Sadly, No One Wants to Buy Your 27 Year Old Horse

in #story7 years ago (edited)


Source: Shutterstock

As the owner of an older horse, this is hard for me to talk about. I've owned my horse since he was an impertinent 4 year old. I've treated him kindly and with the best of care. He's gotten regular shots, dentistry, and even chiropractic appointments for his entire life. He's not a fancy show horse or a race horse. He's just a trail horse ridden by me, a weekend warrior, who generally eschews riding when it is too hot or too cold. My horse has more jackets (blankets) than I do, I think. He's led a charmed and pampered life.

This year he turned 20 and was diagnosed with a metabolic disease (Cushings Syndrome), which is common in older horses. X-rays also showed that he'd had a very slight rotation of the coffin bone due to Laminitis or Founder, which is a common occurrence in horses with Cushings. Fortunately, the vet advised trimming the toe shorter and shoes for a while and said it could be corrected.

When I told this to my very non-horsey parents, the first question they asked me was if I could still ride him, and if not, was I going to get rid of him or put him down so I could buy a new horse.

Their question took me by surprise and my initial reaction was anger and indignation. I quickly realized that they just didn't understand. I don't love my horse because I can ride him. I love him because he's my horse. I've owned him for 16 years, all the while knowing the day would come when I would have to put aside my own desires to ride, and simply care for my horse and give him the luxurious retirement he deserves.

Until the time comes when he is no longer able to manage without chronic pain, he will be with me. When the time comes for him to cross the rainbow bridge, he will cross peacefully and feel no pain. It is a misnomer that we are animals owners. We are simply their stewards until God, their creator and ours, calls them home.

I'll admit, with a pang of guilt, that some unwanted thoughts crossed my mind at times. I knew that someday my horse would grow old or sick even as I enjoyed all the other years of his life. I knew that there would come a time when I would no longer be able to ride him. I knew there would come a time when he would need "special" care, extra visits from the veterinarian, and costly medication.

There is a part of all of us that does not want to face the reality of watching friends, family, or animals grow old and die. For some reason, it has become acceptable for horse owners to simply dump their trusty steed near the end of his useful life.

There are a million excuses I hear when I see people doing this. Some of them range from the blatantly selfish, "I want to ride and my horse is too old and I can't afford two horses" to people who feign ignorance (or maybe they really are ignorant) and act like there is some market for elderly horses.

Recently, I saw an ad from a teenage girl who was trying to sell a 27 year old horse for almost $1,000 on Facebook. She admitted that it was because she needed a younger horse to ride and couldn't afford to keep two. People tried to gently explain to her that it was not good to sell an elderly horse that had served her faithfully for its useful life. Other people immediately piled onto an declared that this was totally fine because "at least she was being honest" and of course people want elderly horses for "pasture pets".

Yes, I'm sure that is what they tell themselves to assuage their own guilt about dumping their own elderly, sick, and lame horses. The fact that the kill pens are literally filled with these type of horses each week seems to contradict the claims of there being a market for these horses as pasture pets.

Every week, you see rescue groups trying to save these horses from being slaughtered and individuals begging for donations to pull them from the slaughter pen before they ship. It is depressing because the flow never stops no matter how many are "saved".

And it will never stop until individual horse owners take responsibility for their horses and stop being so ignorant and selfish thinking that someone else wants to take care of the horse that they enjoyed for all of its useful years and give it the wonderful retirement that they themselves owed that horse.

Most people do not try to sell their dog or cat or family members when they get old and need extra care. Why then do people believe that it is somehow acceptable to do this with a horse? Horse ownership is a privilege and a responsibility. I hope someday that the horse community will scorn people for trying to dump their elderly, lame, and sick horses out like trash. It's just not right.

Sort:  

Sad

Congratulations @sabrin514! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

As your horse ages and becomes slower and in need of more attention there's the risk that your attitude might change slightly too. Make sure you keep yourself in check and read these lines to yourself. You have a lucky horse!

I am sorry for the loss of your long time companion to riding - I hope you enjoy every minute of his retirement

Thanks! My horse is at the stage right before retirement. He's got 3-4 years of light use left and then probably about 5-6 more of people a beloved pet.

Yes. This kind of story breaks my heart. I can't imagine giving up on a family member (dog, cat, horse, whatever) when it's elderly and needs you most. But some people just don't seem to have that part of their brains (and hearts) switched on.

Yes, it is really awful. I am heartbroken each time I see people posting things like "Looking to rehome a 34 and 28 year old pair of horses. They have worked hard their entire lives and deserve a nice retirement." It sickens me that the perosn that used them up thinks someone else should give them the "retirement they deserve". Contrary to what people tell themselves to excuse their selfish behavior, no one wants these horses. The slaughter pens are full of them.

It costs at least $100 a month to feed a normal healthy horse if you have your own land. That cost can be double or triple for an older horse. So figure $200x12=$2400 a year (not including veterinary expenses and hoof care). That cost double again if you have to board them somewhere else. That's quite alot of money for a horse that isn't ridable.Yes, there are soft touch bleeding hearts that will take in this type of horse because they feel sorry for them, but those people often run out of money and the horses end up in a bad situation or to an auction anyway.

All things being equal, most people are going to put that money caring for a younger and ridable horse. Put it this way. Two horses are in a slaughter pen. A 28 year old that is lame or sick and can't be ridden, or a healthy 8 year old. Both need to be saved, which one are most people going to save?

Anyone that thinks someone actually wants these old sick horses is delusional. Some people and rescues take them because they feel sorry for them, but all things being equal, even the rescues are going to take the the younger healthy horse that has a future. I personally could not bear sending my horse off to someone else at that age. You can't trust other people for the most part. They start going broke and those old sick horses are the first ones they dump.

Down in Texas people will often abandon dogs with inherited diseases. But that ownership isn't like the ownership of a tool, or car. It's a covenant. A promise you make to that animal. To be its companion, its caretaker. To love it and care for it as long as you are able.

Not just use it until it gets boring. I'm glad there are people like you who understand.

I agree with you. We are stewards of nature, particularly domesticated animals that have use for work or companionship. We owe them the respect and the courtesy of continued care, especially when they become elderly or ill. Any animal would never abandon its human if the situation were reversed. Animals cannot comprehend the abandonment by a human at a time when they are in their twilight and it adds to their suffering. People need to be educated and learn how to have empathy for animals. It is the mark of superior civilizations to treat animals with respect. You can see plenty of backwards and barbaric cultures in some countries and the way they treat animals an people. Not a good thing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 71054.38
ETH 3862.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.52