He was the wrong choice(chapter 3)

in #story6 years ago

He was the wrong choice
CHAPTER 3
"Look what you made me do" He yelled walking away from me.
How could he hurt me in that way and have the audacity to blame it on me. I could feel the blood dripping from the cut on my forehead and within a few minutes my face was covered in blood.
Slowly I stood up and walked to the bathroom where I washed it with salt and bandage it up. It hurt badly I had to bit my tongue as I cleaned it so I could avoid screaming.
"Where is my food?" He asked as we bumped into each other after I came out of the bathroom.
"I will make you something to eat" I responded rushing to the kitchen.

Osimeyin Victoria Botany 20180503_041233.jpg
I quickly made him him some rice and roasted potatoes, my head was pounding and I just wanted to lay down. After calling him to the table, I dished up for him and went to the bed room so I could take a nap.
"Winnie" He yelled just as i was changing my clothes, the way his voice sounded scared me, I slowly walked to the room so I could hear what my sin was now.
"There is too much salt in these potatoes, do you want to kill me?"
"I am sorry babe I di------" Before I could even finish Bonnie slapped me and walked out, blubbering how disrespectful I was.
I stood still for a while trying to process what had just happened, no tears fell out of my eyes, I went to the table and tasted the potatoes which to my suprise weren't even too salty.

Hurt and humiliated I cleared the table, switched off the lights and joined him in bed. He was on the phone when I walked in, to avoid any more drama, i got under the covers and closed my eyes hoping to get some sleep dispite the pain in my forehead.
You know sometimes I wonder how a person could claim to love you today and totally act differently the next day.
Moses Mfon Eazy Clique 20180304_154900.jpg

"How did we get to this point? Why was I even holding on even when I knew Bonnie and i practically lived like strangers? No intimacy unless he was in the mood, no talking, no love, the only thing I had in my hand was hope, hope that he would one day wake up and realise his mistakes, hope that he would one day love me again. Come to think of it did he even love me at all?

From day one I had always been sacrificing and giving without receiving anything in return. I gave Bonnie everything, my heart, my body and even my soul and yet he still treated me like trash.

As I felt the hot tears slide down my cheeks, while Bonnie continued talking on the phone, my mind took me to a few years back when Bonnie and I were still happily married.
It was a bright Thursday morning and Bonnie had left early for work that day. I had cleaned up our little house, washed and was laying on our little matress when I received a call from an unknown number.
" May I please speak to Mrs. Sampule." The caller said as soon as i picked.

"I am Mrs. Sampule, may I know who I am speaking too?"
"I am calling from Wood Media consultancy."
"That's my husband's work place, anything the matter?" I worriedly asked
"Just wanted to inform you that your husband has been arrested and as we are speaking now he us being taken to to Kalomo for further investigations."
"What?" I whispered, I felt powerless and the phone in my hand slipped.
"Madam are you there?"
"Yes I am." I responded after picking up my phone.

"Do what you can to find money to bail him out otherwise he will end up being locked up for years."
After cutting that call, I quickly dressed up and called some of Bonnie's relatives. I didn't even have money for transport, I had to trek to my aunties place so she could lend me some money.

I remember pleading with her on my knees because I was desperate and she agreed to give me some money which I used for transport and to buy Bonnie a few things.
According to the information I got from his work place, Some money had gone missing at the company and he was the first suspect. They would not let him go till they found it.

I cried all the way to Kalomo, the next day wondering how my husband was and if he had eaten. When I got there, the state I found him in was heartbreaking. I couldn't hold myself together I broke down in his face.
"Babe, please don't cry." He had said patting my back
"I just can't help it, look at you."
"I don't even want to think about anything right now."
"Babe. We shall get through this I promise."
"How Winnie? We don't have enough money."
I promise I will find a way, trust me on this one."

We barely had enough to survive at that time and when he got arrested, i was almost losing my mid because of his relatives refused to help him. I spent that week looking for money and eventually after pleading with my auntie yet again she gave me money which I used to bail him out. Fortunate enough they found the culprit a few days later and Bonnie was completely cleared off the charges.

If I think about it now, maybe we where better off poor because then we had love, we didn't have much but we had each other and for that was the most important thing.

Have you ever loved someone you are willing to sacrifice yourself just to see them happy? Maybe i was foolish but that's how much I loved Bonnie, hence I couldn't give up on him even when the going got tough.

"Can you move I want to sleep." Bonnie said disrupting my thoughts.
"Can we talk?" I asked sitting up
"At this time of the night?"
"Yes Babe."

"I am all ears and it better be worth it because I need to rest you know."
"Babe have I perhaps wronged you in anyway?"
"What sort of question is that?"
"I mean did I do anything that made you so upset that I disgust you?"
"Where is this heeding to?"

"I am sorry Bonnie for not being the woman you want me to be, i am sorry for making you angry, I am sorry for all I have done to annoy you please forgive me, I want my husband back."
"What sort of temptation is this Winnie? Isn't it too late for you to be making noise?"

"I am sorry okay?" I said as tears continued to pour, "If I have offended you, if I have not lived up to your standard, forgive me please."
"Stop this whining I want to sleep?" He said getting under the covers and leaving me to weep all by myself.

Sort:  

Winnie Domestic violence shouldn't be encourage, because your silence might take you to early grave. Although I don't support divorce but in a case like Winnie, that is the only choice. MY OPINION

Well said Sir. Thank you for your great comments

Good post have an upvote but the topic I does not actually belong in Steemstem.

STEM is Science Technology Engineering and Math.

Looking forward to any topics you may want to write about on that in the future.

Well noted Sir

It's a pity that hooked still experience this in this era, why marry when you can't live maturely in it. Nice read bro, thumbs up.

Indeed you noticed well. We need to build the right moral fortitude to navigate through issues like this well. Thank you once again

Good write up... Thumbs up

It really lovely

You keep blowing my mind with this story, I wish my upvote was huge so I can really show how I appreciate your creativity. But what I have I'll give

Upvote and resteemed to my audience

Keep up the good job

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61185.89
ETH 2933.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68