Sort:  

I think no matter the situation biking on open roads will always be a little dangerous. Hope your friend heals quickly.

Thanks you. He is out of the hospital and on the road to recovery

I've also had many close calls like you have described, the only way to avoid this kind of crap is to expect the unexpected, and even then there will always be some creative traffic maneuver you haven't seen before.

I find it helps to have a front flashing light, once and awhile it gets noticed.

I rarely crack 50Km/hr here, no hills, and its asking for trouble if there is any kind of traffic to contend with.

For me, I always think of the hospital, its never a fun place to be.

front and back lights are the best for sure! I am pretty ocd about having them flashing whenever it is even slightly dark out, however this ride was in broad daylight so I'm not sure if it would have helped at all.

Test them out by watching someone else ride your bike, or use your lights on their bike, any decent light should be easily visible (even in bright sunny conditions) from at least 200 meters away. (mine light up street signs on cloudy days that are 200 meters away)

That said, lights only work if someone looks in your direction, if their head is buried in their smartphone, by the time they look up its already too late.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63096.55
ETH 3032.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69