Decade Old Driving License | It's Been 10 Short Years!

in #story6 years ago

I got my UAE Driving License at 21!


28695764_10155421829692151_364112231_o.jpg

REWIND: A Decade Ago

I was young and had no plan of taking driving license. I didn't even take Student Driving License in Philippines nor touched a steering-wheel. Well, I actually don't want long travel plus hate any type of car freshener and idea of traveling in aircon. ~~LOLS~~ I feel dizzy easily and tend to throw up every time we travel, Oohh... thanks to Bonamine but I cannot remember if it had an effect to me those days. ~~LOLS~~

My boss told me to take DL as it will be advantage for me and after series of talk, I had no choice but to take it. Luckily @arrliinn was also planning to take so we decided to enroll at Belhasa Driving Institute, recommended by our colleague. I can't remember the name of our instructor, hmmm... I think his name starts with A... ~~LOLS~~

We are working and staying in Abu Dhabi but our visa is in Dubai and back then, we are not allowed to take DL in other emirate aside from Dubai, where our visa was issued. We have to complete 6 classes a week, luckily the school allowed us to take our classes in 1 day, every Saturday. It is indeed a struggle waking up early every Saturday to travel to Dubai. We need to be there by 8:00 AM, please add the then almost 3 hours commute going there.

I passed after the Third Driving Test, I can barely recall my mistakes why I did not pass on the 1st and 2nd try. But I remember the policewoman made me pass 5 roundabouts and I was driving for 10 minutes while others were not even driving 1 minute. So I already assumed, I passed! Hahaha

After the Driving Test, my instructor told me to go to Admin as I failed the 3rd time and with broken heart, I went there with him. I was shocked when they told me I passed... I think happiness is not too obvious with my wide smile on my driving license. I got my license same day, 05 March 2008.

It's been 10 years ago!

I had my first car after 6 months... 23 September 2008, and named her MICHIKO, Beautiful, wise child. But Michiko did not last long, I had accident after 3 months exact.

It was 24th December 2008, our company had Christmas celebration and asked us to go home early. I left past 03:30 PM, with my mom and sister, we went home. Half-way through, in Al Ain-Abu Dhabi road, Mafraq area, a Pajero hit my left passenger side. It was sudden, all I remembered was my sister shouting my name.

It was a three-lanes road, I was driving in middle-lane, the area is under construction. I was hit at sharp-curve area of the detour. It was a slight hit but since she (the driver of Pajero) was in speed, my car was pushed to the third-lane. My mom and sister is at right side of the car and thinking that we might be hit again by another car from our right, I turned the steering-wheel to the left that I hit the barrier of the middle island. Also, there was construction after the third lane and I got afraid we might crossed the barrier and landed at the construction site.

It was terrifying experience that up to know, makes me feel anxious. I checked my mom and sister, they were fine but since my sister was not on seat belt, she hit her head on the door. She was okay, thank God! Because of the nervousness, I was not able to see how the other car was. My cousins came and they were able to take photo of what happened. They said the other car was totally damaged as it turned inside the middle island 2/3 times and hit 2 Dates Trees.

We were all rushed to Mafraq hospital and after series of tests they let us out but I have to go to Police Station because of the case. We were there more than 6 hours wondering what is taking so long. All my family came and we were all waiting there. At last at 02:00 AM, 25th December 2008, they allowed us to go home. They told to my cousin that I was lucky, the driver of other car is okay and has been released in the hospital. They said, they were not able to release me until they were sure that the lady is okay. I should have been behind bars that time but since I have all my family there, they just let me sit with them in the waiting area.

It was horrifying and thinking I could have been behind bars because of the accident that was not my fault, it scares the hell out of me. It was the worst Christmas Eve I ever had.

This is how Michiko looked like after the accident 😢
28767560_10155421863632151_1883463245_o.jpg

Poor baby!!! 😢😢😢 But still, we owe him our lives.

Filing Case


The case ran for a year after 3 appeals. Though I appealed for 3 times, the decision is still my fault. They concluded that I was changing lane carelessly and was not thinking about the safety of others.

