flitting across the fields beyond the river and occasionally they saw a rabbit or other small animal and Anton talked.

“As Sebastian knew, his father was Wolf. He should not have been born, it is only very infrequent that a Wolf male will mate with a Hume, but if he does then almost never will a child be the result. If a child does arrive then it is very rare for it to survive. Sebastian was more exceptional than we could imagine.

“Because he was only half-Wolf, he did not feel the moon’s influence as we do, he didn’t change to Wolf at every full moon, as we all have to at the beginning. As he noticed, only four in a year affected him – one for each season. Also he did not need to kill Humes when he changed, animal prey was sufficient. That is, I suppose, another trait of a half-Wolf. I am not certain if he killed a Hume on his first Wolfing, indeed he did not seem to remember exactly what he killed, but nevertheless, he survived, his mother must have loved him enormously.

“When he killed the boy and his lover he realised what he was capable of and even more so when he met the other Wolf.” Anton said.

“I thought his rescuer would be a Wolf. I also think he may have been his father.” said Hazel.

“That should be the only explanation. His father may have been watching all those years but only his father would have had difficulty in killing him when he realised he was throwback. Only his father would have given him Wolfsbane to prevent him from changing too. I do not know where the Wolf went to or even why he would be in partnership with a Hume but I would guess the Wolf was killed for he had invested much in Sebastian and to leave him to the mercies of the Hume seems against the grain.

“You remember we discussed the effects of glands on a throwback?” Anton waited for Hazel to realise he was asking, not just chatting to her.

“Yes. Of course, pituitary would cause regress in a throwback and make him younger.”

“That’s exactly right. I think the Hume he killed; the one he told us that he ‘went up through his throat’? He must have taken the Pituitary gland with that. He must have been so very angry to go so deep. In a way, Hazel he was very lucky that we discovered him. From how much younger he was this morning to last night; I would guess that by the next moon he would have been a babe in arms. I shudder to even imagine how much further he could have got.”

Hazel had started weeping again.

They made their way home at a gentle pace over that day and the next. Hazel was still traumatised by the kill. It was not like when she killed Humes, this went deeper, and it was so much more personal. Talking with Anton, she was learning new and sometimes horrifying facts about throwbacks. In Celtic legend they were sometimes called ‘Berserkers’, harnessed pets for War Lords who would send them in to battle first in order to horrify the enemy. Adrenal reactant throwbacks were less rare than any other throwback type. Anton supposed that this was because adrenalin is a more reactive chemical than the others, it gives an instant boost under normal circumstances and therefore if a throwback is over-reactive to it, it gives out even more violent boost.

Hazel was coming to terms with her newfound role by the time they reached the grounds of Francois’ estate. As they approached the house, Diana walked out to meet them.

“Good afternoon Diana.” Anton said as she neared them.

“Grandfather, I am so sorry, but Hazel can’t be welcome at the house any longer. Phillipe has told us how she attacked him and wounded him. Although Nichasin and Christoph have painted a slightly different picture to the one Phillipe does, I can’t take a stranger’s side over my son. Please do not be angry with Francois and I grandfather, we love you dearly, but we also have to love our son, he still needs us, though he would tell you different.” Diana pleaded.

“Diana, beloved, I don’t hold this against you and I will not say Phillipe is a liar, he is not, but he embellishes the truth somewhat. Hazel did not attack him in the way he has portrayed to you. She was under a great deal of provocation but I cannot justify her threat on him and as Phillipe’s mother you are bound to side with your son. I will however give you warning. Phillipe is devious and egotistical, he believes that he is the most important Wolf and I fear for you because he will get support from other devious and egotistical sycophants and you will be in danger. Heed me and take care granddaughter. I take it that my carriage is ready and prepared?”

“Yes it is grandfather. I cannot heed your warning as I have an unbreakable bond to my son. I can’t think ill of him even though I can’t think ill of you. I have had your carriage prepared and you have sustenance aboard. Nichasin offered to drive the carriage and he is coming with you. Christoph wants to stay here.”

“Give your mother my love too granddaughter. Goodbye.” Anton said as he took Diana’s face in his hands and kissed her forehead.

Diana turned and went back into the house, as Anton’s black carriage appeared, drawn by a team of six magnificent jet-black horses. Nichasin was driving but he was not liveried as a driver would be, he too was all in black.

“We drive for Hungary to Juliet’s home?” Nichasin asked. Anton nodded as they got in.

“But I thought we were going to Italy?” Hazel whispered.

“We are; Nichasin knows it too. He must have said that for a reason, give him time, he will tell us.”

They drove hard for a few hours then Nichasin allowed the horses to slow to a steadier pace. Then not long after, he slowed them and pulled them up at an Inn. Hazel made to get out but Anton held her back with a hand on her arm. After a few minutes, Nichasin came back and opened the door. Hazel saw a young and terrified lad was holding the lead horse. The boy was comforted a little when Hazel smiled at him but Anton seemed to worry him again as he stepped out. Hazel looked at Anton to see he was frowning. Nichasin showed them the way into the inn where a plate of food was awaiting each of them. When they had finished their meal, Nichasin said, “We are not staying here, we are exchanging the horses and carriage for good riding horses. I have offered a sum of money to the innkeeper whom I trust. He will keep the carriage and six and send them on to us when I let him know where we are.”

