The Missing is the Thing That Grows (Original)

in #story6 years ago

You were a brick through my window,
The pin tumbler deftly undone -
but for all the damage that now shows,
I miss all the messy memories.

I crashed through glass

I unlocked you

and in this mess

made you love me.


The coffee is bought, not made anymore,
I cannot recall the color Green -
there are no dust outlines for picture frames -
although I'm fine, nothing is as it seems

I am your french roast

your seafoam Ivy

combing other shores

and ever surreal

giphy-8.gif

It's every success and every mistake
each new addition that tears down the old -
I've built the scaffolding up to my mind
though I'd only meant to cover my heart.

I was your intentions

paving your way to hell -

I make up the wood beams

that now scaffold your thoughts


And now my eye is a window no more

The lock's been replaced, securing the door

but for all the damage that yet still shows

the missing is the thing that grows



@prufarchy

gifs from giphy.com

Sort:  

I love your poem structure it reminds me of Ellen Hopkins in a way. It makes the reader go back and reread it in various orders over and over again and your words are beautiful, and your gifs are absolutely perfect for the poem. Chaos is beauty.... Missing messy memories is human nature. You've just gotta make more (;

Thanks for your comment, I definitely agree with your sentiment

That was sad but beautiful. It could make you hesitate to say "Happy Valentine's Day" to someone.

I'm not a love hater haha and i'm glad you saw the beauty in it when you read.

Happy Valentines day!

Then Happy Valentine's Day to you too :D

Beep! Beep! @shadow3scalpel at your service. I am here to assist all military members on Steemit. This HumVee will be scouting posts from a list of Veterans that is maintained by @chairborne. If you are a Veteran and new to Steemit, and you have questions or want to join the Veterans community, reply to this comment. We got your six, unless you are in the rear with the gear. Ooh-Rah!
Comment by @inthenow. This is a opt-in bot.

Great job sir.......good writing......its creative.....thanks for sharing

hey @prufarchy - i saw on a previous post that you were part of an NYC Steemit meetup previously - do you know how this was set up last time? I am moving to NYC next month and it would be cool to get something arranged!

Alex

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70887.21
ETH 3581.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75