Familiar Feeling

in #story6 years ago

rainy_pics.jpg

Its Tuesday morning- A cold and familiar morning. It had rained the previous day- It actually rained cat and dog towards the tail end of Monday evening.

As the weather began to transitioned from a familiar hot afternoon to an unusually mild and calm evening, I barely anticipated the down pour that was to come with it- Soon the atmosphere grew dark followed by intermittent bursts of thunderstorm. An heavy downpour looms large.

I soon became began to worry when after an hour, it continued to rain, with the the same alacrity with which it started, I quickly sensed that I will get home late as I had no car. Most of my colleagues that had cars had already gone home.

Minutes later The security on night duty came to my office, standing at the door, with an infectious smile on his face, Mr Dominic called out Evangelist- He fondly calls me. That was all he said, I knew it was time to lock and close for the day. I gaze through my window hoping that the rain may have come down, but I was disappointed to learn that it continues to rain with sustained fervor.

As I hesitantly lounge through the stairway, with one arm rolling over the silvery coated guard rails and with signs of worries etched all over my face, I head for the exit and Mr. Dominic led the way; as usual he was full humor, he said a few funny stuffs ; but I was not having it-I knew what I was heading into - A thunderstorm. This is a familiar situation-Days like these are predominantly rush hour - Never pleasing: There will be hold up, as well as fewer vehicles and plenty of passengers culminating in hike in transportation cost if any. It was one of those days where you'd rather be at home, basking at the comfort of your family; take a nice coffee, and savor the night rain.

While I continued out of the premises, I was greeted with blasts of air and modest, but constant down pour. It was indeed a rush hour. An hectic evening-I never plans for rainfall; People were pushing themselves in an attempt to edge their nearest competitor for an often limited position in the cab that had just stopped for a passenger to highlight: Most often, all the bustle turned out to be fruitless, as these cabs were going to directions contrary to those of the commuters-they were all avoiding a particular place- for the fear of certain traffic congestion.

I stood, seemingly numb to the thick droplets of rain that was bombarding me; The rain was getting intense all over again. I wondered if am up for this; I wasn't just a bewildered fellow gazing aimlessly around though. I made several frantic, but unsuccessful attempts to shove my way through to some of the cabs that stopped at the bus stop. While I stood and waiting hopefully in the rain, It dawn on me that This is going to be a long wait-I better get going I thought; after all, I am a physically fit and vibrant young man. Lemme walk some distance I resolved. But yet again, I was a little unsure. I thought of my shoes, my phones and my wrist watch-These re quite expensive stuffs by my own standard.

After minutes of pondering I took off my fancy necktie concealed my phones and wrist watch gave no thought for my shoes though, like a warrior ready for battle, I hit the road, I was walking on with palpable decisiveness-With my black thick suit, I walked elegantly like a soldier going to battle confident of victory. It turned out to be invigorating, As I continued walking, others were walking alongside me too, I was not alone-it was beginning to look like an exhibition .

I finally got the the place where all the cabs where afraid of - for fear of hold up.-It was a thickly congested place indeed. I could easily see why those cab drivers were so intransigent . Not even for a higher pay. As I made my way ticklishly passed the hold up, feeling more fortunate than those on-board the cabs that were held still by the traffic congestion.

As I got to the final bus stop, relieved that I'm almost home, I cunningly outsmart a young lady and jumped into the available cab, I sat at the front seat, unapologetic, hive a sigh of relieve, and journeyed home.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60947.53
ETH 2913.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56