Theodor Herzl Sets Out to Establish the First Zionist Congress and Vows "the Jews Will Get Palestine!"

in #story5 years ago

I am in favor of absolute freedom of conscience. Everyone should believe in, or not believe in, whatever he wants.

I know very well what gratitude Judaism owes to orthodoxy, because the latter, with its steadfastness, has contributed much to the preservation of Judaism. But allow me to hope that in our State, when we achieve it, there will not be any falling out on matters of faith among us Jews. Everyone should serve God in his own way. Within himself, he should be as free as he wishes and as he is able to be.

If you expressed the attitude of many Hassidim, and not only your own, then you should arrange for as many positive announcements in organizations, congregations, etc. as possible. That is the way to assist me now in the enormous undertaking.

Every adherent to our national idea must be put to the task, and everyone who has been convinced must now convince others.

I am going to London in July, to establish the Society of Jews. I must be able to point out the size of the movement which I brought into existence when I transfer the leadership of Jewish matters to the Society.

I cannot achieve success all by myself. All the forces in Judaism must work in unison, otherwise it will remain a powerless attempt. letter.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69995.16
ETH 3735.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74