Autistic girl praised for 'life as perfectionist' account

in #story6 years ago

A story penned by a 10-year-old girl with autism has attracted praise from academics and others with the condition.
Libby wrote the story at her home in Kent after a conversation with her grandmother about how autism affects her.
The writing was so impressive that her mum Kym Scott decided to post it on Twitter where it has been retweeted more than 17,000 times and has received more than 42,000 likes.
Skip Twitter post by @kymscott5

Report
End of Twitter post by @kymscott5
The short story entitled The life of a perfectionist is a fictional write up of a day in Libby's life.
"I notice that my candles are in the wrong order; the cleaner must've done it," she writes. "I think to myself I don't want to get up as I am so comfortable."
"I reluctantly climb out of bed to adjust my candles.
"The next morning I realise my favourite song doesn't have exactly 100 words, it has 98. My heart stops.
"A few hours later I find myself writing to the singer telling her how I felt. I got a reply from her saying 'I am sorry but I cannot change the lyrics of my song, lots of love Taylor Swift.'"
LibbyImage copyrightKYM SCOTT
The story, which goes on to describe a visit to a swimming pool and an awkward interaction with the lifeguard, has attracted more than 1,200 comments, many of which are from people who say they feel exactly the same as Libby.
Skip Twitter post by @Bernieadufe

Report
End of Twitter post by @Bernieadufe
Kym says she's overwhelmed by the responses. "We have had so many messages, but the ones that are the most touching are the ones from others affected by autism" she says.
Skip Twitter post by @SquizzRadical

Report
End of Twitter post by @SquizzRadical
And it is helping those who are not diagnosed, but who show similar traits to Libby.
Skip Twitter post by @JaneyBSp8

Report
End of Twitter post by @JaneyBSp8
Libby's writing, which has inspired her to start her own blog, is also attracting praise from fellow writers.
Children's author John Bolton writes: "I wish I was writing with such insight and control at her age. I kinda wish I did now, to be honest. This is awesome, please convey its awesomeness to her for me."
And crime writer Ann Cleves, whose Vera Stanhope novels have been dramatised by ITV, has also congratulated Libby.
Skip Twitter post by @AnnCleeves

Report
End of Twitter post by @AnnCleeves
Autism is a developmental disability that affects how people perceive the world and interact with others. The National Autistic Society says: "Autism affects 700,000 people in the UK and people with autism hear and feel the world differently to others."
Unlike many children with autism, Kym says Libby doesn't fit the typical profile. "Libby's language skills were good right up to the age of around five, but as she grew older her difficulties became more pronounced," she said._102562993_5fadf0af-25fa-4688-8618-7e19cdf2a510.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66304.34
ETH 2983.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68