INDEPENDENCE

in #story6 years ago (edited)

vanessa-serpas-562500-unsplash.jpg

source

Hello steem!, lately it has been very stressful for me but amidst all the stress, I have been trying my hands on something different and this simple short story happens to be one of them. I am aiming this especially at kids and very young minds and this is the reason I opt for very simple everyday words in my sentences and phrases. Generally, I wish to keep the story as simple as possible. My aim is to communicate properly through this story to even a four-year-old kid (through their parents and guides). The sole aim of this short story is to impart good morals on kids and young minds, irrespective of culture or whatever and this is evident in my selection of a theme to write about. I really hope this is also enjoyed as it is performing its sole duty which is impacting morals. Even though I know a greater percentage of the population on this platform are adults, I also know that a great percentage are also parents and that makes my posting of this short moral story for kids here, not very irrelevant.

As I sat in a minibus on my way to school at about 8:20 pm for my night class/rehearsal, there sat beside me two pretty ladies looking so tired but still very lively; “Good evening”!, I greeted, “good evening”, they replied. After talking about how their stressful day went, they started talking, one of them started narrating a particular experience in her life and this is what she narrated;

“Being independent as a lady in life is one of my best achievements, I wonder what would have become of me”, she started. Growing up from childhood through my teenage years, I have had both good and bad experiences.

I left my parents at a very tender age (10 years old precisely) to live with one of my aunts (aunt Theresa). Aunt Theresa seemed so nice to me within the first few weeks of my arrival but turned into a devil afterward. I don't know if I should say she was very lazy but she could send and send and send and send you on all sort of errands until you lose your mind and she doesn't care. I had to do all domestic chores, bath and prepare her three kids for school, prepare breakfast for the family every morning before I go to school, I remember the day I had a fire-burn on my hand while executing one of her numerous errands. Oh! I was in pain thinking that she'll pardon me seeing that I had such serious injury, but no! I was wrong. Instead, she sent me again to the market and the bank on the same day. Oh! I could have cried my eyes out. I sustained numerous injuries as a result of her excess errands per day.

catt-liu-1624-unsplash.jpg

source

One day after school I visited my Mother's brother. He and his wife were so disappointed seeing the way I looked because even though my father wasn't rich, I wasn't looking that bad before going to stay with aunt Theresa. I was literally looking like a slave. Feeling sorry for me, they asked that I come to stay with them. Here my story changed.

Uncle Bade (my mother’s brother) was very very rich, blessed with an independently rich wife who loved me like her child and taught me good traits every woman should possess. First I thought it was going to be like my first experience with aunty Buky but to my disappointment, it wasn't. She introduced the word “independence" to me. She taught me how to be on my own and succeed as a young lady which is now obviously a part of my lifestyle. I was literally living on money and luxury. Uncle Bade and his wife were both working and earning good cash every month. I was allocated 15,000 Naira on monthly basis minus my daily lunch tips for School. I never wore cheap clothes, I had enough and to spare things, in fact, I would have been spoilt if not for my uncle's wife who taught me to invest, save, take responsibilities, work and take care of myself at such tender age.

Following my drive for independence, fueled by my uncle's wife, I stopped her from buying toiletries for me (at age 15), I started a business (selling bags, clothes, shoes and jewelry for ladies and I was making it seriously on my own without my uncle's knowledge and support. He was so proud of me when he got to find out. So proud that he objected I call him "daddy" from then.

annie-spratt-365483-unsplash.jpg

source

A few years later, Uncle Bade died in a ghastly motor accident. His wife, one year later, got sacked and here I was in a town so far away (I had gotten admission into the University of Uyo). I had to once again face the struggling life of a common man but with a different strategy as a result of my independent lifestyle and the lessons I learned from my aunt.

Now I can't get tossed about for not being able to afford my needs, I won't say I don't lack but my needs get provided when necessary with the help of my growing business. Aunty Buky still advises me on living an independent life as a lady and I will proudly pass it on to any Lady I find around me that being independent is one of the best achievements you can have for yourself as a woman and human. She ended by saying that every lady should strive towards being independent cos it pays and it gives you the most attractive personality, makes you less vulnerable, makes you have a say of your own, not just financially...

Sort:  

Get your post resteemed to 72,000 followers. Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95