The Girl Under the Rainbow Umbrella

in #story6 years ago

After hours of wondering what I was going to write about, I pretty much gave up and went to brows Facebook. It was then that I saw one of the writing pages I follow, posted this picture. Therefore, I decided to take them up on their challenge and write a short story based on the picture below.

26904594_1982185248475453_6612805173156633804_n.jpg
Image source Writers Write Facebook page

It is strange how captivated I was by the colours of it. I caught myself imagining it spinning endlessly causing a rainbow of colours to blend. It was only when I moved my concentration from the umbrella that I noticed the face glancing in my direction.
“Apologies.” I said shyly to the blue eyes smiling at me. I cleared my throat “I suppose I was staring. It’s just, I have a thing for colours.” I could feel my cheeks warming up; luckily, my scruffy beard hid it.
She giggled. “No need to apologise.” Her voice was soft and angelic.
I had forgotten that we were standing in a crowded area waiting for the little man to turn green. It suddenly felt as though it were just us two.
“I’m Savana.” She extended her hand towards me and into the rain. I reacted quickly and extended my hand.
“Luke.”
“It’s very nice to meet you Luke.” She smiled.
“Likewise.” I returned the smile.
We stood in silence for an unknown amount of time, simply gazing into one another’s eyes. The silence only got interrupted when I felt a random tapping on my shoulder.
I turned to face another stranger.
“The light’s green buddy.” An impatient man pointed to the light.
“Oh. Sorry.”
I turned back around to find that the space next to me was now empty.

I never saw her again, but sometimes I do still dream about that perfect moment in the rain

signature_4.gif

rsz_460fae561ba736ece444397e4c3b0a805.png https://www.facebook.com/nelnadia96/

rsz_app-icon2.png https://www.instagram.com/nadia_nel96/

rsz_twitter-icon.png https://www.instagram.com/nadia_nel96/

Please do not forget to UPVOTE and RESTEEM if you enjoyed this post also FOLLOW me so that you don't miss out on any of my posts

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69828.11
ETH 3825.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55