Too Early To Judge

in #story5 years ago

Hello Steemians, I wrote a short story about how quick people are to judge others. We should be cautious about what we say around others and not conclude people based on how they look or act. You never know what the person is going through.

Image result for judging others pictures

It was a glistering day at my day off from work. A great opportunity to go for a jog at Mellow Park a block away from my second-floor apartment. I saw this lovely girl with a milk-white dress and ocean-blue eyes sitting on a bench by herself and I certainly had to sit next to her. I placed my backpack containing water next to her and stretched out my tight muscles before jogging my first lap at the park. I noticed that she was drawing an angel holding a golden scale. I was about to ask her but didn't want to interrupt her and started jogging. On my way back from the first lap, I couldn't keep my eyes off of her and chose to take a break and sit next to her. I thought about ways to start a conversation with her for two ghost-quiet minutes.
I drank the water out of nervousness and felt the icy-cold water gliding down my throat.
Not being able to hold myself I said, "That's a nice drawing you have there."
She didn't respond and it seemed as if she was ignoring me. A deadly silence had passed and I couldn't accept the fact that she ignored me, hence I assumed that perhaps she didn't hear me. I took a sip of water again and cleared my throat.
I repeated myself to her and said, "That's a nice drawing you have there." Again, I didn't receive a response. The uncomfortable silence was exterminating me from the inside.
"Hey listen, I was just complimenting your drawing. I'm not a creep that's trying to get at you or anything." She still hadn't looked my way.
Shaking my head disappointingly and preparing for my second and last lap around the park, I said, "Girls these days! You assume every guy is after you. Y'all have so much attitude...it's ridiculous"
The Girl lastly turned towards my angry self and looked confused. I didn't want to see any of it and just started running.
Completing my last lap, I returned to the bench to pick up my backpack. I realized how hollow the bench looked without the girl in the white dress. Under my backpack, I saw her angelic drawing with a note that said, "I'm sorry if I offended you, I'm deaf."

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65999.51
ETH 3019.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71