Mabel's Dilemma. II.

in #story6 years ago (edited)

...continued...

image
[Source]

Well he started, "After that day at the library, my heart was drawn to you, and it seems connected to you already. I couldn't get to take you off my mind." "I don't understand you" she asked cautiously.

"Well to cut the long story short, I want us to be closer than this, I see a life partner in you. Do you mind if I treat you to dinner tonight?" He said. "I really don't mind, but tonight I am so busy with piles of assignments and projects", she replied. "It's fine, there is always another time." He said reluctantly. They chatted a little and he left.

After he left, she became restless, this is her first time of letting a guy in her apartment, talk more of getting close.

Few weeks after they started dating, which was really fun until he asked for something precious to her, which she kept with utmost pride, but she told him to let her ponder on it. He flared up, "For how long?. I don't think I can wait till then. Baby I need you right away."
"No, no, I can't do this, at least not now", she told him frankly. He went away sorrowfully.

image
[Source]

She went home for the weekend and told her mum about him. Her mum being the religious type asked if she has prayed about it. She answered with fury "Here you come again mum, pray pray pray all the time. Mum he loves me and I love him too, that's all that matters. Is that not a sign already?". Her mum went closer and started massaging her hair "My daughter, I love you so much, I want you to pray, to avoid being a prey".

Her mum finally agrees to meet Nuel. She couldn't contain her joy. On that day, she left hurriedly for school to share the news, but on getting to his hostel and bumping into his room, she got the greatest shock of her life. She met him in the company of heinous faces on campus smoking, insinuating he was a cultist.

As she made an attempt to run, his gang members pushed her in and he raped her. After that, she heard "Mission accomplished, whether willingly or not."

"Yes, Yes, I have won two hundred thousand bet." She fainted on hearing this.

She woke up in the hospital with her mother by her side who only cared about her safety, who in her heart has forgiven her of her shortcomings.

image
[Source]

The trauma of the painful act still lingers in her heart. She couldn't bring herself to love and trust again. Just the first time she felt alive, she got burnt, deeper than she would have allowed.

Nuel actually came begging later after he was rusticated from school. I think posterity wouldn't let him be and she is having none of it, after all, the worth of her virginity, according to Nuel, is Two hundred thousand naira only.

The great question in her heart is, would she ever find love again?.

Thank you for your time. I hope you enjoyed it.

Sort:  

Dear friend, you do not appear to be following @wafrica. Follow @wafrica to get a valuable upvote on your quality post!

This is an interesting story. I love how you did the ending. You are good.

Wow! What an ending. You really know how to capture your readers' hearts. I was expecting an happy ending as usual, and i love the twist. This is good. Well done pretty.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Olawalium from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 62133.38
ETH 2905.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59