Reasons translated to English:

  • Her fault as she was not concentrating
  • She damaged the body of the driver of other car, her mom and her sister because of not concentrating
  • All the cars damaged and the streets and the trees
  • She was driving the car while she was not taking any care of the other's safety

My car is fully insured and insurance took care all the payment but since I was under 25 years old then, I had to pay fine. As it already took a year and I already had 3 unsuccessful appeals, I have decided to just accept and close the case. My car was total wrecked and insurance paid me amount that covered the finance of the car.

Trauma After The Accident


Everyday I passed the accident area, I was nervous and sweating. I can even see what happened in my dreams that turned to nightmares. It was only after 3 months I hold again the steering-wheel, my cousin @sushieme insisted. But it took 5 months for me to drive on the accident area.

I cannot find exact word that can best describe how I felt on that accident. Worst words are not enough!

Driving Experience


Because of that incident, I lost heart in driving. I will only drive in one condition and that is If I have No Other Option!

In 2011, I slowly started driving again, whenever my sister is not available. I still had that nervous feeling that eventually left me after 2 years. Since 2013 when we had Gabby, that became my 2nd car, steering-wheels became my best friend again.

After A Decade


Now, I am more comfortable with steering-wheel and love having long drive even without Bonamine. 😅😅😅

Lesson Learned


That horrific experience has taught me a lot and here to name the few:

  • Safety First - Always... always... always... buckle your seat belt
  • Defensive Driving
  • Never go to Fast-Lane in detour area
  • Anyone can leave you, but never your family!

You will always have your family to support you, surely you will never be alone!

It has been 10 short years! And I thank my boss who told me to take Driving License a decade ago! 😊



As suggested by @progressivechef to Implement a clickable link on all blogs directing to the introduceyourself post or any other post to be selected by the user! so the person who wants to know more about you can easily check your #IntroduceYourself post... and here is mine! 😊
Have you voted your witness? Consider casting your witness votes for @steemgigs (@surpassinggoogle), @precise, @cloh76.witness, @ausbitbank and @curie who have been adding invaluable contribution to the community.

To cast your votes, just go to
https://steemit.com/~witnesses



Sort:  

@pingcess, so scary! I'm driving for 3 years now here in the Philippines and I really wish I will not encounter accidents like yours. Well, UAE driving is different to driving here in the Philippines but the lessons you've shared can still be applied here. Anyhow, let's go and drive here in Davao on your next holiday. Hahahahaha

Terrible experience but just really thankful we're all fine!!

Yesss we will!! Magpapa international DL na ako pag uwi!! ☺️☺️

This is scary sis! Glad you are fine po. Doble ingat next time.

Yes sis... decade ago but while composing it andun prin ung feeling ng nervousness... got anxious recalling the details!! But really Thank God!! 👏

Nakakatrauma talaga yan, but thank god you are able to overcome your trauma and gained confidence again mam @pingcess

Oo nga sis... but recalling all the details made me feel anxious still... ung kaba while writing it, sobra!! 😔

Always consider that everybody driving around you is an idiot (most of them are. 😆😅). Defensive driving all the time.

Come on, renew that license and let's go on our next joy ride.

Yeah... but I think if it's destined wala talaga tayo magagawa... imagine, we decided to go home early that day and I had accident... what if pala kung di nagpauwi ng maaga sa office ?!? Hehe

Next month na ko mag re renew, unless tumaas na uli ang SBD 😂😂

buti ka pa may license na ako kaya hahaha! God is s good kase safe kayo... I remember that day you told me you had an accident. I was still in the Philippines.... ldr pa tayo nun hahaha! Sana maging pasahero mo ulit ako at makapag-long drive naman tayo 😉😉

sige... pag nakapag renew na ako.. lols... wala pang time pumunta eh,,, or mas more ng wala pang pang-renew! lols hahaha... Hope na tumaas na ang SBD!!! 😂😂😂

Yeah,,, LDR pa tayo nun... hanggang ngayon?!?! 😂😂😂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62772.18
ETH 3032.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67