You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Escaping The Polar Vortex (Part 3)

in #story5 years ago

No wonder the car is beat up after so few miles, those roads are sculptures, and STEEP!!!

From your photos over the years I've come to see just what a beautiful place it is, and it looks like the post-hurricane restoration is much further along than your last trip.

Glad you a nice Pittie befriended you :-)), I've had one and 2 other family members have had several and they're such wonderful dogs. Truly have a bad rap...the dogs aren't the problem, people are and unfortunately they bear the price.

My Daisy:
IMG_1620.JPG

IMG_1621.JPG

Sort:  

It is crazy steep and there's a sheer drop off on one side (no guard rails)! Raymi and I were talking about the first year we had to drive up it, we were terrified.

The island is in much better shape now that it was a year ago but still has a long way to go. Sadly, a few of the businesses that survived the storms didn't survive the lull of business afterwards and were gone this year. Lecia told us many of the mangroves are dead now too because of petrol leaking from sunken boats. She said she hasn't seen a tropical bird or seagull in 1.5 years. It'll probably be decades before there's a full recovery. It's still beautiful though. I'm thinking we will eventually spend our winters there. I want to get my teaching (meditation) business built back up after HardFork is done and St. Thomas would be a great place for winter retreats. I'm thinking a concrete dome home might be the perfect structure here, they're definitely hurricane resistant.

What a cute dog! I wish I would've gotten a picture of the one that I encountered. She was about that size but her head was a little wider.

The destructive effects of the spilling oil and loss of business is really sad to hear. I just wish these kinds of difficulties didn't befall people and an ecosystem that has already just survived a huge hardship!

I love this idea of winter meditation retreats every year in St Thomas...life would be SO much better with more time in that beautiful place and especially with meditation as your endeavor wouldn't it?!! If I can afford it I'll be your first particiapant.

It is really unfortunate but I think enough of the ecosystem is in tact for it to bounce back eventually.

The more I think about the retreats, the more excited about it I get. Thank you! I will definitely let you know when we're ready to do the first one. We have a solid year's worth of work left on HardFork so I'm envisioning an early-to-mid 2020 timeframe. I'd like to get a mobile phone meditation app developed by then as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63510.21
ETH 3068.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81