“But the carriage horses are still fresh, can we not go further with them?” Hazel asked.

“No. We cannot use the carriage. It is too conspicuous, a luxurious carriage and six magnificent horses is sure to attract attention wherever we go, whereas men travelling on horseback will not.” Anton explained.

“Are we being pursued Anton?” Hazel asked.

“I don’t think so at the moment but I do not trust Phillipe, especially now his mother has so obviously given him her backing by telling me to take you away. I think he has supporters waiting for such a time as he will be ready to strive for Lycaeonship. This means gathering an army in order to overthrow Victoria and then me. But first and foremost however, his mother, whom I have already warned, and his grandmother, Juliet are both in danger. Did you send word as I requested Nichasin?”

“I did my Lord, as soon as I got back from our mission, I also made sure Phillipe knew nothing about the messenger and that the messenger was not seen after he left me.” Nichasin assured.

“That’s good Nichasin. Now I think the innkeeper can do more for us. Instruct him to send the carriage on a long journey, towards the border with Germany. Any pursuit will be sidetracked for a while at least whilst we make good an escape. Do we have the cloaks and travelling packs?”

“They are being loaded onto the horses as we speak my Lord.”

“Excellent, come. We must be away immediately.” Anton stood and went for the door. “Could you package some of that excellent beef and some skins of your wine, Landlord if you would?” Anton said as they approached a large man.

“Certainly I shall sir.”

Nichasin paused beside the landlord and they had a short conversation before Nichasin joined Hazel and Anton outside in the yard.

The horses they were provided with looked dirty but well fed and cared-for otherwise. Anton inspected the horses’ feet, their eyes and their mouths. Nichasin stood waiting for him to finish his inspection.

“Do you know what you are looking for my Lord?” Nichasin asked.

“No I do not.” Smiled Anton, “But it is fortunate that you do.”

“Yes it is and I have already inspected these animals, not that I had any need to, they are sound and I am assured by a trusted friend that they are sure of foot and fast to boot. They only look filthy, we could do nothing to disguise their well-being but their clean coats were an instant give-away that they are expensive animals. Be assured they are clean under their saddles, these animals will not be getting saddle sores.”

Hazel whispered, “Where is the last horse? Are we waiting for it?”

“No Hazel shh.” Nichasin said.

“Thank you Landlord, you have done well with these animals. I will pay for my board tonight as I will be leaving very early tomorrow when another carriage arrives for me and will not disturb you when I leave, are you comfortable with that arrangement?” Anton said.

“I am my lord, as you wish.”

Then Anton bade Hazel and Nichasin farewell and went inside the inn. Hazel had mounted her horse and the landlord had gone to show Anton to his room but Nichasin waited, passing the reins of his horse to Hazel, he stood below a window. Anton appeared and threw out a bundle. Nichasin caught it then Anton dropped from the window, quite naked. Then he changed - but not into Wolf, he became a large dog, not unlike a Rottweiler.

Anton took the reins for his horse out of Hazel’s hand and she was dumbstruck by what she had seen. When Nichasin had mounted, he leaned over to her and said in a whisper, “Shape-shifting is very difficult, even for proficient Wolves like Anton, I believe not even his family know that he can do this, which is fortunate for us in this situation. He can disguise himself as a hunting dog and suddenly we are not three men on horseback we are two men on horseback with their hunting dog. I have been practicing hard with Anton tutoring me in the art of cloaking, I am better than I was but we still have to be careful. You I believe, are proficient?”

Hazel just nodded.

They walked their horses out of the yard in no great hurry – or so it would seem to anyone observing their departure. Anton followed a long way back until they were out of sight of the Inn.

They rode hard until it was getting dusk and too dark for the horses to travel in safety. The roads were well worn as tracks but it was too chancy to risk a broken leg.

They camped away from the road, took the saddles from the horses, groomed them with care and checked their feet. Then they settled to sleep without a fire to warm them but with Anton lying – still in dog form – between Hazel and Nichasin to give them the benefit of his warmth to their backs.

The following morning, Hazel changed Wolf – away from the horses - and caught two rabbits. Not much of a breakfast but better than nothing. When she got back she found Anton had also gone out and caught one. They found Nichasin waiting by their mounts with them saddled and ready to go.

As they were eating, Hazel asked, “Why are you still in that form Anton? Wouldn’t you be more comfortable as a Hume?”

“It is difficult for him to change from one to the other and therefore easier to stay the way he is, Hazel, also because has not had practice at this form, he cannot yet control his speech and therefore cannot answer you himself.”

“And Victoria does not know of this new skill, nor Diana, Juliet, Phillipe?”

“No one but you and I know Hazel. Anton has been trying for a number of years to discover the secret of ‘shape-shift’ magic.”

Anton barked once.

“Yes, I know Anton, I am sorry, it is not magic but I cannot explain it any other way.” Nichasin shook his head. “It is too fantastic, incredible to comprehend. Even though I know we, as Wolves are so powerful in strength and other skills, this is completely out of Legend for me. I never thought I would see someone shape-shift!”

“You understood Anton then?”

“No, but he has told me many times that it is not magic.” Nichasin shrugged.

They mounted their horses and began their journey south to Italy.

Images from Pixabay

Sort:  

Very cool excerpt! The pace of the story is cool, even more compelling now

Thank you, I'm glad you like it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69107.15
ETH 3882.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65